Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Appendix 3. Amendments and proposed amendments to the Access to Information Act 

Changes to the Act, the Schedules and the Designation Order in 2008–2009 

Statute or Order in council Bill Citation Came into force Change
An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on January 27, 2009 and related fiscal measures C-10 S.C. 2009, c. 2

Royal Assent received on March 12, 2009.  

Came into force on July 1st 2009

Add the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Act to Schedule II and add a reference to subsection 45.3(1)
An Act to give effect to the Maanulth First Nations Final Agreement and to make consequential amendments to other Act C-41 S.C. 2009, c. 18

Royal Assent received on June 18, 2009  

Will come into force on April 1, 2011

Subsection 13(3) of the Access to Information Act and subsection 8(7) of the Privacy Act is amended by adding the following paragraph:

(f) a Maanulth Government, within the meaning of subsection 2(2) of the Maanulth First Nations Final Agreement Act.

SOR/2009-174      July 1, 2009 Adds the Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission to Schedule 1
SI/2009-11     March 2nd,2009 Amends the Designation Order (repeals item 85.1: Public Service Human Resources Management Agency of Canada)
SI/2009-33     April 30, 2009. Amends the Designation Order (repeals item 75.21: Office of the Registrar of Lobbyist)
SI/2009-35     April 30, 2009. Amends the Designation Order (repeals item 87.2: Queens Way West Land Corporation)
SI/2009-47     July 1, 2009 Adds the Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission to the Designation Order
SI/2009-77     August 13, 2009 Adds the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario to the Designation Order
SI/2009-83     August 13, 2009 Adds the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency to the Designation Order
SI/2009-96     September 23, 2009 Adds the Veterans Review and Appeal Board to the Designation Order
 

Proposed changes to the Act  

Second and Third Sessions, Fortieth Parliament

Bills
BillProposed legislationLast stageChanges
C-9 An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 4, 2010 and other measuresCommittee meeting, May 4, 2010 This Bill deletes the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency of Canada from Schedule I of the Act
C-278 AnAct to amend the Access to Information Act (response time)First reading, March 3, 2010 The Bill provides for a report to be given to the requester and the Office of the Information Commissioner explaining the delay and the projected completion date when a request is still outstanding 100 days after it was received. It also requires the Information Commissioner to report annually the number of outstanding requests.
C-326 An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (open government)First reading, March 3, 2010 The Bill implements the proposals contained in the Open Government Act, made by former Information Commissioner Reid in 2005.
C-334 An Act prohibiting the commission, abetting or exploitation of torture by Canadian officials and ensuring freedom from torture for all Canadians at home and abroad and making consequential amendments to other ActsFirst reading, March 3, 2010 The Bill amends section 15 of the Access to Information Act to ensure that it does not prevent the disclosure of records relating to torture.
C-366 An Act to establish and maintain a national Breast Implant RegistryFirst reading, March 3, 2010 The Bill adds the Registrar of the Breast Implant Registry to Schedule I and adds the Breast Implant Registry Act to Schedule II.
C-415 C-415 An Act to amend the Canada Marine Act (City of Toronto) and other Acts in consequenceFirst reading, March 3, 2010 This Bill amends Schedule I of the ATIA by striking out the Toronto Port Authority
C-418 C-418 An Act to establish a Children's Commissioner of CanadaFirst reading, June 11, 2009 This Bill proposes amendments to subsection 16.1(1) and Schedule I of the Access to Information Act
S-203 An Act to amend the Business Development Bank of CanadaCommittee meeting, November 5, 2009 The Bill proposes an amendment to Schedule II of the Access to Information Act.
S-206 An Act to create the Office of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable DevelopmentDebates at second reading, November 24, 2009 The Bill proposes amendments to subsection 16.1 and Schedule I of the Access to Information Act.
S-214 An Act to regulate securities and provide a single securities commission for CanadaDebates at second reading, October 28, 2009 The Bill proposes to exempt some information from disclosure.

Private member’s motions
MotionProposed legislationLast stageChanges
M-486 That, in the opinion of the House, the government should re-instate the Co-ordination of Access to Information Requests System, under the authority of Public Works and Government Services Canada, which was shutdown on April 1, 2008. Tabled March 4, 2010 — Mrs. Jennings (Notre-Dame-de-Grâce—Lachine)  

Report
Report 2 - Access to Information Act Reform (Adopted by the Committee on March 11, 2010; Presented to the House on March 18, 2010)

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)h)(vi), the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics has considered the 11th report, tabled in the House in the 2nd session of the 40th Parliament, entitled “The Access to Information Act: First Steps Towards Renewal”.  

