Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

6. Getting the message out about transparency and open government

We took the message of the importance of access to information, proactive disclosure and open government to Parliament and to Canadians through numerous activities, including appearances before Parliamentary committees, our new website, and the annual Right to Know week. We also participated in international efforts to promote open government. 

Assisting Parliament

The Information Commissioner (in the persons of both the former Commissioner and the current Interim Commissioner) appeared five times before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in 2009-2010. Through these appearances, the commissioners carried out one of the key roles of the position—to support Parliamentarians in their work.

One of the appearances was about possible reforms to the Access to Information Act. We presented 12 recommendations for immediate actions that the government could take to strengthen the legislation. (For more information, see our 2008-2009 annual report.) In its report on the need for legislative change, the committee accepted eight of our recommendations as we presented them. Of the remaining recommendations, they supported three with additional considerations and wished to review implications of the fourth.

The ex-Commissioner also spoke to the committee about our 2008-2009 annual report. The remainder of the appearances were about funding for 2009-2010 and 2010-2011. As a result of an appearance in March 2009 and a subsequent presentation to the Advisory Panel on the Funding and Oversight of Officers of Parliament and to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, we received additional funding in May 2009 to continue the implementation of our new business model.

In April 2010, the Interim Commissioner appeared before the committee to discuss her special report, Out of Time (see “Shining a light on compliance” for more information on the findings), and to brief committee members on developments in the area of open government.

Strengthening awareness 

Our new website

In response to the evolving online needs of Canadians, we created a new website that provides a broader range of functions in an attractive scheme. We launched the website in March 2010 and immediately received positive feedback from our users.

To help Canadians better understand their rights to access to information, our new website hosts a variety of articles, reports, publications and statistics. As an additional resource, users can view a variety of podcasts that discuss access to information topics. These podcasts feature speeches and seminars that provide invaluable insight into the world of access to information on both the national and international levels. We have also set up RSS feeds to disseminate updated website content and will be developing a blog and a Twitter feed as we have the capacity.

In the spirit of promoting both transparency and accountability, the new website provides a much more comprehensive view of the work we do. In the new Reading Room section, users can find information about our consultations and a full range of reports on our current progress and future plans. We are also posting the wording, in English and French, of all the access to information requests we receive. Interested readers may to ask informally for the documents that we released in response to each request.

2009 Right to Know week

Canada’s Right to Know week celebrates the fundamental principles of freedom of information. Every year, Canadians are provided with the chance to come together to discuss these principles and how they contribute to a successful democracy. These discussions help identify our current access to information issues from various perspectives; more importantly, together we can identify and develop ways to solve these issues.

In 2009, we worked with our provincial and territorial counterparts to make Canada’s Right to Know week a truly national event. Together, we also made full use of technology to share the benefits of the week with Canadians across the country. For example, the official website (www.righttoknow.ca) provided links, live podcasts, and transcripts of the presentations given at Right to Know week events.

During the opening Town Hall, renowned advocates and journalists criticized the lengthy delays and the lack of transparency that information seekers often face. Examples in hand, they discussed the resulting implications for the social and economic well-being of Canadians.

During a conference for parliamentarians, participants talked about the efforts made by some Canadian cities to create portals to a vast array of reusable information. Other experts presented various projects and tools to improve the speed, quality and user-friendliness of such proactive disclosure. To this end, Senator Francis Fox recommended that deputy ministers and senior federal officials be assessed according to their institution’s ability to rapidly process requests for access to information. Also in attendance was prominent access expert Stanley Tromp, who discussed how our federal legislation still does not capture the benefits of transparency.

During a panel discussion, legal experts put forth their own suggestions for improving our legislative framework. All kinds of approaches were raised, including direct court action, strengthening the Information Commissioner’s powers, and entrenching the right to know in the Charter.

Lastly, the week also featured international representatives from several influential organizations, who presented their own recent efforts to promote access to information to various countries and international organizations to create favourable conditions for access without borders.

Working internationally

Through our international work in 2009-2010, we sought to develop and share best practices in the area of access to information. These efforts were also an effective way to spread the word about the importance of transparency, and to produce tools for countries to use to implement access to information systems or enhance what they already have in place.

For example, we collaborated with representatives from other Organization of American States member countries to develop a model access to information law and implementation guide for the Western hemisphere. These tools set out a clear and close-to-ideal approach to access to information as a benchmark for all countries to work toward.

In April 2009, we also looked at the right of access to information in the Americas by participating in a conference put on by the Carter Centre in Peru. The conference resulted in an action plan for the hemisphere, backed by broad agreement by participating countries, on how to uphold and, ideally, enhance citizens’ right to information.

Finally, we hosted delegations from Burkina Faso, India and Russia, providing briefings on the access to information system in Canada and learning about the challenges officials in these countries face. This knowledge allows us to provide better support to Parliamentarians.

Collaborating with partners

Collaboration with all our partners in the access to information system—institutions, citizens, our international counterparts, and domestic and international interest groups—enhances our effectiveness. It is also crucial to our efforts to spread the word about the importance of access to information and transparency.

In 2009-2010, for example, we began working with the Canadian Bar Association to plan a seminar on access to be held in 2010. Representatives from this group also spoke to legislative reform in front of the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics.

We started to plan the international conference of information commissioners, which we will host in Ottawa in 2011. We also met with our provincial and territorial colleagues in person and by teleconference to discuss issues of mutual interest. One concrete and noteworthy action that resulted from those exchanges was the drafting of a joint letter to the World Bank offering observations on its proposal to modernize its disclosure policy.

Looking ahead  

Parliamentary relations

We will strive to support parliamentarians as they continue to discuss the Access to Information Act and study open government initiatives. To this end, we will continue to conduct national and international benchmarking and to document best practices worldwide through collaborative endeavours and partnerships with national, foreign and international experts and organizations.

Spreading the word

In 2010-2011, we will continue to publish various documents that explain our investigative process and disseminate our findings and recommendations. For example, we will post any new practice directions we develop on our website.

We will continue to develop our new website to give the public access to, among other things, findings of noteworthy investigations, major corporate documents and listings of access to information requests.

Championing the cause

There is a growing movement in favour of greater access to information through proactive disclosure. We will continue to promote our strong support of this practice, and work with other public and private agencies to bring proactive disclosure to a new level across the system.

We will continue to collaborate with partners and counterparts across Canada to promote compliance with legislative requirements, raise awareness of underlying causes of and solutions to systemic issues, and the need for greater proactive disclosure. In addition, we will continue to work with various stakeholders to share information on both the challenges and best practices in access to information, particularly in the context of today’s open government initiatives.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

6. L’ouverture gouvernementale : faire passer le message

Nous avons sensibilité le Parlement et les Canadiens à l’importance de l’accès à l’information, de la divulgation proactive et de l’ouverture gouvernementale au moyen de nombreuses activités, dont nos comparutions devant des comités parlementaires, notre nouveau site Web et la Semaine annuelle du droit à l’information. Nous avons également contribué aux efforts internationaux pour promouvoir l’ouverture gouvernementale.  

Soutien du Parlement

Le commissaire à l’information (représentée par l’ex-commissaire et l’actuelle commissaire par intérim) a comparu à cinq reprises devant le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique de la Chambre des communes en 2009–2010. C’est ainsi que la commissaire par intérim s’est acquittée d’une de ses fonctions principales, soit d’aider les parlementaires à faire leur travail.

L’une de ces comparutions avait trait à des modifications qui pourraient être apportées à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Nous avons recommandé 12 mesures immédiates que le gouvernement pourrait prendre pour renforcer la législation (pour plus de renseignements, voir le rapport annuel 2008–2009). Dans son rapport sur la nécessité de modifications législatives, le Comité a accepté huit de nos recommandations. Il était d’accord avec trois des autres compte tenu de considérations supplémentaires et souhaitait examiner les conséquences de la quatrième.

Les commissaires se sont également adressés au Comité au sujet du rapport annuel 2008–2009. Les autres comparutions ont porté sur le financement des exercices 2009–2010 et 2010–2011. Après une comparution en mars 2009 et une présentation ultérieure au Groupe consultatif sur le financement et la surveillance des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement et au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, nous avons obtenu des fonds supplémentaires en mai 2009 pour poursuivre la mise en œuvre de notre nouveau modèle opérationnel.

En avril 2010, la commissaire par intérim a comparu devant le Comité pour discuter du rapport spécial intitulé Hors délais (voir « Les fiches de rendement ou l'évaluation de la performance institutionnelle » pour plus de détails sur les conclusions du rapport) et pour informer ses membres de l’évolution de la situation à l’égard de l’ouverture gouvernementale.

Consolider la sensibilisation  

Notre nouveau site Web

Compte tenu de l’évolution des besoins des Canadiens sur Internet, nous avons créé un nouveau site Web qui offre un large éventail de fonctions présentées de façon agréable. Nous avons lancé le site en mars 2010 et aussitôt obtenu des réactions positives de nos utilisateurs.

Pour aider les Canadiens à mieux comprendre leurs droits en matière d’accès à l’information, notre nouveau site comprend toutes sortes d’articles, de rapports, de publications et de statistiques. Les utilisateurs ont également accès à toutes sortes de fichiers balado où qui traite de sujets ayant trait à l’accès à l’information. On trouve dans ces fichiers des conférences et des séminaires qui permettent de mieux comprendre le monde de l’accès à l’information à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Nous avons également installé des fils RSS pour diffuser le contenu du site et nous mettrons sur pied un blogue et un fil Twitter lorsque nous le pourrons.

Dans le but de promouvoir la transparence et la reddition des comptes, le nouveau site explique beaucoup mieux le travail que nous faisons. Dans la nouvelle section intitulée « Salle de lecture », les utilisateurs peuvent trouver des renseignements sur nos consultations et toutes sortes de rapports sur notre évolution actuelle et nos plans pour l’avenir. Nous affichons également sur le site le libellé – en français et en anglais – de toutes les demandes d’accès à l’information que nous recevons. Les lecteurs intéressés peuvent demander sans formalité spéciale les documents que nous avons communiqués en réponse à chaque demande.

La Semaine du droit à l’information 2009

La Semaine du droit à l’information est l’occasion de célébrer les principes fondamentaux de la liberté d’information au Canada. Chaque année, les Canadiens ont l’occasion de se rassembler pour discuter de ces principes et de leur contribution à la démocratie. Ces discussions permettent de mieux circonscrire les enjeux actuels de l’accès à l’information à divers égards. Plus important encore, elles permettent de circonscrire les moyens de régler ces enjeux.

En 2009, nous avons collaboré avec nos homologues provinciaux et territoriaux pour faire de la Semaine du droit à l’information un événement véritablement national. Ensemble, nous avons également tiré le meilleur parti de la technologie pour partager les avantages de l’événement avec les Canadiens de toutes les régions. Par exemple, le site Web officiel de la Semaine (http://www.righttoknow.ca) propose des liens, des fichiers balado et des transcriptions de présentations faites au cours de la semaine.

Au cours du premier événement, soit une assemblée générale, des militants et journalistes connu ont critiqué les délais trop longs et le manque de transparence auxquels les demandeurs d’information se heurtent. Exemples en main, ils ont discuté des répercussions de la situation sur le bien-être social et économique des Canadiens.

Au cours d’une conférence pour les parlementaires, les participants ont parlé des efforts que font certaines municipalités canadiennes pour créer des portails donnant accès à toutes sortes de renseignements réutilisables. D’autres spécialistes ont présenté divers projets et instruments qui permettraient d’accélérer l’accès et d’améliorer la qualité et la facilité d’utilisation de ce genre de moyens de divulgation proactive. À cet égard, le sénateur Francis Fox a recommandé que les sous-ministres et les cadres supérieurs du gouvernement fédéral soient évalués en fonction de l’aptitude de leur institution à traiter rapidement les demandes d’accès à l’information. Était également présent le spécialiste de premier plan Stanley Tromp, qui a expliqué en quoi notre réglementation fédérale ne parvient toujours pas à saisir les avantages de la transparence.

Au cours d’une discussion d’experts, des juristes ont proposé des mesures pour améliorer notre cadre législatif. Toutes sortes de méthodes ont été envisagées, dont l’action judiciaire directe, la consolidation des pouvoirs du commissaire à l’information et l’enchâssement du droit à l’information dans la Charte.

Enfin, la Semaine a également accueilli des représentants de plusieurs organisations étrangères influentes, qui ont expliqué leurs propres efforts pour promouvoir l’accès à l’information dans divers pays et organisations internationales afin de créer les conditions propices à un accès sans frontières.

