Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Department of National Defence

Status report on the 2005 report card

Table of contents

1. Background

2. Compliance History

3. Current Status

4. Further Recommendations

5. Status of 2005 Recommendations

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F


This report reviews the Department of National Defence’s (ND) progress in attaining ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of January 2005.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

In January 1999, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) issued the first Report Card on ND’s compliance with the statutory time requirements of the Access to Information Act. In that report, ND received a red alert grade of "F" with a 69.6% request to deemed-refusal ratio for access requests received from April 1 to

November 30, 1998. The report included a number of recommendations on measures that could be taken to reduce the number of requests in a deemed-refusal situation.

From April 1 to November 30, 1999, the deemed-refusal ratio for access requests improved to 38.9%, although still a grade of "F".

In January 2001, ND received a grade of "D" with a new request to deemed-refusal ratio of 17% for the period April 1 to November 30, 2000. This report noted that the trend lines for reducing the number of access requests in a deemed- refusal situation were steadily improving.

ND continued to improve its performance in meeting the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, achieving a grade of "C" with a new request to deemed-refusal ratio of 11.8% for the period from April 1 to November 30, 2001. However, that improvement was not maintained for the full fiscal year; while the grade remained the same at a "C", the ratio declined slightly to 12.7%.

For the 2002-2003 reporting period, the department attained a new request to deemed-refusal ratio of 9.1% for a grade of "B", with this ratio slipping to a 12.7% ratio and a grade of "C" for the full fiscal year.

In the Status Report of 2004, it was reported that the department continued to strive to attain ideal compliance.

In the 2005 Report Card, the department received a substantial compliance grade of "B" with a 9.5% new request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

For the full fiscal year 2004-2005, ND received a grade of "C", with a 13.4% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

3. Current Status

For this reporting period, requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were also taken into consideration. As a result, for the reporting period April 1 to November 30 2005, the department’s request to deemed-refusal ratio was 14.8%, a grade of "C".

During the reporting period, ND received 734 requests. This is 48 less than the previous year. However, complexity and sensitivity of the requests were also factors in the time taken to process requests.

During the reporting period, ND moved its ATIP Office. As such, it was necessary to re-install all of the communication lines, hardware and software related to ATIPimage, which included a special customized installation due to security requirements. This major undertaking caused some serious problems with the ATIPimage system. The result was that the speed at which the ATIPimage scanners could scan records into the main database was drastically affected. Basically, it took a scanner an average of two minutes to scan and upload a one-page record into the main file. This seriously impacted the Directorate’s ability to review records in a timely manner and was not sorted out, until June 2005.

To add to the workload, records indicate that significant numbers of requests were received related to the Herbicide Spraying (Agent Orange) and HMCS CHICOUTIMI. With respect to the HMCS CHICOUTIMI, 22 access requests were made, in which 15,720 pages were reviewed during the reporting period. 65 requests sought records relating to Herbicide Spraying (Agent Orange), from which 17,340 pages were reviewed during the reporting period.

ND received many requests for consultations from other departments. In total, these consultations represent, by themselves, 20,000 pages of documents.

With regards to staff resources, DAIP has continued to suffer from significant staff turnover. The constant stream of new employees, with associated security issues, and the need to train them has continued to impact negatively on the Directorate’s already limited processing resources. Further, attempts to establish a contract for consulting services to try and alleviate the situation took at least one year, due to problems encountered with the ND’s contracting system.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, ND was not able to achieve ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

That ND attain ideal compliance and a grade of "A" by March 31, 2007.

Recommendation #2

The department address the staffing shortfall of the ATIP Directorate with a view to increasing resources as required.

5. STATUS OF 2005 RECOMMENDATIONS

The following recommendations were made to support ND’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

Previous Recommendation #1

ND attain ideal compliance or at least maintain substantial compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act for 2005-2006.

Action Taken:ND did not attain ideal compliance simply because of contractual restrictions. The number of staff turnovers would ideally require ND to contract for consulting services. However, constraints imposed by ND’s Legal Services prohibited the ATIP Office to proceed in a diligent manner.

Previous Recommendation #2

That DAIP continue to expand public access to records informally and that a plan be completed in 2005-2006 to begin placing disclosed records under ATI on its website within the next two years.

Action Taken: ND did continue to explore ways to provide informal access to information. Travel and Hospitality and contracts over $10K are placed on the DAIP website. Boards of Inquiry documentation is reviewed, severed, and made available on the ND website. Lists of passengers on Challenger jets are provided informally upon request. It is DAIP’s plan to place all disclosed records under ATI on its website within a short period.

Previous Recommendation #3

That DAIP take a proactive role in assuring that management of records at the department improve in order that more accurate searches for records and fee assessments are made.

Action Taken:The DAIP offers continual support to OPIs. The provision of practical tips and advice to OPIs has permitted to produce more accurate fee estimates.

6 . QUESTIONNAIRE AND STATISTICAL REPORT

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/04 to

Mar. 31/05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

1.

Number of requests carried over:

303

331

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal — in a deemed refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal:

56

84

Part B: New Requests — Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/04 to

Mar. 31//05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

1284

734

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

588

326

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

19

18

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

 

1-30 days:

13

11

 

31-60 days:

4

5

 

61-90 days:

2

1

 

Over 91 days:

0

1

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

617

313

6.A

How many were processed within the extended time limit?

314

145

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

54

17

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

 

1-30 days:

20

7

 

31-60 days:

20

8

 

61-90 days:

7

1

 

Over 91 days:

7

1

7.

As of November 30, 2005, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

39

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Ministère de la Défense nationale

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. Contexte

2. Historique en matière de respect

3. Situation actuelle

4. Recommendations

5. État de l'application des recommendations de 2005

6. Questionnaire et rapport statistique


1. CONTEXTE ▲HAUT

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité à la limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport fait état des progrès réalisés par le ministère de la Défense nationale (DN) quand il s’agit d’atteindre un respect idéal des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. Il contient également des renseignements sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des recommandations faites dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2005.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE RESPECT ▲HAUT

En janvier 1999, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (CIC) a publié une première fiche de rendement concernant le respect à la DN des délais de traitement prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Dans cette fiche, la DN a reçu la note « F » (signal rouge) en raison d’un rapport de 69,6 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes de communication reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1998. Le rapport contenait un certain nombre de recommandations concernant des mesures qui devraient être prises pour réduire le nombre de demandes qui sont en présomption de refus.

Du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1999, le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes de communication s’est amélioré, passant à 38,9 %, ce qui correspond toutefois toujours à la note « F ».

En janvier 2001, la DN a reçu la note « D » à cause d’un rapport de 17 % entre les nouvelles demandes et les présomptions de refus du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2000. Le document mentionnait que la tendance était à la réduction du nombre de demandes de communication en présomption de refus.

La DN a continué d’améliorer son rendement sur le plan du respect des délais visés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, obtenant la note « C » grâce à un rapport de 11,8 % entre les nouvelles demandes et les présomptions de refus pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2001. Cette amélioration ne s’est cependant pas maintenue durant tout l’exercice; si la note était toujours « C », le rapport a diminué légèrement, pour atteindre 12,7 %.

Pour l’exercice 2002-2003, le Ministère a atteint un rapport de 9,1 % entre les nouvelles demandes et les présomptions de refus, soit la note « B »; pour l’exercice tout entier, le rapport est passé à 12,7 %, soit la note « C ».

Dans le rapport d’étape de 2004, on indiquait que le Ministère maintenait ses efforts pour atteindre à un respect idéal.

La fiche de rendement de 2005 accordait au Ministère la note « B » avec un rapport de 9,5 % entre les nouvelles demandes et les présomptions de refus pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2004. Il s’agissait de la première année où les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, ainsi que le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril ont été prises en considération.

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE ▲HAUT

Pour la période visée par le présent rapport, les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, ainsi que le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril, ont été prises en considération. Par conséquent, pour la période visée du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005, le rapport des demandes et des présomptions de refus était de 14,8 %, soit la note « C ».

Au cours de la période en cause, le Ministère a reçu 734 demandes, soit 48 de moins que la période précédente. Cependant, la complexité et la nature délicate des demandes ont été des facteurs qui ont contribué à la durée du traitement des demandes.

Pendant la période visée par le rapport, le Ministère a dû composer avec un déménagement du bureau de l’AIPRP. Il fut donc nécessaire de réinstaller toutes les lignes de communication ainsi que la reprogrammation du logiciel ATIPimage. L’installation, requérant des mesures de sécurité a causé de nombreux retards dans l’utilisation de système d’imagerie. Entre autres, la vitesse à laquelle les mémorisateurs d’images ont travaillé fut dramatiquement affectée. Essentiellement, il fallu en moyenne près de deux (2) minutes pour mémoriser une page de documents. Cette situation créa un sérieux impact sur la capacité du Bureau d’Accès à l’Information de répondre aux demandes d’accès à l’information de manière efficace. Elle ne fut résolue qu’en juin 2005.

Pour ajouter à la charge de travail, des dossiers indiquent que de nombreuses demandes de communication ont été reçues au sujet de l’herbicide Agent orange et du HMCS Chicoutimi. Durant la période du présent rapport, 22 demandes d’accès portaient sur le HMCS Chicoutimi. Ces demandes ont comporté la révision de 15 720 pages de documents au cours de l’exercice. Il y eut 65 demandes d’accès relatives à l’Agentorange qui ont exigé le traitement de 17 340 pages durant la période du présent rapport.

Le Ministère reçut également de nombreuses demandes de consultation d’autres ministères. Ces consultations totalisent près de 20 000 pages de documents à être révisées.

Le Ministère a également continué à souffrir d’un grand roulement de personnel. Un flot constant de nouveaux employés et les questions de sécurité associées ainsi que leur formation ont eu un impact négatif sur les ressources déjà limitées du Bureau d’Accès à l’Information. De plus, des tentatives pour engager des sous-contractants par le biais de contrats requirent plus d’un an dû à des problèmes rencontrés avec le service d’approbation des contrats du ministère de la Défense Nationale.

4. AUTRES RECOMMANDATIONS ▲HAUT

En raison des facteurs décrits dans le présent rapport, la DN n’a pas pu conserver un respect idéal des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation n1

Le Ministère devrait atteindre un respect idéal et la note « A » au 31 mars 2007.

Recommandation n2

Le Ministère doit régler la pénurie d’employés à la direction de l’AIPRP en augmentant les ressources au besoin.

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2005▲HAUT

Les recommandations suivantes avaient été formulées dans le but d’appuyer les efforts constants déployés par la DN pour traiter les demandes de communication dans les délais prévus par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information :

Recommandation n1 précédente

La DN devrait atteindre un respect idéal ou, à toute le moins, maintenir un bon respect des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 2005-2006.

Suites données :

La DN n’a pas atteint un respect idéal simplement à cause de restrictions contractuelles.Le départ d’un grand nombre d’employés impose au Ministère de pouvoir engager des sous-contractants à l’externe. Les contraintes mises en place par le contentieux du Ministère empêchent la Division d’accès à l’information de procéder avec célérité.

Recommandation n2 précédente

La DAIPRP devrait continuer de communiquer les documents au public de manière informelle et parachever en 2005-2006 un plan prévoyant l’affichage des documents qui ont été communiqués en vertu de l’AI sur son site Internet au cours des deux prochaines années.

Suites données :

La DN a continué d’envisager des façons de communiquer des renseignements de manière informelle. Ainsi, les frais de déplacement et d’hospitalité et les contrats de plus de 10 000 $ sont affichés sur le site Internet de la DAIPRP. Les documents relatifs aux commissions d’enquête sont examinés, soumis à des prélèvements et affichés sur le site Internet de la DN, et les listes des passagers sur les vols des Challengers sont fournies de manière informelle sur demande. La DAIPRP prévoit de mettre tous les documents communiqués en vertu de l’AI sur son site Internet à court terme.

Recommandation no 3 précédente

La DAIPRP devrait assumer un rôle proactif quant à l’amélioration de la gestion des documents au Ministère de manière que la recherche des documents et les estimations des frais soient plus exactes.|

Suites données

 :
La DAIPRP offre un support continuel à tous ses bureaux de première responsabilité. La provision de conseils pratiques et de renseignements additionnels aux bureaux de première responsabilité a eu pour conséquence des estimations de frais plus exactes.

6. QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE ▲HAUT

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent.

1er avr. 2004 - 31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 - 30 nov. 2005

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

303

331

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

56

84

Part B: Nouvelles demandes — Demandes de la Partie A exclues.

1er avr. 2004 – 31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 – 30 nov. 2005

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

1284

734

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

588

326

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

19

18

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

13

11

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

4

5

 

De 61à 90 jours :

2

1

 

Plus de 91 jours :

0

1

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

617

313

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

314

145

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

54

17

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

20

7

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

20

8

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

7

1

 

Plus de 91 jours :

7

1

7.

Au 30 novembre 2004, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

39