Pursuant to the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, March 11, 2010, the Committee adopted the report and is retabling it, a copy of which is appended.

Report 4 - Main Estimates 2010-2011: Vote 40 under JUSTICE (Adopted by the Committee on March 30, 2010; Presented to the House on March 31, 2010) In accordance with its Order of Reference of Wednesday, March 3, 2010, your Committee has considered the Vote 40 under JUSTICE in the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2011, and reports the same, less the amounts voted in Interim Supply.
  
Motions
Opposition Motion (Mr. Siksay) – March 15, 2010 That the House call on the government to recognize Canadians’ right to know and the principle of open government, rather than placing further restrictions on the release of information and opting for increased secrecy, and therefore this House urges the government to introduce within 30 days legislation based on former Information Commissioner John Reid’s draft bill to revise the Access to Information Act, in consultation with the Information Commissioner.
Concurrence Motion No. 3 March 18, 2010 — Mr. Siksay (Burnaby—Douglas) — That the Second Report of the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, presented on Thursday, March 18, 2010, be concurred in.
Concurrence Motion No. 5 March 18, 2010 — Mr. Easter (Malpeque) — That the Second Report of the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, presented on Thursday, March 18, 2010, be concurred in.
Concurrence Motion No. 7 March 18, 2010 — Ms. Foote (Random—Burin—St. George's) — That the Second Report of the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, presented on Thursday, March 18, 2010, be concurred in.
Concurrence Motion No. 13 March 31, 2010 — Mrs. Block (Saskatoon—Rosetown—Biggar) — That the Second Report of the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, presented on Thursday, March 18, 2010, be concurred in.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Annexe 3 – Modifications et propositions de modifications à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information  

Modifications à la Loi, aux annexes et au décret sur la désignation en 2008–2009  

Loi ou décret Projet de loi Référence Entrée en vigueur Modification
Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement le 27 janvier 2009 et mettant en œuvre des mesures fiscales connexes  C-10 L.C. 2009, ch. 2 Sanction royale obtenue le 12 mars 2009.   Entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2009 Ajout de la Loi sur la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada à l’annexe II et d’un renvoi au paragraphe 45.3(1).
Loi portant mise en vigueur de l’accord définitif concernant les premières nations maanulthes et modifiant certaines lois en conséquence C-41 L.C. 2009, ch. 18 Sanction royale obtenue le 18 juin 2009.   Entrée en vigueur prévue pour le 1er avril 2011

Le paragraphe 13(3) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et le paragraphe 8(7) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont modifiés par l’ajout de l’alinéa suivant :

g) de tout gouvernement maanulth, au sens du paragraphe 2(2) de la Loi sur l’accord définitif concernant les premières nations maanulthes.

DORS/2009-174      1er juillet 2009 Ajout de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation relative aux pensionnats indiens à l’annexe I.
TR/2009-11     2 mars 2009 Modification du décret sur la désignation (abroge l’article 85.1 : Agence de gestion des ressources de la fonction publique du Canada).
TR/2009-33     30 avril 2009 Modification du décret sur la désignation (abroge l’article 75.21 : Bureau du directeur des lobbyistes).
TR/2009-35     30 avril 2009 Modification du décret sur la désignation (abroge l’article 87.2 : Queens Way West Land Corporation).
TR/2009-47     1er juillet 2009 Ajout de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation relative aux pensionnats indiens au décret sur la désignation.
TR/2009-77     13 août 2009 Ajout de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario au décret sur la désignation.
TR/2009-83     13 août 2009 Ajout de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Nord canadien au décret sur la désignation.
TR/2009-96     23 septembre 2009 Ajout du Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel) au décret sur la désignation.

