Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Introduction

After a year of regrouping and redefining the direction we needed to take to respond to the challenges brought on by our changing business environment, we in the Office of the Information Commissioner streamlined and fine-tuned our investigative process in 2008–2009 to maximize efficiency. We then turned our gaze outward to see how, given our resources, we could best encourage federal institutions to comply with the Access to Information Act and be increasingly accountable and transparent.

Chapter 1 of this annual report offers highlights of our work in 2008–2009.

Chapter 2 presents our new business model. It explains how we have adjusted our investigative process to maximize efficiency and timeliness and to resolve all ongoing cases carried over from previous years. It also explains the course of action that we have taken, and the tools we are using, to widen the influence of our findings, actions and expertise.

Chapter 3 provides a detailed account of our investigative performance in 2008–2009, including basic facts, figures and graphs, with a sample of noteworthy investigations.

Chapter 4 focuses on how we address performance and systemic issues. It briefly reviews the results of our latest report cards process and provides an account of two recent systemic investigations.

Chapter 5 presents important court cases in which the Information Commissioner intervened or that raised interesting legal and constitutional issues related to access to information. These cases serve to highlight the Information Commissioner’s position on various issues in an effort to be as transparent and to provide as much guidance as possible to all stakeholders.

Our recommendations to modernize and strengthen the Access to Information Act form the basis of Chapter 6. The Information Commissioner presented these recommendations to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in March 2009 as part of our efforts to impress upon the government the urgent need for change.

Chapters 7 to 9 explain our internal strategies with respect to information management and technology, communications, and financial and human resources. These strategies share the goal of ensuring that we have the proper resources, skills and tools to carry out our mandate in the most efficient manner, while providing excellent client service. Chapter 7 also includes our own report card on how well we handled the access to information requests we received in 2008–2009.

Finally, Chapter 10 looks to the future—how we will follow up on commitments from institutions and on our own, and how we will further strengthen our organizational capacity as well as our relations with partners and stakeholders.




Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Introduction

Après une année de regroupement et de redéfinition de l’orientation à prendre, face à l’évolution de notre contexte de gestion, nous avons rationalisé et perfectionné notre processus d’enquête en 2008–2009 de manière à en maximiser l’efficacité. Nous nous sommes ensuite attelés à la tâche de déterminer comment, étant donné nos ressources, nous pouvions encourager au mieux les institutions fédérales à se conformer à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, et à être de plus en plus responsables et transparentes.

Le chapitre 1 du présent rapport annuel contient les faits saillants de notre travail en 2008–2009.

Le chapitre 2 présente notre nouveau modèle de gestion. Il explique comment nous avons ajusté notre processus d’enquête de manière à en maximiser l’efficacité et la rapidité, tout en terminant le traitement des dossiers des exercices précédents. Le chapitre explique également la voie que nous avons prise, et les outils que nous utilisons, pour élargir l’influence de nos constatations, de nos actions et de notre expertise.

Le chapitre 3 fournit un compte rendu détaillé de notre rendement en matière d’enquêtes en 2008–2009, y compris les chiffres, graphiques et points saillants. Il fait également état de quelques enquêtes dignes de mention.

Le chapitre 4 porte sur la façon dont nous abordons les problèmes de rendement et les questions systémiques. Il passe brièvement en revue les résultats de notre dernier processus d’élaboration des fiches de rendement et renferme un compte rendu de deux récentes enquêtes systémiques.

Le chapitre 5 présente certaines causes importantes dans lesquelles le commissaire à l’information est intervenu ou qui ont soulevé des questions juridiques et constitutionnelles intéressantes relativement à l’accès à l’information. Ces causes servent à mettre en évidence la position du commissaire sur différentes questions afin d’assurer la plus grande transparence et le meilleur encadrement possible à tous les intervenants.

Nos recommandations relatives à la modernisation et au renforcement de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information font l’objet duchapitre 6. Le commissaire à l’information a présenté ces recommandations au Comité permanent de la Chambre des communes sur l’accès à l’information, la protection des renseignements personnels et l’éthique en mars 2009 dans le cadre de nos efforts pour communiquer au gouvernement l’urgence de ces changements.

Les chapitres 7 à 9 expliquent nos stratégies internes en matière de gestion et de technologie de l’information, de communication, et de ressources financières et humaines. Ces stratégies visent à nous assurer les ressources, compétences et outils appropriés pour nous acquitter de notre mandat de la façon la plus efficiente tout en fournissant un excellent service à la clientèle. Le chapitre 7 inclut également notre propre fiche de rendement sur la façon dont nous avons traité les demandes de communication que nous avons reçues en 2008–2009.

Enfin, le chapitre 10 porte sur l’avenir – sur la façon dont nous ferons le suivi de nos engagements et de ceux des institutions, et la façon dont nous renforcerons notre capacité organisationnelle ainsi que nos relations avec nos partenaires et les intervenants.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant