Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Internal audit

To comply with the Treasury Board Policy on Internal Audit, we created an audit function two years ago. In 2008–2009, we hired a firm to provide internal audit services and secured the services of two external members to sit on our audit committee, of which the Information Commissioner is a member. To date, three audit committee meetings have been held, and the committee has approved an audit committee charter, internal audit charter and risk-based audit plan. 14

14 Information about internal audit is available at this link

The following are the key risks identified:

  • effectiveness of our new and existing investigative processes, particularly to address the inventory of older cases;
  • ability to recruit and retain staff;
  • effectiveness of our information management/information technology processes and tools;
  • ability to respond to access requests; and
  • ability to comply with federal regulations and policies.

The objective of our internal audits is to provide “just-in-time” feedback on new and maturing processes, thereby enabling corrective action. Accordingly, the audit committee recommended, based on the identified risks, that we undertake an internal audit of the intake and early resolution of new complaints during 2008–2009. The results of the audit will be available on our website as they become available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Vérification interne

Pour nous conformer à la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la vérification interne, nous avons créé une fonction de vérification il y a deux ans. En 2008–2009, nous avons retenu les services d’une entreprise offrant des services de vérification interne et engagé deux personnes de l’externe pour siéger à notre comité de vérification, dont est membre le commissaire à l’information. À ce jour, le comité s’est réuni à trois reprises, pour approuver la charte du comité, une charte de vérification interne et un plan de vérification fondé sur le risque.14

Les principaux risques cernés concernent les aspects suivants :

  • efficacité de nos processus d’enquête, notamment pour éliminer l’arriéré de plaintes;
  • capacité de recruter et de maintenir en poste un personnel qualifié;
  • efficacité des processus et des outils de gestion de l’information et de technologie de l’information;
  • capacité de répondre aux demandes de communication;
  • capacité de nous conformer aux règlements et aux politiques fédérales.

La vérification interne a pour but de faire le point, de façon opportune, sur les processus en place ou nouveaux afin d’y apporter rapidement les mesures correctives nécessaires. Vu nos risques, le comité de vérification nous a recommandé d’entreprendre en 2008–2009 la vérification de nos méthodes de réception et de règlement rapide des plaintes. Les résultats de cette vérification seront publiés sur notre site Web lorsqu’ils seront disponibles.

14 Pour plus d’information sur la vérification interne, voir abu-ans_cor-inf-inf-cor_int-aud-ver-int.aspx



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant