Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Strengthening capacity and accountability

The progress we made in 2008–2009 on enhancing internal operations has set the stage for the broader, more far-reaching work we will do in the year ahead. To achieve optimal efficiency and timeliness, we will monitor the performance of our new investigative process, taking into account, among other things, the results of an internal audit which is being conducted at the Commissioner’s request.

We will continue to renew and upgrade our information management technology and practices. This will give investigators more effective tools to meet workload targets, deliver on our access to information and privacy responsibilities, and provide top-notch service to Canadians.

We will also focus on recruiting, training and retaining skilled and versatile employees to ensure we have the appropriate human resource capacity to effectively deliver on our mandate. In particular, we need to address the shortage of investigators to avoid this becoming an obstacle to meeting our performance targets over the next several years.

Finally, we will review the management controls that are in place throughout the organization and develop new ones to ensure sound governance and increased accountability in existing and new areas of responsibility.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Renforcement de la capacité et de la responsabilité

L’amélioration de nos méthodes de travail en 2008–2009 a préparé le terrain pour les tâches de plus grande envergure qui nous attendent au cours du prochain exercice. Pour atteindre une efficacité et une rapidité optimales, nous évaluerons le rendement de notre nouveau processus d’enquête, en tenant compte notamment des résultats de la vérification interne demandée par le commissaire.

Nous continuerons à perfectionner nos pratiques et notre technologie de gestion de l’information. Les enquêteurs disposeront ainsi d’outils plus efficaces pour atteindre leurs objectifs de rendement, s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection de la vie privée et offrir un excellent service aux Canadiens.

Nous investirons aussi des efforts dans le recrutement, la formation et le maintien en poste d’un personnel qualifié et polyvalent afin de nous assurer les ressources humaines nécessaires pour mener à bien notre mandat. Nous devons notamment trouver des solutions à la pénurie actuelle d’enquêteurs pour éviter que cette situation nous empêche d’atteindre nos objectifs de rendement au cours des prochains exercices.

Enfin, nous examinerons les contrôles de gestion qui sont en place au sein du Commissariat et en élaborerons de nouveaux pour garantir une saine gouvernance et une responsabilité accrue dans tous les secteurs de responsabilité.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant