Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

International activities

In support of our priorities, we participate in various international activities, with the following goals:

  • to contribute to the development of access to information legislation and policy internationally;
  • to learn from our counterparts on best practices and new developments; and
  • to explain how we approach freedom of information in Canada.

Of note during 2008–2009, we sent a letter to the Chairman of the Council of Europe’s Committee of Ministers to comment on the proposed Convention on Access to Official Documents.13 Based on Canada’s experience with access legislation, we recommended strengthening the Convention to foster a culture of openness in public institutions.

We participated in conferences and meetings in Mexico, England and Scotland. We also met with parliamentary and government officials of Barbados and Grenada to share information on Canada’s experience and best practices in the area of access to information, and to offer advice on compliance models as they develop freedom of information legislation.

13 See http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/rtk-mov_mov-rtk_int-eff_eff-int.aspx



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Activités internationales

Pour appuyer nos priorités, nous avons participé à diverses activités internationales afin :

  • de contribuer à l’élaboration de lois et de politiques sur l’accès à l’information à l’étranger;
  • d’en apprendre davantage sur les pratiques exemplaires et les derniers développements en matière d’accès à l’information;
  • d’expliquer la conception canadienne du droit d’accès à l’information.

En 2008–2009, nous avons envoyé une lettre au président du Comité des ministres du Conseil de l’Europe concernant le projet de convention sur l’accès aux documents officiels.13 À la lumière de l’expérience canadienne en matière de droit d’accès à l’information, nous avons recommandé de renforcer la convention pour favoriser une culture de transparence au sein des institutions publiques.

Nous avons participé à des conférences et à des réunions au Mexique, en Angleterre et en Écosse. Nous avons aussi rencontré des parlementaires et des représentants officiels de la Barbade et de la Grenade, qui travaillent à l’élaboration de lois sur l’accès à l’information. Nous avons discuté avec eux de l’expérience canadienne et des pratiques exemplaires dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information, et leur avons donné des conseils sur les modèles de conformité.

13 Voir le lien suivant :www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/rtk-mov_mov-rtk_int-eff_eff-int-2008-information_commissioner_supports_the_council_of_europes_convention_on_access_to_official_documents.aspx


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant