Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Appendix 1. Report of the Information Commissioner ad hoc

The authority of the Information Commissioner ad hoc is the delegation by the Information Commissioner of Canada, pursuant to section 59 of the Access to Information Act (the ATI Act). The current delegation is effective May 1, 2008 for a one-year period, until such time as it is revoked, amended or renewed. It is the second similar delegation, the first having been issued in 2007 to the Honourable Peter Cory.

The delegation by the Commissioner provides authority for

“ . . .the Hon. W. Andrew MacKay, as commissioner ad hoc, to exercise or perform all of the powers, duties and functions of the Information Commissioner set out in the Access to Information Act, including sections 30 to 37 and section 42 inclusive of the Access to Information Act, for the purpose of receiving and independently investigate any complaint described in section 30 of the Access to Information Act arising in response to access requests made in accordance with the Act to the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada.”

The delegation implements arrangements whereby the Office of the Information Commissioner is subject to the ATI Act. Thus, that Office’s activity and decisions in relation to access requests made to it are subject to review, like other government institutions of Canada, in accord with the Federal Accountability Act, of 2007 and amendments then made to the ATI Act.

It is of fundamental importance as emphasized in the Report of the Ad Hoc Access to Information Commissioner by the Honourable Peter Cory in 2008 that the role of the Ad Hoc Commissioner be completely independent of the Information Commissioner, with a separate office, mailing address, telephone, investigating and secretarial assistance.

In my view the necessary independence of the Office of the Commissioner ad hoc has been maintained in the past year and its independence has been respected by the Information Commissioner, through whose good offices the needs of the work of the Commissioner ad hoc have been met. Expenses of the office, support for an experienced senior investigating officer, for secretarial assistance, and for legal advice have been provided as needed. In particular, I acknowledge the assistance of Ms. Julia O’Grady, whose work, investigating and resolving complaints for this office independent of but with cooperation of the Commissioner’s staff, and whose advice to me, have been invaluable.

Since May 1, 2008 this office has been concerned with a dozen complaints. All have been investigated. A few of these were initiated before May 1, 2008. Three of those, which remain unresolved, concern the issue of control by a government institution, in this case the Office of the Information Commissioner, of certain computer-based information. The complaints raise issues of both fact of concern to the Commissioner, and law for which I have obtained independent legal advice. Those complaints will, I trust, soon be resolved.

Other complaints initiated in 2008 raise issues of the application of section 16.1 of the ATI Act in situations where the Office of the Information Commissioner has contended the information requested by a complainant is exempt from release as information obtained or created in the course of an investigation or examination conducted by that office. It is noted that if it is such information, it is exempt from release only pending conclusion of the investigation and related proceedings by that Office. A process for review by the Commissioner of any such request after conclusion of an investigation would be an appropriate routine.

Three complaints raised the issue of the jurisdiction of the Information Commissioner ad hoc in circumstances where the information was refused to be released by the government institution which was asked for it after the institution had consulted with the Office of the Information Commissioner. As I interpret jurisdiction of the Commissioner ad hoc, as set out in the delegation above, unless the Information Commissioner is requested information and refuses to release it there is no decision by his office that is to be reviewed.

I concur with the words of my predecessor, the Honourable Peter Cory, “In my view, it is necessary to maintain the Office of the Ad Hoc Commissioner. This is necessary in order to ensure that someone independent of the Commissioner has considered the complaints made against the Commissioner were properly considered and appropriately dealt with.” That continues to be the goal of this office.

Respectfully submitted,

Andrew MacKay

The Honourable W. Andrew MacKay


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Annexe 1. Rapport du commissaire à l’information ad hoc 

Le pouvoir du commissaire à l’information ad hoc est délégué par le commissaire à l’information du Canada en vertu de l’article 59 de laLoi sur l’accès à l’information. La délégation actuelle a pris effet le 1er mai 2008 pour une période d’un an, ou jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit révoquée, modifiée ou renouvelée. Il s’agit de la seconde délégation de ce type, la première ayant été consentie en 2007 à l’honorable Peter Cory.

Le commissaire délègue à :

l’honorable W. Andrew MacKay, à titre de commissaire ad hoc, les pouvoirs et fonctions qui lui sont conférés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, incluant les articles 30 à 37 et l’article 42 de la Loi, afin de recevoir et d’enquêter de façon indépendante toute plainte prévue à l’article 30 de la Loi concernant des réponses aux demandes de communication adressées au Commissariat à l’information du Canada en vertu de la Loi.

La délégation met en œuvre les modalités découlant du fait que le Commissariat à l’information est assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Par conséquent, les activités et les décisions du Commissariat relatives aux demandes de communication qui lui sont adressées peuvent faire l’objet d’un examen, comme dans le cas des autres institutions fédérales, conformément à la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité de 2007 et aux modifications apportées à laLoi sur l’accès à l’information.

Comme le souligne l’honorable Peter Cory dans le rapport du commissaire à l’information ad hoc de 2008, il est capital que le commissaire ad hoc soit indépendant du commissaire à l’information, qu’il ait un bureau, une adresse postale et un numéro de téléphone distincts, qu’il puisse recourir aux services d’enquêteurs et d’adjoints eux-mêmes indépendants.

Selon moi, cette indépendance a été préservée au cours du dernier exercice et a été respectée par le commissaire à l’information. Grâce aux bons offices de ce dernier, les besoins du commissaire ad hoc ont été comblés. Le soutien d’une enquêtrice principale expérimentée, des services de secrétariat et des conseils juridiques ont été fournis au commissaire ad hoc par le Commissariat, qui a aussi payé les dépenses du bureau. J’aimerais notamment exprimer ma gratitude à Mme  Julia O’Grady, dont les conseils ainsi que le travail d’enquête et de règlement des plaintes, fait de façon indépendante mais en collaboration avec le personnel du Commissariat, m’ont été très précieux.

Depuis le 1er mai 2008, mon bureau a traité une douzaine de plaintes, qui ont toutes fait l’objet d’une enquête. Certaines d’entre elles sont antérieures au 1er mai 2008. Trois d’entre elles, qui ne sont toujours pas réglées, portent sur le contrôle de certains éléments d’information électronique exercé par une institution fédérale, en l’occurrence le Commissariat à l’information. Ces plaintes soulèvent des questions tant sur le plan des faits (ce qui préoccupe le commissaire) que du droit, pour lesquelles j’ai obtenu les conseils juridiques d’un tiers. Ces plaintes seront, je l’espère, bientôt réglées.

D’autres plaintes déposées en 2008 portent sur l’application de l’article 16.1 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information dans les cas où le Commissariat à l’information prétend que l’information demandée par le plaignant ne peut être communiquée en raison d’une exception, puisqu’elle contient des renseignements créés ou obtenus dans le cadre d’une enquête ou d’un examen par le Commissariat. Soulignons que dans un tel cas, l’information n’est protégée par l’exception que jusqu’à ce que l’enquête, et tout acte de procédure connexe, soit terminée. Un examen systématique par le commissaire de ces demandes après la conclusion d’une enquête serait de rigueur. 

Trois plaintes ont soulevé la question de la compétence du commissaire à l’information ad hoc dans les cas où l’institution gouvernementale a refusé de communiquer l’information demandée après avoir consulté le Commissariat à l’information. Selon mon interprétation de la compétence du commissaire ad hoc, exposée dans la délégation ci-dessus, à moins que l’information ne soit demandée au commissaire à l’information et que celui-ci refuse de la communiquer, aucune décision prise par le Commissariat ne nécessite un examen.

Je suis d’accord avec mon prédécesseur, l’honorable Peter Cory, qui estimait « qu’il [était] nécessaire de maintenir la fonction du commissaire ad hoc, car il est indispensable de faire en sorte qu’un organe indépendant du commissaire examine et traite correctement les plaintes déposées contre le commissaire ». Cela demeure l’objectif poursuivi par ce bureau.

Le commissaire à l’information ad hoc,

Andrew MacKay

L’honorable W. Andrew MacKay


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant