Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents

Appendix 3. Amendments and proposed amendments to the Access to Information Act

Changes to the Schedules and Designation Order in 2008–2009

Statute or Order in council Bill Citation Came into force Change
An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on January 27, 2009 and related fiscal measures C-10 S.C. 2009, c. 2 Royal Assent received on March 12, 2009. Coming into force will be determined by Order in Council. Add Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Act to Schedule II and add a reference to subsection 45.3(1)
An Act to give effect to the Tsawwassen First Nation Final Agreement and to make consequential amendments to other Acts C-34 S.C. 2008, c. 32 April 3, 2009

Subsection 13(3) of the Access to Information Act and subsection 8(7) of the Privacy Act is amended by striking out the word “or” at the end of paragraph (d), by adding the word “or’’ at the end of paragraph (e) and by adding the following after paragraph (e):

(f) the Tsawwassen Government, as defined in subsection 2(2) of the Tsawwassen First Nation Final Agreement Act

An Act to establish the Specific Claims Tribunal and to make consequential amendments to other Acts C-30 S.C. 2008, c. 22 November 18, 2008

Add the Specific Claims TribunalAct to Schedule I

Schedule II: adds a reference to subsections 27(2) and 38(2) of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act

An Act to amend the Museums Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts C-42 S.C. 2008, c. 9 August 10, 2008 Paragraph 68(c) of the Access to Information Act is replaced by the following:

(c) material placed in the Library and Archives of Canada, the National Gallery of Canada, the Canadian Museum of Civilization, the Canadian Museum of Nature, the National Museum of Science and Technology or the Canadian Museum for Human Rights by or on behalf of persons or organizations other than government institutions

Schedule I to the Act is amended by adding the following:

Canadian Museum for Human Rights

P.C. 2008-800     June 1, 2008 Adds the institution the Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission Secretariat to Schedule I
P.C. 2008-802     June 1, 2008 Adds an institution to the Designation Order




Proposed changes to the Act

Second Session, Thirty-Ninth Parliament

Private member’s bills
Bill Proposed legislation Last stage Changes
C-554 An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (open government) First reading, May 29, 2008 The Bill implements the proposals contained in the Open Government Act, made by former Information Commissioner Reid in 2005.
C-556 An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (improved access) First reading, June 2, 2008 The Bill implements the proposals contained in the Open Government Act, made by former Information Commissioner Reid in 2005.

First and Second Sessions, Fortieth Parliament

Private member’s bills
Bill Proposed legislation Last stage Changes
C-278 An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (response times) First reading, February 2, 2009 (was referred as Bill C-470 in the 2007–2008 Annual Report) The Bill provides for a report to be given to the requester and the Office of the Information Commissioner explaining the delay and the projected completion date when a request is still outstanding 100 days after it was received. It also requires the Information Commissioner to report annually the number of outstanding requests.
C-326 An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (open government) First reading, February 25, 2009 (was referred as Bill C-554 in the 39th Parliament) The Bill implements the proposals contained in the Open Government Act, made by former Information Commissioner Reid in 2005.
C-334 An Act prohibiting the commission, abetting or exploitation of torture by Canadian officials and ensuring freedom from torture for all Canadians at home and abroad and making consequential amendments to other Acts First reading, March 5, 2009 The Bill amends section 15 of the Access to Information Act to ensure that it does not prevent the disclosure of records relating to torture.
S-203 An Act to amend the Business Development Bank of Canada First reading, January 27, 2009 The Bill proposes an amendment to Schedule II of the Access to Information Act.
S-206 An Act to create the Office of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development First reading, January 27, 2009 The Bill proposes amendments to subsection 16.1 and Schedule I of the Access to Information Act.
S-214 An Act to regulate securities and provide a single securities commission for Canada First reading, January 27, 2009 The Bill proposes to exempt some information from disclosure.

Report
First Report of the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), and a motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, February 11, 2009, your Committee recommended: That the government introduce in the House, by May 31, 2009, a new, stronger and more modern Access to Information Act, drawing on the work of the Information Commissioner Mr. John Reid.

Motions
Opposition motion (Mr. McTeague) – March 6, 2009 That, given the Information Commissioner’s report on February 26, 2009, which condemns “a lack of leadership at the highest levels of government”, this House calls upon the government to amend the Access to Information Act to include, as part of its purpose, that “every government institution shall make every reasonable effort to assist persons requesting access and to respond to each request openly, accurately and completely and without unreasonable delay”, and further, to provide a general “public interest” override for all exemptions, so the public interest is put before government secrecy, as promised in the 2006 election platform of the Conservative Party of Canada.
Opposition motion (Mr. Siksay) – March 3, 2009 That this House calls on the government to recognize Canadians’ right to know and the principle of open government, rather than placing further restrictions on the release of information and opting for increased secrecy, and therefore this House urges the government to introduce within 30 days legislation based on former Information Commissioner John Reid’s draft bill to revise the Access to Information Act, in consultation with Information Commissioner Robert Marleau.

Previous   Table of contents

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières

Annexe 3. Modifications apportées et proposées à laLoi sur l’accès à l’information

Modification des annexes et du décret sur la désignation en 2008–2009  

Loi ou décret Projet de loi Référence Entrée en vigueur Modification
Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement le 27 janvier 2009 et mettant en œuvre des mesures fiscales connexes  C-10 S.C. 2009, chap. 2 Sanction royale le 12 mars 2009. Date d’entrée en vigueur fixée par décret. Adjonction de Loi sur la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada à l’annexe II ainsi que de la mention « paragraphe 45.3(1) ».
Loi portant mise en vigueur de l’accord définitif concernant la Première Nation de Tsawwassen et modifiant certaines lois en conséquence C-34 S.C. 2008, chap. 32 3 avril 2009 Le paragraphe 13(3) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est modifié par adjonction, après l’alinéa e), de ce qui suit :

f) du gouvernement tsawwassen, au sens du paragraphe 2(2) de la Loi sur l’accord définitif concernant la Première Nation de Tsawwassen.