Travailler sur la scène internationale

En 2009–2010, nos activités internationales nous ont permis d’élaborer et de partager des pratiques exemplaires en matière d’accès à l’information. Ces efforts étaient aussi un moyen utile de répandre l’idée de l’importance de la transparence et de produire des instruments que des pays puissent employer pour mettre en place des systèmes d’accès à l’information ou améliorer ceux qu’ils avaient déjà.

Par exemple, nous avons collaboré avec des représentants d’autres pays de l’Organisation des États américains pour élaborer un modèle de loi sur l’accès à l’information et un guide de mise en œuvre pour l’hémisphère occidental. Ces instruments énoncent une perspective claire et presque idéale de l’accès à l’information qui peut servir d’objectif à tous les pays.

En avril 2009, nous avons également examiné le droit d’accès à l’information dans les pays d’Amérique en participant à une conférence organisée par le Centre Carter au Pérou. La conférence a donné lieu à l’élaboration d’un plan d’action pour l’hémisphère, soutenu par un accord général entre les pays participants sur les moyens de faire valoir et, idéalement, d’améliorer le droit à l’information des citoyens.

Enfin, nous avons reçu des délégations du Burkina Faso, de l’Inde et de la Russie, que nous avons informées de notre système d’accès à l’information et qui nous ont parlé des difficultés de leur pays. Ces connaissances nous permettent de mieux soutenir nos parlementaires.

Collaborer avec les partenaires

La collaboration avec tous nos partenaires du système d’accès à l’information (les institutions, les citoyens, nos homologues étrangers et les groupes d’intérêts canadiens et étrangers) améliore notre efficacité. Elle est également indispensable à nos activités de sensibilisation à l’importance de l’accès à l’information et de la transparence.

En 2009–2010, par exemple, nous avons commencé à travailler avec l’Association du Barreau canadien pour organiser un séminaire sur l’accès à l’information qui devrait avoir lieu en 2010. Des représentants de ce groupe ont également parlé de réforme législative au Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique de la Chambre des communes.

Nous avons commencé à planifier la conférence internationale des commissaires à l’information, qui aura lieu à Ottawa en 2011. Nous avons également rencontré nos collègues provinciaux et territoriaux, en personne et dans le cadre de téléconférences, pour discuter d’enjeux d’intérêt mutuel. L’une des mesures concrètes et notables qui ont découlé de ces échanges a été la rédaction d’une lettre commune à l’intention de la Banque mondiale où nous avons fait part de nos observations sur son projet de modernisation de la politique de divulgation de l’information.

L’avenir  

Les relations parlementaires

Nous tâcherons d’aider les parlementaires tandis qu’ils continuent de discuter de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et d’examiner les mesures améliorant l’ouverture gouvernementale. Pour cela, nous continuerons de procéder à des analyses comparatives nationales et internationales et d’étayer par des documents les pratiques exemplaires que nous trouverons dans le monde entier, par le biais de la collaboration et de partenariats avec des spécialistes et organisations du Canada et de pays étrangers.

Faire passer le message

En 2010–2011, nous continuerons de publier divers documents pour expliquer notre procédure d’enquête et diffuser nos conclusions et recommandations. Par exemple, nous afficherons nos directives sur les pratiques sur notre site Web.

Nous continuerons de développer notre nouveau site Web pour permettre à la population d’avoir accès, entre autres, aux conclusions des enquêtes importantes, aux principaux documents d’entreprises et aux listes des demandes d’accès à l’information.

Défendre la cause

On constate un mouvement croissant en faveur de l’élargissement de l’accès à l’information par la divulgation proactive. Nous continuerons de promouvoir notre vigoureux appui à cette pratique et nous collaborerons avec d’autres organismes publics et privés pour l’amener à un autre niveau dans le système.

Nous continuerons de collaborer avec nos partenaires et homologues de l’ensemble du Canada à promouvoir la conformité aux exigences législatives, à faire connaître les causes profondes des problèmes systémiques et leurs solutions et à faire valoir la nécessité de divulguer l’information proactivement. Par ailleurs, nous continuerons de collaborer avec diverses parties intéressées pour partager l’information concernant les difficultés et les pratiques exemplaires, notamment dans la perspective des mesures prises en faveur de l’ouverture gouvernementale.