Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Transport Canada

Status report on the 2005 report card

Table of contents

1. Background

2. Compliance History

3. Current Status

4. Further Recommendations

5. Status of 2005 Recommendations

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews Transport Canada’s (TC) progress to obtain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of January 2005.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

In early 2000, the Office of the Information Commissioner issued a Report Card on Transport Canada’s compliance with the statutory time requirements of the Access to Information Act. In the Report Card, the department received a red alert grade of "F" for its compliance with the statutory time requirements of the Access to Information Act. The grade represented a 30.6% new request to deemed-refusal ratio for access requests received from April 1 to November 30, 1999.

Some improvement was noted the following year. Between April 1 and November 30, 2000, the new request to deemed-refusal ratio was to 23.7%, but still a grade of "F".

In January 2002, a further Status Report reviewed the progress of the department to come into substantial or ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the January 2001 report. To the department’s credit at the time, a grade of "C" for the period April 1 to November 30, 2001, was attained. However, the grade dropped to a "D" for the fiscal year 2001-2002.

In January 2003, it was reported that Transport Canada (TC) had received a grade of "D" denoting below standard compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act. This level of compliance slipped even further with the final statistics indicating a 29.9% ratio of deemed refusals in relation to requests received for the fiscal year 2002-2003.

In the Status Report of January 2004, the department continued to experience problems in attaining a level of substantial compliance. The new request to deemed-refusal grading remained at a "D" level, although the ratio did improve marginally to 17.2% for the period from April 1 to November 30, 2003.

In the 2005 Report Card, TC received a grade alert of "B" with a 7.2% request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

For the full fiscal year 2004-2005, TC received a grade of "B", with a 8.9% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

3. CURRENT STATUS

For this reporting period, requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were also taken into consideration. As a result, for the reporting period April 1 to November 30, 2005, the department’s request to deemed-refusal ratio was 9.2%, a grade of "B".

During the reporting period, TC received 667 requests. This is 123 more than the previous year.

Over the last few years, the ATIP Division has worked at finding solutions in order to meet legislated timeframes. The Minister has delegated full authority under the Access to Information Act to the ATIP Coordinator’s position and the ATI process has been streamlined and refined. Training awareness sessions continue to be given to employees throughout the department and the ATIP advisors are being encouraged to contact requesters and keep them apprised of all developments related to their requests. Several performance reports are issued to the groups/regions as well as the ATIP Division, which increases accountabilities in the processing of ATI requests in a timely manner.

Because ATIP requests focus mainly on security issues and transportation concerns, a significant number of requests consequently are included on the "sensitive request list" adding steps to the review process (Communications, DMO, MO) and implications for on-time performance.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, TC was not able to achieve ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

That TC attain ideal compliance and a grade of "A" by March 31, 2007.

Recommendation #2

The department address the staffing shortfall of the ATIP Directorate with a view to increasing resources as required.

5. STATUS OF 2005 RECOMMENDATIONS

The following recommendations were made to support TC’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

Previous Recommendation #1

TC attain ideal compliance or at least maintain substantial compliance with time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Action Taken: TC was able to meet this goal, but is faced with a staffing shortfall problem. The unit is operating with 12 person-years; however, the unit has been faced with a staff shortage since 2004. At one given time, a total of 4 employees were on extended leave at the same time, in which case the onus was on the remaining staff to carry the additional workload.

In April 2004, Marine Services was transferred to Transport Canada from Fisheries and Oceans Canada. This has increased the workload in the ATIP Division by 33% due to the requests for small vessel permits, as well as requests made under the Navigable Waters Protection Act.

Previous Recommendation #2

Conduct an assessment of ATIP Division’s ongoing resource needs and present a business plan to Senior Management for additional ATIP staff.

Action Taken: An integrated human resources plan has been prepared for the Executive Services Directorate.