Loi constituant le Tribunal des revendications particulières et modifiant certaines lois en conséquence C-30 S.C. 2008, chap. 22 18 novembre 2008 Adjonction de Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières à l’annexe I.

Annexe II : adjonction de la mention des paragraphes 27(2) et 38(2) de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières. 

Loi modifiant laLoi sur les musées et d’autres lois en conséquence  C-42 S.C. 2008, chap. 9 10 août 2008 L’alinéa 68c) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est remplacé par ce qui suit :

c) les documents déposés à Bibliothèque et Archives du Canada, au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, au Musée canadien des civilisations, au Musée canadien de la nature, au Musée national des sciences et de la technologie ou au Musée canadien des droits de la personne par des personnes ou organisations extérieures aux institutions fédérales ou pour ces personnes ou organisations.

L’annexe I de la même loi est modifiée par adjonction de ce qui suit :

Musée canadien des droits de la personne.

C.P. 2008-800     1er juin 2008 Adjonction de l’institution Secrétariat de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation relative aux pensionnats indiens à l’annexe I.
C.P. 2008-802     1er juin 2008 Adjonction d’une institution au Décret sur la désignation

Modifications proposées à la Loi

Deuxième session, trente-neuvième législature 

Projet de loi Loi projetée Dernière étape Modifications
C-554 Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information(transparence gouvernementale)  Première lecture, 29 mai 2008 Le projet de loi reprend les propositions contenues dans la Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement, faites en 2005 par l’ancien commissaire à l’information John Reid.
C-556 Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information(amélioration de l’accès) Première lecture, 2 juin 2008 Le projet de loi reprend les propositions contenues dans la Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement, faites en 2005 par l’ancien commissaire à l’information John Reid.


Première et deuxième sessions, quarantième législature

Projet de loi Loi projetée Dernière étape Modifications
C-278 Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information(délai de réponse) Première lecture, 2 février 2009 (projet de loi C-470 dans le rapport annuel de 2007–2008) Le projet de loi prévoit la production d’un rapport à remettre au demandeur et au commissaire à l’information pour expliquer le retard et la date de réponse prévue dans le cas où une demande est encore en suspens 100 jours après sa réception. Il prévoit aussi que le commissaire à l’information fasse rapport annuellement du nombre de demandes en suspens.
C-326 Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information(transparence gouvernementale) Première lecture, 25 février 2009 (projet de loi C-554 dans la 39e législature) Le projet de loi reprend les propositions contenues dans la Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement, faites en 2005 par l’ancien commissaire à l’information John Reid.
C-334 Loi visant à interdire la pratique, la promotion et l’usage de la torture par des fonctionnaires canadiens et à garantir aux Canadiens le droit de ne pas être soumis à la torture dans leur pays et à l’étranger, et modifiant d’autres lois en conséquence Première lecture, 5 mars 2009 Le projet de loi modifie l’article 15 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour garantir qu’il n’a pas pour effet d’empêcher la communication de documents sur la torture.
S-203 Loi modifiant la Loi sur la Banque de développement du Canada Première lecture, 27 janvier 2009 Le projet de loi propose de modifier l’annexe II de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.
S-206 Loi concernant le poste de commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable Première lecture, 27 janvier 2009 Le projet de loi propose de modifier le paragraphe 16.1(1) et l’annexe I de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.
S-214 Loi réglementant les valeurs mobilières et constituant une

seule commission des valeurs mobilières pour l’ensemble

du Canada

Première lecture, 27 janvier 2009 Le projet de loi propose d’exempter certains renseignements de l’obligation de divulgation.

 

Rapport
Premier rapport du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique Conformément à l’article 108(2) du Règlement et la motion adoptée par le Comité le mercredi 11 février 2009, le Comité recommande :

Que le gouvernement dépose à la Chambre, d’ici le 31 mai 2009, une nouvelle Loi sur l’accès à l’information, renforcée et modernisée, qui pourrait s’inspirer des travaux de l’ancien commissaire à l’information John Reid.

 

Motions
Motion de l’opposition (M. McTeague) – 6 mars 2009 Que, compte tenu du rapport du 26 février 2009 du commissaire à l’information, qui condamne le « manque flagrant de leadership aux plus hauts échelons du gouvernement », la Chambre demande au gouvernement de modifier la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour inclure dans son objet que « l’administration fédérale doit déployer des efforts raisonnables pour aider quiconque veut avoir accès à l’information, répondre à chacune des demandes de manière transparente, juste et exhaustive, dans des délais raisonnables » et, en outre, prévoir une dérogation à toutes les exceptions afin que l’intérêt public passe avant le secret gouvernemental, comme le Parti conservateur du Canada l’a promis dans son programme électoral de 2006.
Motion de l’opposition (M. Siksay) – 3 mars 2009 Que la Chambre demande au gouvernement de reconnaître le droit à l’information des Canadiens et le principe de la transparence gouvernementale, plutôt que de restreindre encore davantage la diffusion de l’information et de cultiver le secret, et presse donc le gouvernement de déposer dans les 30 jours un projet de loi inspiré de celui de l’ancien commissaire à l’information John Reid visant à modifier la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, en consultation avec le Commissaire à l’information Robert Marleau. 

Précédent   Table des matières