Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Agriculture and Agri-food Canada

Status report on the 2005 report card

1. Background

2. Compliance History

3. Current Status

4. Further Recommendations

5. Status of 2005 Recommendations

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada’s progress to obtain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of January 2005.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

In fiscal year 2003-2004, the department received 219 new access requests. Of the completed requests received in 2003/2004, 19 were completed in a deemed-refusal situation, while a further 13 were carried over to the next fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation. The deemed-refusal ratio, including access requests carried over at the start of 2003/2004, was 247:42 or 17%, resulting in a "D" on the grading scale.

For the first nine months of 2004/2005, the department received 119 new access requests. By December 31, 2004, for access requests received in the first nine months, nine access requests were completed in a deemed-refusal situation with a further 10 access requests uncompleted but in a deemed-refusal situation. The deemed-refusal ratio, including access requests carried over at the start of 2004/2005, was 146:32 or 22% resulting in an "F" on the grading scale. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

For the full 2004-2005 fiscal year, AAFC received a grade of " F", with a 22.8% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

3. Current Status

For this reporting period, requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were also taken into consideration. As a result, for the reporting period April 1 to November 30 2005, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada’s request to deemed-refusal ratio was 38.7%, a grade of "F".

A total of 95 requests were received duringthe period April 1 to November 30, 2005, compared to 119 requests received in the same time period last year. Sixteen requests were carried into the period April 1 to November 30, 2005, with 11 or 68.75% in a deemed-refusal situation.

With 158 new access requests received in 2004/2005 and 95 new access requests received in the first nine months of 2005/2006, a trend of a continuing backlog of access requests in a deemed-refusal situation at the start of the year represents a burden to the ATIP Division. This backlog constitutes a serious problem that must be dealt with to comply with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

However, the new ATIP Director was able to attract experienced ATIP personnel to compliment his existing team of experts, to assist in re-organizing the office, as well as in assessing its core functions and procedures. In total, seven new ATIP employees have been hired, jumping from 5 to 13 (including the Director). This should significantly improve delays in the treatment of access requests.The ATIP office has also reviewed processes and developed new ATIPpolicy.

4 . RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada was not able to obtain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada should come into ideal compliance with the Act’s deadlines no later than March 31, 2007.

5. STATUS OF 2005 RECOMMENDATIONS

The Commissioner made 26 recommendations in last year’s report in order to support Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada’s in complying with the requirements of the Access to Information Act. The department agrees with all off the recommendations made last year. At the present time, all actions to comply with the recommendation have been taken or will be completed by June 30, 2006. In particular, the following recommendations were made to reduce backlog.

Previous Recommendation #2.1

The ATIP Office produce a monthly report that provides the ATIP Office and Senior Management at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada with information on how well timelines are met when responding to access requests. The reports will provide Senior Management, OPIs and the ATIP Office with the Act’s and department’s time requirements for processing access requests.

Action Taken

: The ATIP Office has been producing weekly performance reports for review by Senior Management since January 2006.

Previous Recommendation #2.2

The ATIP Coordinator should be directed by the Minister, in writing, through the Delegation Order to exercise the delegation to answer requests within deadlines whether or not the review process has been completed.

Action Taken

: The department agrees with the Commissioner’s recommendation. A revised delegation instrument has been prepared and is being reviewed. It is anticipated that this will be in place by June 30, 2006.

Previous Recommendation #2.3

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada should come into substantial compliance with the Act’s deadlines no later than March 31, 2006.

Action Taken

: The department agrees with this recommendation and has taken substantive actions to achieve this goal. In particular, the department has established an improvement and operational plan for the Access to Information and Privacy Office. The plan outlines the priorities, tasks, resources, deliverables, milestones, timeframes, and responsibilities. Also, a new delegation instrument is in the approval process.

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/04 to

Mar. 31/05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

1.

Number of requests carried over:

26

16

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal — in a deemed refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal:

3

11

Part B: New Requests — Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/04 to

Mar. 31/05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

158

95

4.A

How many were processed

within the 30-day statutory time limit?

125

64

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit

where no extension was claimed?

12

11

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond

where no extension was claimed?
 

1-30 days:

7

5

 

31-60 days:

1

3

 

61-90 days:

-

1

 

Over 91 days:

4

5

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

21

6

6.A

How many were processed

within the extended time limit?

5

3

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

16

3

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

 

1-30 days:

2

-

 

31-60 days:

2

1

 

61-90 days:

1

-

 

Over 91 days:

7

2

7.

As of November 30, 2005, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

18

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada

Rapport d’étape sur la fiche de rendement de 2005

1. Contexte

2. Historique en matière de respect

3. Situation actuelle

4. Recommendations

5. État de l'application des recommendations de 2005

6. Questionnaire et rapport statistique



1. CONTEXTE ▲HAUT

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaire

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité à la limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport examine les progrès réalisés pas Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada quand il s’agit d’atteindre une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. Il contient également des renseignements sur l’état de la mise en oeuvre des recommandations faites dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2005.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE RESPECT ▲HAUT

En 2003-2004, le Ministère a reçu 219 nouvelles demandes d’accès. Des demandes reçues en 2003-2004 et traitées, 19 étaient en présomption de refus, tandis que 13 ont été reportées sur l’exercice suivant et sont considérées comme des présomptions de refus. Le nombre de présomptions de refus, en comptant les demandes reportées au début de l’exercice 2003-2004, s’élève à 42 (sur 247 demandes), soit un taux de 17 %, ce qui correspond à la note « D » sur l’échelle de classement.

Au cours des neufs premiers mois de l’exercice 2004-2005, le ministère a reçu 119 nouvelles demandes de documentation. Au 31 décembre 2004, en ce qui a trait aux demandes reçues au cours des neuf premier mois, neuf demandes traitées avaient donné lieu à une présomption de refus et dix autres non traitées avaient également donné lieu à une présomption de refus. Le nombre de présomptions de refus, en comptant les demandes reportées au début de l’exercice 2004-2005, s’élève à 32 (sur 146 demandes), soit un taux de 22 % donnant lieu à la note F sur l’échelle de classement. Pour la première fois, on a tenu compte des demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent et du nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus le 1er avril.

Pour l’exercice 2004-2005, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada a reçu la note « F » à la suite d’un rapport de 22,8 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues.

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE ▲HAUT

Pour la période visée par le rapport, on a tenu compte des demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent et du nombre de demandes déjà en présomptions de refus le 1er avril. Ainsi, pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005, le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues a été établi à 38,7 %, ce qui a valu au ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’Agroalimentaire la note « F ».

Au total, 95 demandes ont été reçues entre le 1er avril et le 30 novembre 2005, comparativement aux 119 reçues pendant la même période l’an dernier. Seize demandes ont été reportées sur la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005, dont 11, soit 68,75 % sont en présomption de refus.

Avec 158 nouvelles demandes reçues en 2004-2005 et 95 autres reçues au cours des neufs premiers mois de 2005-2006, la tendance à l’accumulation d’un arriéré de présomptions de refus en début d’année représente un fardeau pour la Division de l’AIPRP. Cet arriéré constitue un problème grave qu’il y a lieu de régler pour rétablir le respect des délais prévus par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Cependant, le nouveau directeur de l’AIPRP a su attirer des experts de l’AIPRP dans son équipe de spécialistes pour l’aider dans la réorganisation du bureau et dans l’évaluation des opérations et des procédures fondamentales. Au total, sept nouveaux employés sont entrés en fonction à l’AIPRP (y compris le directeur), faisant passer le personnel de 5 à 13 membres. L’augmentation de l’effectif devrait contribuer grandement au raccourcissement des délais de traitement des demandes de documentation. Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a aussi revu ses procédures et s’est doté d’une nouvelle politique en matière d’AIPRP.

4. RECOMMANDATIONS ▲HAUT

En raison des facteurs décrits dans le présent rapport, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada n’a pas réussi à atteindre une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation n° 1

Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada devrait atteindre une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information d’ici le 31 mars 2007.

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2005 ▲HAUT

Dans le rapport de l’an dernier, le Commissaire à l’information a formulé 26 recommandations visant à aider le ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’Agroalimentaire à se conformer aux exigences de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le Ministère approuve chacune de ces recommandations. Actuellement, toutes les mesures visant à suivre les recommandations ont été prises ou le seront d’ici le 30 juin 2006. Les recommandations suivantes se rapportent spécifiquement à la réduction de l’arriéré.

Recommandation n° 2.1 précédente

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP devrait produire un rapport mensuel fournissant au Bureau de l’AIPRP et à la haute direction du Ministère des renseignements sur la mesure dans laquelle les délais de réponse aux demandes d’accès sont respectés. Ces rapports informeront la haute direction, les BPR et le Bureau de l’AIPRP des délais prévus par la Loi et par le Ministère pour le traitement des demandes de communication.

Suites données 

: Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a produit des rapports de rendement hebdomadaires à l’intention de la haute direction depuis janvier 2006.

Recommandation n° 2.2 précédente

Le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP devrait recevoir du Ministre, par écrit, par le biais de l’ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs, l’autorisation d’exercer le pouvoir de répondre aux demandes dans les délais, que le processus d’examen soit terminé ou non.

Suites données  : Le Ministère est d’accord avec la recommandation du Commissaire. Une ordonnance de délégation révisée a été rédigée et est présentement sous examen. On prévoit qu’elle prendra effet au 30 juin 2006.

Recommandation n° 2.3 précédente

Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada devrait atteindre une conformité substantielle aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information d’ici le 31 mars 2006.

Suites données

: Le Ministère est d’accord avec la recommandation et a pris des mesures concrètes pour atteindre cet objectif. On a entre autres élaboré un plan de fonctionnement et d’amélioration pour le Bureau de l’AIPRP. Ce plan fait état des priorités, des tâches, des ressources, des produits livrables, des jalons, des échéances et des responsabilités. De plus, une nouvelle délégation est en cours d’approbation.

6. QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE ▲HAUT

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent.

1er avr. 2004 – 31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 – 30 nov. 2005

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

26

16

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

3

11

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes — Demandes de la Partie A exclues.

1er avr. 2004 – 31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 – 30 nov. 2005

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

158

95

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

125

64

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

12

11

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

7

5

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

1

3

 

De 61à 90 jours :

-

1

 

Plus de 91 jours :

4

5

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

21

6

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

5

3

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

16

3

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

2

-

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

2

1

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

1

-

 

Plus de 91 jours :

7

2

7.

Au 30 novembre 2004, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

18