In the short term (next year), due to employee turnovers, acting appointments, and extended leave, ATIP will need to staff up to three vacant positions on a permanent basis (PM-03/PM-04 levels) to maintain its complement of 12.7 person-years. Pending funding approval, once the new ATIP software system is implemented, a new clerk position at the CR-04 level will need to be staffed to scan documents. In the future, the ATIP Branch could have two divisions: one to provide advice on ATIP and PIAs, and the other to work only on requests.

6. QUESTIONNAIRE AND STATISTICAL REPORT

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/04 to

Mar. 31/05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

1.

Number of requests carried over:

91

87

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal C in a deemed refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal:

12

19

Part B: New Requests C Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr.1/04 to

Mar. 31/05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

779

667

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

560

512

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

13

18

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

1-30 days:

8

11

31-60 days:

2

4

61-90 days:

0

2

Over 91 days:

3

1

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

179

95

6.A

How many were processedwithin the extended time limit?

88

36

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

33

16

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

1-30 days:

26

9

31-60 days:

4

5

61-90 days:

2

0

Over 91 days:

1

2

7.

As of November 30, 2005, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

17

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Transports Canada

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. Contexte

2. Historique en matière de respect

3. Situation actuelle

4. Recommendations

5. État de l'application des recommendations de 2005

6. Questionnaire et rapport statistique


1. CONTEXTE ▲HAUT

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité à la limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport fait état des progrès réalisés par Transports Canada (TC) quand il s’agit d’atteindre une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. De plus, il contient des renseignements sur l’état de la mise en application des recommandations qui ont été faites dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2005.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE RESPECT ▲HAUT

Au début de 2000, le Commissariat à l’information a publié une fiche de rendement concernant le respect par Transports Canada des délais visés dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette fiche de rendement attribuait au Ministère la note « F » (alerte rouge) au plan du respect des délais réglementaires visés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette note représentait un rapport de 30,6 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes de communication reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1999 .

Des progrès ont été réalisés l’année suivante. Entre le 1er avril et le 30 novembre 2000, le rapport entre les nouvelles demandes et les présomptions de refus s’était amélioré, passant à 23,7 %, ce qui correspondait tout de même encore à la note « F ».

En janvier 2002, un autre rapport d’étape examinait les progrès réalisés par le Ministère depuis le rapport d’étape de janvier 2001 vers une conformité « idéale » ou « substantielle » aux délais visés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il faut cependant reconnaître que, à l’époque, le Ministère avait reçu la note « C » pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2001. Par la suite, cette note a baissé pour passer à « D » au cours de l’exercice 2001-2002.

En janvier 2003, on a signalé que Transports Canada (TC) avait reçu la note « D », dénotant un rendement inférieur à la norme en ce qui concerne le respect des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ce niveau de respect a continué de chuter, les statistiques finales indiquant un rapport de 29,9 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2002-2003.

Dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2004, le Ministère a continué d’éprouver des difficultés à atteindre une conformité substantielle aux délais. Le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes correspondait toujours à la note « D », même s’il s’était légèrement amélioré, atteignant 17,2 % pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2003.

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2005, TC a reçu la note « B », avec un rapport de 7,2 % entre les les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes du 1er avil au 30 novembre 2004. Il s’agissait de la première année où les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent et le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril étaient prises en considération.

Pour tout l’exercice 2004-2005, TC a obtenu la note « B », avec un rapport de demandes en présomption de refus de 8,9 %

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE ▲HAUT

Pour la période visée par le présent rapport, les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent ainsi que le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus le 1er avril ont aussi été prises en considération. Ainsi, le Ministère a atteint un rapport de présomptions de refus s’établissant à 9,2 %, ce qui correspond à la note « B » pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005.

Au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport, TC a reçu 667 demandes, soit 123 de plus que l’exercice précédent.

Au cours des dernières années, la Division de l’AIPRP s’est employée à trouver des moyens de respecter les délais prévus par la Loi. Le ministre a délégué les pleins pouvoirs en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information au poste de coordonnateur de l’AIPRP, et le processus d’AI a été rationalisé et amélioré. On continue de dispenser aux employés de tout le Ministère des séances de sensibilisation, et les conseillers en matière d’AIPRP sont encouragés à contacter les demandeurs et à tenir ceux-ci au courant de l’avancement de leur demande. Plusieurs rapports sur le rendement sont fournis aux groupes et (ou) régions de même à la Division de l’AIPRP, rapports qui augmentent la responsabilisation à l’égard du traitement des demandes d’AI dans les délais.

Puisque les demandes adressées au Ministère concernent essentiellement des questions relatives à la sécurité et aux transports, un nombre important figurent sur la « liste des demandes de nature délicate », ce qui ajoute des étapes au processus d’examen (Communications, CSM, CM) et a un effet sur le respect des délais.

4. RECOMMANDATIONS ▲HAUT

En raison des facteurs décrits dans le présent rapport, TC n’a pas pu atteindre une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation n1

TC devrait atteindre une conformité idéale et la note « A » d’ici le 31 mars 2007.

Recommandation n2

Le Ministère devrait régler le problème de manque de personnel à la Direction de l’AIPRP afin d’augmenter le nombre d’employés au besoin.

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2005 ▲HAUT

Les recommandations suivantes avaient été faites dans le but d’appuyer les efforts constamment déployés par TC pour traiter les demandes dans les délais prévus par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation n1 précédente

TC devrait atteindre une conformité idéale ou à tout le moins maintenir une conformité substantielle aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Suites données :

TC a pu atteindre cet objectif, mais fait face à un manque de personnel. Le service fonctionne avec 12 années-personnes, mais manque de personnel depuis 2004. À un moment donné, quatre employés étaient simultanément en congé prolongé, et il incombait aux autres employés d’assumer la charge de travail supplémentaire.

En avril 2004, les Services de la marine, de Pêches et Océans Canada, ont été transférés à Transports Canada, ce qui a fait augmenter de 33 % la charge de travail de la Division de l’AIPRP en raison des demandes relatives aux permis pour petites embarcations de même que des demandes faites en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables.

Recommandation n2 précédente

Le Ministère devrait mener une évaluation des besoins en ressources à la Division de l’AIPRP et présenter un plan opérationnel à la haute direction demandant des employés supplémentaires pour l’AIPRP.

Suites données :

Un plan intégré des ressources humaines a été établi à l’intention des Services à la haute direction.

À court terme (l’an prochain), en raison du roulement du personnel, des nominations par intérim et autres et des congés prolongés, la Division de l’AIPRP devra combler jusqu’à trois postes vacants de façon permanente (niveaux PM-03/PM-04) pour maintenir un effectif de 12,7 années-personnes. Sous réserve de l’approbation des fonds nécessaires, une fois que le nouveau logiciel d’AIPRP sera opérationnel, un nouveau poste de commis de niveau CR-04, qui sera chargé du balayage des documents, devra être doté en personnel. À l’avenir, la Direction de l’AIPRP aura deux divisions : une pour la prestation de conseils sur l’AIPRP et les ÉFVP et l’autre, pour le traitement des demandes.

6. QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE ▲HAUT

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent.

1er avr. 2004 -31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 - 30 nov. 2005

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

91

87

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

12

19

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes — Demandes de la Partie A exclues.

1er avr. 2004 - 31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 - 30 nov. 2005

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

779

667

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

560

512

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

13

18

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

De 1 à 30 jours :

8

11

De 31 à 60 jours :

2

4

De 61à 90 jours :

0

2

Plus de 91 jours :

3

1

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

179

95

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

88

36

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

33

16

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

De 1 à 30 jours :

26

9

De 31 à 60 jours :

4

5

De 61 à 90 jours :

2

0

Plus de 91 jours :

1

2

7.

Au 30 novembre 2005, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

17