Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Library and Archives Canada

Status report on the 2005 report card

Table of contents

1. Background

2. Compliance History

3. Current Status

4. Further Recommendations

5. Status of 2005 Recommendations

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews Library and Archives Canada’s (LAC) progress to obtain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of January 2005.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

In the 2004 Report Card, LAC received a red alert grade of "F" with a 61% new request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2003.

In the 2005 Report Card, LAC received a red alert grade of "F" with a 70% request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

Both of these grades represent the worst performance by an institution since the Office of the Information Commissioner instituted Report Cards.

For the full 2004-2005 fiscal year, LAC received a grade of "F", with a 64.8% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

3. CURRENT STATUS

For this reporting period, requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were also taken into consideration. As a result, for the reporting period April 1 to November 30 2005, LAC’s request to deemed-refusal ratio was 55.5%, a grade of "F".

During the reporting period, LAC received 501 requests. This is 110 more than the previous year.

Although it is apparent that LAC has received again an "F" on its Status Report this year, much progress has been made to improve situation.

In September 2004, LAC put in place an internal Access to Government Information Services Task Force. The spring 2005 Report of the Task Force included recommendations to directly address the backlog, but also to avoid similar backlogs from materializing in the future.

The most important action that the department took in response to the Task Force recommendations was to directly address the ATIP backlog and commit to its elimination in 2005-2006. The first steps were taken in January 2005, based on the draft of the Task Force recommendations, when LAC Management Board approved $250,000 in additional resources until March 31, 2005, for a first "blitz" to reduce the backlog.

In May 2005, LAC’s Senior Management approved an additional $600,000 for the second wave of the blitz with the goal of eliminating the backlog by October 31, 2005. During the period from April 1 to November 30, 2005, LAC completed 2,009 formal and informal ATI requests, and released 1,158,960 of 1,351,589 pages reviewed. LAC has committed itself to effectively eliminate all backlogged requests by March 31, 2006.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, LAC was not able to attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

That LAC attain ideal compliance and a grade of "A" by March 31, 2007.

The additional resources will permit LAC to eliminate backlog. Further, to improve efficiency of the ATIP processing, LAC has undertaken an extensive revision of business practices which are being reflected in new, formalized ATIP procedures. As well, LAC conducted an initial study into the improvement of access-related information provided by departments and agencies when they transfer records and documents to LAC. This will enable LAC to review access requests for archival material more efficiently and faster, based on better information provided by the departments who initially created the records. Additionally, with respect to records already held by LAC, the department developed criteria for "block reviews", which could make available many thousands of records at a time to the public without a further time-consuming page-by-page review.

Recommendation #2

LAC address the staffing shortfall of the ATIP Directorate with a view to increase resources as required.

5. STATUS OF 2005 RECOMMENDATIONS 9;

The Information Commissioner made 22 recommendations last year in order to assist LAC in compliance to the requirements of the Access to Information Act.

LAC agrees with all of the 22 recommendations and is well advanced in implementing them.

To highlight a number of specific actions taken, LAC has put in place an ongoing triage process to effectively and efficiently manage the informal requests for government archival material in response to Recommendation 1.5.Through this process, LAC can usually review and release government information related to these requests very quickly.

A second practice that LAC instituted in 2005 was to improve communications with clients, as per Recommendation 1.9, by regularly posting data on LAC’s website and in the reference room on the progress made in addressing the backlog. As well, LAC has put in place a practice of sending a letter to a requester when the request is overdue, so the client is aware of where LAC is at with the request, as well as what is the best estimate for completing the request. LAC is also communicating better with the requesters when the request first arrives, to ensure that the request is clear and well scoped out. This improved communication not only helps to manage client expectations, but builds stronger, on-going relationships between the staff and repeat clients.

A part of moving forward and ensuring a backlog does not happen again was a review of all the procedures in the ATIP division. This process re-engineering exercise was undertaken with the involvement of all of the division’s staff, so it also proved to be a valuable team-building exercise. The result of the review is a set of efficient procedures that all of the staff agree to and support, available in a single, unified procedures manual as per Recommendation 4.4. This new manual, will be an on-line, interactive reference tool for staff. The manual will also serve as a training tool for new staff joining the division. The manual will reflect the actions taken and implemented with respect to Recommendations 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.6, 1.11, 4.5 and 4.7.

In particular, the procedures manual will codify how, on a consistent basis, the ATIP division manages extensions of time beyond the 30-day limit as provided for in the legislation, and the process of consultations where required. Since LAC’s ATIP division is primarily reviewing records that were created by other federal institutions, consultation is very often required. The new procedures put in place will require staff to take extensions required for consultations as soon as possible after the receipt of the request. Better management of extensions and consultations have already shown improvements in turnaround times.

The Information Commissioner also made the recommendation that LAC’s ATIP Division develop and implement an Access to Information Training Plan (recommendation 4.6), LAC agrees strongly with this recommendation. In the fall of 2005, all the staff in the division received some formal training in ATIP. As well, LAC will soon begin to work on detailed training plans for each of the positions that are based on the new procedures manual. This training will be supplemented by training on ATIPFlow and ATIPImage for all the staff.

Of all of the recommendations made last year two of these recommendations were intended to reduce backlog. These are:

Previous Recommendation # 2.1

The ATIP Division produce a monthly report that provides the ATIP Division and Senior Management at LAC with information on how well timelines are met when responding to access requests. The reports will provide senior management and the ATIP Division with information needed to gauge overall LAC compliance with the Act and LAC’s time requirements for processing access requests.

Action Taken: In September 2004, an internal access to government information services task force was put in place. The team continues to meet with LAC’s two Assistant Deputy Ministers every two weeks to insure that Senior Management is monitoring progress and can address any issues and obstacles to the team’s work. Also, weekly reports are produced to Senior Management to provide information progress in eliminating backlog.

 

Previous Recommendation # 2.2

LAC should come into substantial compliance with the Act’s deadlines no later than March 31, 2006.

Action Taken: LAC believes that it will have effectively eliminated all backlog by March 31, 2006, with only a small number of very large requests still outstanding at that point in time.

6. Questionnaire and statistical report

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/04 to

Mar. 31/05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

1.

Number of requests carried over:

323

169

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal - in a deemed refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal:

250

135

Part B: New Requests - Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr.1/04 to

Mar. 31/05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

629

501

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

242

137

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

226

165

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

1-30 days:

64

61

31-60 days:

42

43

61-90 days:

14

24

Over 91 days:

106

37

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

28

52

6.A

How many were processedwithin the extended time limit?

10

17

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

6

7

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

1-30 days:

3

5

31-60 days:

2

0

61-90 days:

0

0

Over 91 days:

1

2

7.

As of November 30, 2005, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

65

     

EXCERPT FROM ASSISTANT DEPUTY MINISTER’S RESPONSE TO STATUS REPORT

"The large backlog in Access to Information requests became apparent to LAC senior management during 2004. In September 2004, we put in place an internal Access to Government Information Services Task Force. The Spring 2005 Report of the Task Force included recommendations to directly address the backlog, but also to avoid similar backlogs from materializing in the future.

…The most important action that the department took in response to the Task Force recommendations was to directly address the ATIP backlog and commit to its elimination in 2005-06. The first steps were taken in January 2005, based on the draft of the Task Force recommendations, when LAC management Board approved $250,000 in additional resources until March 31st, 2005 for a first "blitz" to reduce the backlog. This blitz succeeded in reducing the number of overdue access requests by some 450 out of approximately 1000 in total.

…In May 2005, LAC’s senior management approved an additional $600,000 for the second wave of the blitz with the goal of eliminating the backlog by October 31, 2005.

…As of January, 31st 2006, the total number of overdue access requests was 66.

…We believe that we will have effectively eliminated the entire 66 request backlog by March 31, 2006 with only a small number of very large requests still outstanding at that point in time.

…Part of moving forward and ensuring a backlog does not happen again was a review of all the procedures in the ATIP division. This process re-engineering exercise was undertaken with the involvement of all of the division’s staff, so it also proved to be a valuable team-building exercise. The result of the review is a set of efficient procedures that all of the staff agree to and support, available in one single unified procedures manual…

…2005-06 saw much progress and renewal in LAC’s ATIP program. By March 31st, 2006, we will have managed to almost completely eliminate our backlog in ATIP requests and we will be well on our way to building sustainability for the long-term."

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Rapport d’étape sur la fiche de rendement de 2005

1. Contexte

2. Historique en matière de respect

3. Situation actuelle

4. Recommendations

5. État de l'application des recommendations de 2005

6. Questionnaire et rapport statistique


1. CONTEXTE ▲HAUT

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomptions de refus

Commentaire

Note

0-5 %

Idéal

A

5-10 %

Bon

B

10-15 %

À la limite

C

15-20 %

Inférieur à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Signal rouge

F

Le présent rapport examine les progrès enregistrés par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) quand il s’agit d’obtenir un respect idéal des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. De plus, il contient de l’information sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des recommandations faites dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2005.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE RESPECT▲HAUT

La fiche de rendement de 2004 accordait à BAC la note « F », (signal rouge), en raison d’un rapport de 61 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2003.

La fiche de rendement de 2005 accordait à BAC la note «F» un signal rouge, alors que 70 % des demandes reçues entre le 1er avril et le 30 novembre 2004 se trouvaient en situation de présomption de refus. Il s’agissait de la première année où les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, ainsi que le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril étaient prises en considération.

Ces deux (2) notes représentent le pire rendement obtenu par une institution depuis que le Commissariat à l’information a créé les Fiches de rendement.

Pour le plein exercice financier de 2004-2005, BAC recevait la note « F » avec 64,8 % des demandes en situation de présomption de refus.

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE ▲HAUT

Pour la période visée, les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, ainsi que le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril, ont été prises en considération. Par conséquent, pour la période visée du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005, 55.5 % des demandes étaient en situation de présomption de refus pour une note de «F».

Au cours de la période en cause, BAC a reçu 501 demandes, soit 110 de plus que la période précédente.

Bien que BAC reçut encore une fois la note «F» cette année, nous ne pouvons que concéder que le Ministère a tout de même faire des progrès énormes pour améliorer cette situation.

En septembre 2004, le Ministère a mis en place un groupe de travail portant sur les services d’accès à l’information gouvernementaux. Le rapport déposé au printemps 2005 par le groupe de travail incluait de nombreuses recommandations pour contrer le problème de l’arriéré, mais également pour éviter que des problèmes similaires se matérialisent dans le futur.

L’action la plus important qui fut mise en place par BAC en réponse aux recommandations formulées par le groupe de travail fut de s’attaquer directement à l’arriéré pour en arriver à sa complète élimination en 2005-2006. Les premières actions furent entreprises en janvier 2005 sur la base de l’ébauche de recommandations faites par le groupe de travail quand le conseil de gestion de BAC approuva des dépenses de l’ordre de 250 000 $ additionnels jusqu’au 31 mars 2005 dans un «blitz» pour réduire l’arriéré.

En mai 2005, la haute direction de BAC approuva un budget additionnel de l’ordre de 600 000 $ pour un deuxième «blitz» visant l’élimination complète de l’arriéré au 31 octobre 2005. Durant la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005, BAC compléta 2 009 demandes formelles et informelles d’accès à l’information, communiqua 1 158 960 des 1 351 589 pages révisées. De plus, BAC s’est engagé à éliminer complètement l’arriéré d’ici le 31 mars 2006.

4. AUTRES RECOMMANDATIONS ▲HAUT

En raison des facteurs décrits dans le présent rapport, BAC n’a pas pu atteindre un respect idéal des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation n1

Le BAC devrait atteindre un respect idéal et la note « A » au 31 mars 2007.

Les ressources additionnelles consacrées par BAC permettront l’élimination complète de l’arriérés. De plus, aux fins d’améliorer l’efficacité du traitement des demandes d’accès, BAC a entrepris une révision extensive de ses pratiques qui sont traduites dans de nouvelles procédures formelles de traitement de demandes d’accès à l’information.

BAC a effectué une étude initiale visant la gestion efficace des documents transmis par d’autres ministères et agences pour fins d’archivage. Ceci permettra à BAC de réviser les demandes d’accès portant sur les documents d’archive plus efficacement et plus rapidement qu’avant grâce aux meilleures informations fournies par les ministères ayant créé les documents. En ce qui a trait aux documents déjà sous le contrôle de BAC, le Ministère a développé des critères permettant des révisions en blocs et qui faciliteront la divulgation de milliers de pages de documents au public sans devoir effectuer une révision page par page.

Recommandation n2

BAC doit régler la pénurie d’employés à la Direction de l’AIPRP en augmentant les ressources au besoin.

5. ÉTAT DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2005 ▲HAUT

L’an dernier, le Commissaire à l’information a fait vingt-deux (22) recommandations dans le but d’aider BAC à traiter les demandes selon les normes prévues par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

BAC s’est dit d’accord avec les 22 recommandations et progresse très bien avec leur mise en œuvre.

Pour souligner un nombre d’actions bien précises, BAC a mis en place un processus continu de triage qui permet de gérer efficacement les demandes informelles pour les documents d’archive du gouvernement et ce, en réponse à la recommandation 1.5. Grâce à ce procédé, BAC peut réviser et communiquer rapidement les renseignements du gouvernement pertinents à ces demandes.

En réponse à la recommandation 1.9, BAC a mis sur pied une autre pratique en 2005 qui consiste à améliorer les communications avec les clients en affichant de l’information en ce qui concerne le traitement de l’arriéré sur son site Web et à la salle de lecture. De plus, BAC envoie maintenant une lettre au requérant lorsque la réponse à la demande est en retard, de manière à ce que celui-ci sache où en est le traitement de sa demande et qu’il soit avisé des prédictions quant à la date anticipée de réponse. BAC communique mieux avec les requérants sur réception des demandes afin de s’assurer de leur clarté et de leur portée. Cette meilleure communication permet non seulement de gérer les attentes des requérants mais aussi d’établir de meilleures relations entre les employés et les requérants qui soumettent régulièrement des demandes.

La révision des procédures de la division de l’AIPRP était un moyen de faire en sorte d’aller de l’avant et d’éviter la réapparition d’un arriéré de demandes. Cet exercice d’examen et de mise sur pied du processus s’est effectué avec l’implication de tous les employés de la division et par le fait même a favorisé l’esprit d’équipe au sein de la division. Il en a résulté un ensemble de procédures qui ont l’approbation et l’appui de tous les employés. Ces procédures se trouvent toutes dans un manuel tel que suggéré à la recommandation 4.4. Ce nouveau manuel sera offert sur support informatique et sera un outil de référence pour tous les employés. Il servira aussi en tant qu’outil de formation pour les nouveaux employés qui se joignent à la division. Le manuel contiendra les mesures prises et mises de l’avant qui ont trait aux recommandations 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.6, 1.11, 4.5 et 4.7.

Le manuel de procédures codifiera comment, de manière constante, la division de l’AIPRP gère les prorogations de délais au-delà de la limite de 30 jours prévue par la Loi ainsi que le processus de consultation lorsqu’il est requis. Puisque la division de l’AIPRP de BAC révise principalement des documents qui furent créés par d’autres institutions fédérales, elle doit souvent consulter celles-ci. Les nouvelles procédures auront pour effet que les employés prolongeront les délais de traitement des demandes pour fins de consultations le plus tôt possible, après réception de la demande. Une meilleure gestion des prorogations et des consultations a déjà amélioré le temps de traitement des demandes.

Le Commissaire à l’information a aussi recommandé que la division de l’AIPRP de BAC développe et mette sur pied un plan de formation en accès à l’information (recommandation 4.6). BAC est fortement d’accord avec cette recommandation. A l’automne 2005, tous les employés de la division ont reçu de la formation formelle en AIPRP. De plus, pour chaque poste, BAC élaborera bientôt des plans de formation détaillés s’appuyant sur le nouveau manuel de procédures. A cette formation, s’ajoutera pour tous les employés, celle portant sur ATIPFlow et ATIPImage.

De toutes les recommandations de l’an dernier, deux de celles-ci portaient sur la réduction de l’arriéré des demandes.

Recommandation no 2.1 précédente

Que la Division de l’AIPRP produise un rapport mensuel fournissant au Bureau et à la haute direction du ministère des renseignements sur la mesure dans laquelle les délais de réponse aux demandes d’accès sont respectés. Ces rapports permettront à la haute direction et à la Division de l’AIPRP d’obtenir l’information dont ils ont besoin pour évaluer la conformité générale de BAC aux dispositions de la Loi et aux délais que l’organisme impose pour répondre aux demandes d’accès.

Suites données : Un groupe de travail interne sur les services d’accès à l’information fut mis sur pied en septembre 2004. Le groupe de travail continue de rencontrer les deux (2) sous-ministres adjoints du Ministère toutes les deux semaines pour s’assurer que la haute direction du Ministère puisse suivre les progrès et adresser toutes questions ou obstacles entravant le travail de ce groupe. De plus, des rapports hebdomadaires sont transmis à la haute direction sur la progression de travaux d’élimination de l’arriéré des demandes..

Recommandation n2.2 précédente

BAC devrait accéder au degré de conformité substantielle aux délais prévus par la Loi d’ici le 31 mars 2006.

Suites données : BAC croit pouvoir éliminer d’ici le 31 mars 2006 toutes les demandes en retard à l’exception d’un petit nombre de dossiers qui comportent de nombreux documents.

6. QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE ▲HAUT

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent.

1er avr. 2004 -  31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 - 30 nov. 2005

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

323

169

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

250

135

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes — Demandes de la Partie A exclues.

1er avr. 2004 - 31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 - 30 nov. 2005

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

629

501

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

242

137

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

226

165

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

De 1 à 30 jours :

64

61

De 31 à 60 jours :

42

43

De 61à 90 jours :

14

24

Plus de 91 jours :

106

37

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

28

52

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

10

17

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

6

7

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

De 1 à 30 jours :

3

5

De 31 à 60 jours :

2

0

De 61 à 90 jours :

0

0

Plus de 91 jours :

1

2

7.

Au 30 novembre 2005, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

65

Extraits de la réponse du Sous-ministre adjoint au rapport sur la situation

En 2004, l’imposant arriéré demandes d’accès à l’information est devenu évident à la haute direction de BAC. En septembre 2004, nous avons mis sur pied un groupe de travail sur les services d’accès à l’information gouvernementale. Le rapport du groupe de travail du printemps 2005, contenait des recommandations portant directement sur l’arriéré des demandes et sur la façon d’éviter des arriérés semblables dans le futur.

… L’action la plus importante prise par le ministère en réponse aux recommandations du groupe de travail fut de s’attaquer directement à l’arriéré de l’AIPRP et de s’engager à son élimination en 2005-2006. Les premières mesures qui s’appuyaient sur l’ébauche des recommandations du groupe de travail furent prises en janvier 2005. Elles étaient le résultat de l’approbation d’une somme de 250 000 $ pour des ressources supplémentaires jusqu’au 31 mars 2005 par le conseil de gestion de BAC pour une première campagne-éclair pour réduire l’arriéré des demandes. Cette campagne-éclair a permis de réduire de 450 demandes l’arriéré approximatif total de 1 000 demandes.

… En mai 2005, la haute direction de BAC a approuvé une somme supplémentaire de 600 000 $ pour un deuxième campagne-éclair ayant pour but d’éliminer l’arriéré au 31 octobre 2005.

… Au 31 janvier 2006, le nombre de demandes en retard était de 66.

… Nous croyons que d’ici au 31 mars 2006, nous aurons éliminé les 66 demandes en retard et que seul un petit nombre de demandes portant sur de nombreux documents ne seront pas terminées à cette date.

… La révision de toutes les procédures de la division de l’AIPRP est un moyen d’aller de l’avant et de faire en sorte qu’il n’y ait plus d’arriéré de demandes. Cet exercice d’examen et de mise sur pied du processus s’est effectué avec l’implication de tous les employés de la division et par le fait même a favorisé l’esprit d’équipe. Il en a résulté un ensemble de procédures qui ont l’approbation et l’appui de tous les employés et qui se trouvent dans un seul manuel de procédures.

… en 2005-2006, il y a eu beaucoup de progrès et de renouveau dans le programme d’AIPRP de BAC. D’ici au 31 mars 2006, nous aurons presque complètement éliminé l’arriéré des demandes de l’AIPRP et nous serons sur la voie de maintenir ces résultats à long terme.