Modifications proposées à la Loi

Deuxième et troisième sessions de la 40 e  législature  

Projets de loi
Projet de loi Loi proposée Dernière étape Modifications
C-9 Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement le 4 mars 2010 et mettant en œuvre d’autres mesures  Réunion du comité : 4 mai 2010 Le projet de loi supprime l’Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada de l’annexe I de la Loi.
C-278 Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (délai de réponse) Première lecture : 3 mars 2010 Le projet de loi prévoit la production d’un rapport à remettre au demandeur et au commissaire à l’information pour expliquer le retard et la date de réponse prévue dans le cas où une demande est encore en suspens 100 jours après sa réception. Il prévoit aussi que le commissaire à l’information fasse rapport annuellement du nombre de demandes en suspens.
C-326 Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (transparence gouvernementale) Première lecture : 3 mars 2010 Le projet de loi reprend les propositions contenues dans la Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement, faites en 2005 par l’ancien commissaire à l’information John Reid.
C-334 Loi visant à interdire la pratique, la promotion et l’usage de la torture par des fonctionnaires canadiens et à garantir aux Canadiens le droit de ne pas être soumis à la torture dans leur pays et à l’étranger, et modifiant d’autres lois en conséquence Première lecture : 3 mars 2010 Le projet de loi modifie l’article 15 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour garantir qu’il n’a pas pour effet d’empêcher la communication de documents sur la torture.
C-366 Loi prévoyant l’établissement et la tenue d’un registre national des implants mammaires  Première lecture : 3 mars 2010 Le projet de loi ajoute le directeur du Registre des implants mammaires à l’annexe I et la Loi sur le Registre des implants mammaires à l’annexe II.
C-415 Loi modifiant la Loi maritime du Canada (cité de Toronto) et d’autres lois en conséquence  Première lecture : 3 mars 2010 Le projet modifie l’annexe I de la LAI pour y supprimer l’Administration portuaire de Toronto.
C-418 Loi portant création du poste de commissaire à l’enfance du Canada Première lecture : 11 juin 2009 Le projet propose de modifier le paragraphe 16.1(1) et l’annexe I de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.
S-203 Loi modifiant la  Loi sur la Banque de développement du Canada Réunion du Comité : 5 novembre 2009 Le projet de loi propose de modifier l’annexe II de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.
S-206 Loi concernant le poste de commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable Débats en deuxième lecture : 24 novembre 2009 Le projet de loi propose de modifier le paragraphe 16.1(1) et l’annexe I de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.
S-214 Loi réglementant les valeurs mobilières et constituant une seule commission des valeurs mobilières pour l’ensemble du Canada   Débats en deuxième lecture : 28 octobre 2009 Le projet de loi propose d’exempter certains renseignements de l’obligation de divulgation.
 
Motions d’initiative parlementaire
MotionLoi proposéeDernière étapeModifications
M-486 Que, de l’avis de la Chambre, le gouvernement devrait rétablir le Système de coordination des demandes d’accès à l’information, relevant de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, qui a été supprimé le 1er avril 2008. Déposée le 4 mars 2010 - Mme Jennings (Notre-Dame-de-Grâce - Lachine)  
 
Report
Rapport 2 – Réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (Adopté par le Comité le 11 mars 2010; présenté à la Chambre le 18 mars 2010) Conformément à l’article 108(3)(h)(vi) du Règlement, le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique a pris en considération son 11e rapport, déposé à la Chambre durant la 2e session de la 40e législature et intitulé : « La Loi sur l’accès à l’information : premiers pas vers un renouvellement ». Conformément à la motion qu’il a adoptée le jeudi 11 mars 2010, le Comité a adopté le rapport et le dépose de nouveau, une copie est annexée.
Rapport 4 – Budget principal des dépenses 2010–2011 : crédit 40 sous la rubrique JUSTICE (Adopté par le Comité le 30 mars 2010; Présenté à la Chambre le 31 mars 2010) Conformément à son Ordre de renvoi du mercredi 3 mars 2010, votre Comité a examiné le crédit 40 inscrit sous la rubrique JUSTICE du Budget principal des dépenses pour l’exercice financier se terminant le 31 mars 2011 et en fait rapport, moins les montants attribués à titre provisoire.
  
Motions
Motion de l’opposition (M. Siksay) – 15 mars 2010 Que la Chambre demande au gouvernement de reconnaître le droit des Canadiens d’accéder à l’information et le principe de la transparence du gouvernement, au lieu de limiter davantage la divulgation de l’information et de recourir de plus en plus au secret, et qu’en conséquence, la Chambre exhorte le gouvernement à présenter dans les 30 jours, en consultation avec la Commissaire à l’information, un projet de loi basé sur celui qu’avait rédigé l’ancien Commissaire à l’information, John Reid, et qui portait révision de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.
Motion d’adoption n 3 18 mars 2010 — M. Siksay (Burnaby—Douglas) — Que le premier rapport du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, présenté le jeudi 18 mars 2010, soit agréé.
Motion d’adoption n  5 18 mars 2010 — M. Easter (Malpeque) — Que le deuxième rapport du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, présenté le jeudi 18 mars 2010, soit agréé.
Motion d’adoption n 7 18 mars 2010 — Mme Foote (Random—Burin—St. George’s) — Que le deuxième rapport du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, présenté le jeudi 18 mars 2010, soit agréé.
Motion d’adoption n 13 31 mars 2010 — Mme Block (Saskatoon—Rosetown—Biggar) — Que le deuxième rapport du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, présenté le jeudi 18 mars 2010, soit agréé.