Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Highlights

Our sustained and ongoing efforts to ensure that federal institutions meet their obligations under the Access to Information Act and are accountable for their actions and decisions to the Canadian public bore fruit this year. We instilled a solution-oriented culture that relies on evidence-based analysis to develop the most effective remedies to well-defined issues. 

Taking critical action on investigations

Through concerted effort to significantly improve our investigative function (see Chapter 1), we closed more complaints than we have in any year in the past two decades, and we made the largest dent ever in our existing caseload. The number of cases we have had on file for more than two years continued to fall. We also reduced by nearly one third the average time it took us to conclude investigations into our more recent complaints.

Keys to our success

In September 2009, we drew up a comprehensive action plan to maximize our efficiency gains and provide more timely and effective response to complaints.

Building our capacity

  • We implemented an integrated human resources strategy.
  • We staffed our investigative teams to full capacity.
  • We hired experienced investigators on contract to work on our oldest and most complex cases.
  • We developed an in-house program of targeted training.
  • We placed renewed emphasis on our career development program.
  • We developed, monitored and adjusted targets for investigators.

Enhancing case management

  • We adopted a portfolio approach to investigations.
  • We collaborated with complainants and institutions to resolve complaints and sought feedback on how best we could assist them.
  • We dedicated a team to our longstanding cases.
  • We closely monitored our progress on files and promptly raised issues of concern with senior institutional officials, when required.

Auditing and adjusting our processes

  • We improved our intake processes.
  • We simplified how we prioritize complaints.
  • We streamlined our approach to the early resolution of straightforward complaints.
  • We published practice directions that set out clear guidelines on aspects of our processes.


Summary of caseload, 2008-2009 and 2009-2010 

  Requester-initiated complaints Commissioner-initiated complaints Total
  2008-2009 2009-2010 2008-2009 2009-2010 2008-2009 2009-2010
Complaints carried over from the previous year 2,293 2,513 0 1 2,293 2,514
New complaints 2,018 1,653 1 36 2,019 1,689
Complaints cancelled* 28 n/a 0 n/a 28 n/a
Total complaints to investigate 4,283 4,166 1 37 4,284 4,203
Complaints completed with findings 1,118 1,516 0 34 1,118 1,550
Complaints discontinued 652 575 0 0 652 575
Total complaints closed 1,770 2,091 0 34 1,770 2,125
Complaints pending at year-end 2,513 2,075** 1 3 2,514 2,078
Report cards completed     10 24    

*We stopped using this category in June 2008; these 28 complaints were cancelled before that change was made.

**127 of these complaints are on hold awaiting the outcome of litigation.

Outcome of complaints closed in 2009-2010, by type

Administrative Complaints (1,052)

Delays
Resolved: 71%; not substantiated: 5%; discontinued: 24%

Time extensions
Resolved: 42%; not substantiated: 33%; discontinued: 25%

Fees
Resolved: 61%; not substantiated: 25%; discontinued: 14%

Miscellaneous
Resolved: 40%; not substantiated: 53%; discontinued: 7%

* One delay complaint was closed with a finding of well founded/not resolved

Effectively investigating to ensure requesters’ rights are respected

This year, we made full use of the investigative powers available to us under the Access to Information Act, and we did not hesitate to take strong action when required. We expressed our willingness to compel institutions to provide records required for our investigations. On a number of occasions, the Interim Information Commissioner sent formal recommendations to heads of institutions under section 37 of the Act. For the first time ever, she also referred a case to the Attorney General of Canada for review and possible prosecution. Chapter 2 provides examples to illustrate these strategies in action.

Taking stock of institutions new to the Access to Information Act

We reviewed the experience of institutions that became subject to the Act in 2006 and 2007, under the Federal Accountability Act (see Chapter 3). The distinctive features of these organizations (which include Crown corporations and officers of Parliament), as well as their newness, brought challenges as they developed access to information expertise and implemented significant administrative and cultural changes to achieve compliance. This resulted in an 80 percent increase in complaints in 2007-2008. Our subsequent investigations have shown the impact of setting up an access to information function and gaining experience working with the Act, since 85 percent of the complaints completed with a finding were found to have merit.

Shining a light on compliance

The most recent edition of our report cards, which we have been producing since 1999, evaluated the performance of 24 institutions in their compliance with the Access to Information Act (see Chapter 4). Eleven institutions performed reasonably well, while 13 performed below average or worse. Our report also shed light on the widespread problem of delays and their negative impact on Canada’s access to information regime. The report card process revealed two issues that directly contribute to such delays: consultations and the delegation of decision-making powers related to access.

Exploring fundamental points of Canadian access law

This year, our work in the courts led to progress on several ongoing cases that have an impact on our access to information regime. As described in Chapter 5, we continue to seek access to records held within ministers’ offices and the Privy Council Office, and we have begun a new case against the CBC to protect the reach of our investigative powers under the Access to Information Act. As always, we closely follow judicial reviews initiated by complainants, and we do not hesitate to become involved as needed.

Getting the message out about transparency and open government

This year, we spread the message of the importance of access to information, proactive disclosure and open government through numerous activities (see Chapter 6):

  • The Information Commissioner (in the persons of both the former Commissioner and the current Interim Commissioner) appeared five times before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics.

  • We launched a new website that provides a broader range of functions to Canadians.

  • Canada’s 2009 Right to Know week celebrated the fundamental principles of freedom of information and featured prominent experts in the field.

Setting a good example

As demonstrated in Chapter 7, we received considerably fewer access requests (34) this year than previously and the Information Commissioner ad hoc completed all the investigations into complaints against us. We accomplished all our IM/IT goals for this year, and we added and completed some new projects and advanced the start of others that still have to come to fruition. Of particular note was our success identifying and re-purposing existing tools from elsewhere within the government. Our efforts to improve our financial management practices and governance were recognized in 2009-2010. We received a clean audit from the Office of the Auditor General.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Faits saillants

Nos efforts constants et systématiques pour veiller à ce que les institutions fédérales remplissent leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et qu’elles rendent compte de leurs actions et de leurs décisions aux Canadiens ont porté fruit cette année. Nous avons créé un climat axé sur les solutions et sur l’analyse des faits pour trouver les meilleurs moyens de régler des problèmes bien définis.  

Des mesures cruciales concernant les enquêtes

Grâce à des efforts concertés pour améliorer considérablement la fonction d’enquête (voir le chapitre 1), nous avons pu régler plus de plaintes que nous ne l’avons jamais fait en un an depuis vingt ans et nous avons fait la brèche la plus importante dans notre arriéré de travail. Le nombre de plaintes en souffrance depuis plus de deux ans baisse régulièrement. Nous avons également réduit de près d’un tiers le délai moyen d’achèvement des enquêtes concernant nos plaintes les plus récentes.

Les clés de notre succès

En septembre 2009, nous avons dressé un plan d'action complet pour maximiser nos gains d’efficacité et régler les plaintes plus rapidement et plus efficacement.

Renforcer notre capacité

  • Nous avons mis en œuvre une stratégie de gestion intégrée des ressources humaines.
  • Nous avons doté nos équipes d’enquête au maximum.
  • Nous avons engagé à contrat, des enquêteurs d’expérience pour s’occuper des dossiers les plus anciens et les plus complexes.
  • Nous avons élaboré un programme interne de formation ciblée.
  • Nous avons relancé notre programme de développement de carrière.
  • Nous avons élaboré, suivi et corrigé des cibles pour les enquêteurs.

Améliorer la gestion des dossiers

  • Nous avons adopté, pour les enquêtes, une perspective à l’échelle du portefeuille.
  • Nous avons collaboré avec les plaignants et les institutions pour régler les plaintes et nous leur avons demandé comment nous pourrions mieux les aider.
  • Nous avons dédié une équipe aux dossiers en souffrance.
  • Nous avons suivi de près nos progrès et avons rapidement fait connaître nos préoccupations aux cadres supérieurs institutionnels, le cas échéant

Vérifier et ajuster nos procédures

  • Nous avons amélioré nos procédures de réception de documents.
  • Nous avons simplifié la procédure de hiérarchisation des plaintes.
  • Nous avons simplifié notre traitement accéléré des plaintes simples.
  • Nous avons publié des directives sur les pratiques énonçant clairement la marche à suivre au sujet de certains aspects de nos procédures.

Tableau 1 – Sommaire de la charge de travail, 20082009 et 20092010

  Plaintes reçues Plaintes déposées par le commissaire Total
  20082009 2009-2010 2008–2009 2009–2010 2008–2009 2009–2010
Plaintes reportées de l’année précédente 2 293 2 513 0 1 2 293 2 514
Nouvelles plaintes 2 018 1 653 1 36 2 019 1 689
Plaintes annulées* 28 s/o 0 s/o 28 s/o
Total des plaintes reçues 4 283 4 166 1 37 4 284 4 203
Plaintes réglées avec conclusions 1 118 1 516 0 34 1 118 1 550
Plaintes abandonnées 652 575 0 0 652 575
Total des plaintes fermées 1 770 2 091 0 34 1 770 2 125
Plaintes en suspends à la fin de l’exercice 2 513 2 075** 1 3 2 514 2 078
Fiches de rendement entreprises pendant l’exercice     10 24    

* Nous n’employons plus cette catégorie depuis juin 2008; ces 28 plaintes ont été annulées avant que le changement ait été effectué.

**127 de ces plaintes sont en cours et en attente de l’issue du litige.

Issue des plaintes traitées en 2009–2010, par type

Résultat des plaintes administratives (1 052 plaintes)

Retards
Plaintes réglées : 71 %; non fondées : 5 %; abandonnées : 24 %

Prorogations de délai
Plaintes réglées : 42 %; non fondées : 33 %; abandonnées : 25 %

Frais
Plaintes réglées : 61 %; non fondées : 25 %; abandonnées : 14 %

Divers
Plaintes réglées : 40 %; non fondées : 53 %; abandonnées : 7 %

*Le dossier d’une plainte pour retard a été fermé malgré une conclusion de plainte fondée/non réglée.

Faire enquête efficacement pour garantir le respect des droits du demandeur

Cette année, nous avons tiré le meilleur parti des pouvoirs d’enquête que nous confère la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et nous n’avons pas hésité à prendre des mesures solides au besoin. Nous avons fait clairement savoir que nous étions prêts à contraindre les institutions concernées à nous fournir les documents demandés. La commissaire à l’information par intérim a adressé un certain nombre de fois des recommandations officielles à l’intention des administrateurs généraux d’institutions en vertu de l’article 37 de la Loi. C’est également cette année que, pour la toute première fois, le Commissariat a renvoyé un dossier au procureur général du Canada pour examen et poursuite éventuelle. On trouvera au chapitre 2 des exemples concrets illustrant ces stratégies.

Bilan des institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Nous avons pris connaissance de l’expérience des institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi en 2006 et en 2007 en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité (voir le chapitre 3). Les caractéristiques distinctives de ces organisations (qui comptent des sociétés d’État et des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement) ainsi que la nouveauté de la situation ont suscité des difficultés à mesure qu’elles acquéraient de l’expertise et mettaient en œuvre des changements dans les pratiques administratives et dans les mentalités pour instaurer un climat de conformité. Cela a entraîné une augmentation de 80 % dans le nombre des demandes déposées en 2007–2008. Nos enquêtes ont révélé les répercussions de l’instauration d’une fonction d’accès à l’information et de l’acquisition d’une expérience de la Loi, puisque 85 % des plaintes ont été jugées fondées.

Tour d’horizon de la conformité

La dernière édition de nos fiches de rendement, que nous produisons depuis 1999, a permis d’évaluer le rendement de 24 institutions en matière de conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (voir le chapitre 4). Onze institutions ont donné des résultats satisfaisants, tandis que treize ont obtenu des résultats inférieurs à la moyenne ou pire. Notre rapport révèle également le problème répandu des retards et de leurs effets négatifs sur le système d’accès à l’information au Canada. Le système des fiches de rendement a fait ressortir deux problèmes directement liés à ces retards : les consultations et la délégation du pouvoir décisionnel en matière d’accès.

Aspects fondamentaux du droit de l’accès à l’information au Canada

Cette année, notre travail auprès des tribunaux a permis d’avancer eu égard à plusieurs causes ayant trait à des aspects importants du système de l’accès à l’information. Comme nous l’expliquons au chapitre 5, nous continuons de chercher à obtenir les documents détenus par les cabinets de ministres et le Bureau du Conseil privé, et nous avons entamé une nouvelle action contre la SRC pour protéger la portée de nos pouvoirs d’enquête en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

L’ouverture gouvernementale : faire passer le message 

Cette année, nous avons largement sensibilisé les institutions à l’importance de l’accès à l’information, de la divulgation proactive et de l’ouverture gouvernementale par le biais de nombreuses activités (voir le chapitre 6) :

  • Le commissaire à l’information (représentée par l’ex-commissaire et l’actuelle commissaire par intérim) s’est présenté à cinq reprises devant le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique de la Chambre des communes.

  • Nous avons créé un nouveau site Web qui offre toutes sortes de fonctions aux Canadiens.

  • La Semaine du droit à l’information 2009 a permis de mettre en valeur les principes fondamentaux de la liberté d’information et de donner la parole à des experts de premier plan dans ce domaine.

Donner l’exemple

Comme nous l’expliquons au chapitre 7, nous avons reçu beaucoup moins de demandes d’accès (34) cette année qu’auparavant, et le commissaire à l’information ad hoc a terminé toutes les enquêtes sur les plaintes déposées contre le Commissariat. Nous avons réalisé tous nos objectifs annuels en matière de GI/TI et nous avons ajouté ou terminé de nouveaux projets et en avons fait avancer d’autres qui porteront fruit plus tard. Nous avons notamment réussi à circonscrire et à réorienter des instruments employés ailleurs au gouvernement. Nos efforts pour améliorer nos pratiques de gestion financière et notre gouvernance ont été reconnus en 2009–2010. Nous avons, en effet, fait l’objet d’une opinion favorable sans réserve de la part du Bureau de la vérificatrice générale.