Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Complaints and investigations

Under the Access to Information Act, anyone who makes a request for information to a federal institution and is dissatisfied with the response or the way it was handled has the right to complain to us.

One common reason for complaints is the time it takes an institution to respond to a request. Federal institutions have 30 days to do so but they may extend that time for a number of reasons—for example, when they have to search a large number of records, consult other federal institutions or notify third parties—and they must notify requesters of these extensions within the initial 30 days. Requesters may file complaints about this notice, about the length of extensions or because they feel, generally, that the process is taking too long.

We receive complaints that fall into three broad categories:

Administrative complaints

  • Extensions: The institution extended the time it required to process the request.
  • Delays: The institution failed to provide access to the information within the time limit set out in the Act.
  • Fees: The fee the institution proposed to charge was unreasonable.
  • Miscellaneous complaints, including the following:
    • Access to records: The institution did not give the requester an opportunity to examine the information.
    • Official language of choice: The institution did not provide the information in the requester’s official language of choice.
    • Alternative format: The institution did not provide the information in an alternative format that a person with a sensory disability could use.
    • Other matters: This includes complaints about any other matter relating to requesting or obtaining access to records under the Act.

Refusal complaints

  • Exemptions: The institution withheld the records under specific provisions of the Act, for instance: the information was obtained in confidence from foreign governments; the information relates to the safety of individuals, national security or commercial interests; the records contain personal information; or the information will be published within the next 90 days.
  • No records: The institution found no documents relevant to the request.
  • Incomplete response: The institution did not provide all the information it was required to release that matched the request.
  • Excluded information: The institution did not disclose information that is excluded from the Act, such as publications, library or museum material.

Cabinet confidence exclusion complaints

  • Access to records refused: The institution did not disclose a document that contains a Cabinet confidence, which is excluded from the Act. The Commissioner cannot review such records.

The Act requires that we investigate all the complaints we receive and that those investigations be thorough, unbiased and conducted in private. Although there is no deadline in the law for when we must complete our investigations, we strive to carry them out as quickly as possible.

The Commissioner has strong investigative powers. However, the Commissioner may not order a complaint to be resolved in a particular way, relying instead on persuasion to settle disputes. When an institution does not follow a recommendation on disclosure of information, the Information Commissioner can, with the consent of the complainant, ask for a review by the Federal Court of Canada.




Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Plaintes et enquêtes

En vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, toute personne qui demande de l’information à une institution fédérale et qui n’est pas satisfaite de la réponse, ou de la façon dont la demande a été traitée, peut porter plainte auprès du Commissariat.

Le temps qu’il faut à une institution pour traiter une demande est un motif fréquent de plainte. Les institutions fédérales ont 30 jours pour traiter une demande, mais peuvent proroger ce délai pour un certain nombre de raisons – par exemple, lorsqu’elles doivent examiner un grand nombre de documents, consulter d’autres institutions fédérales ou informer des tiers. Elles doivent toutefois informer les demandeurs de toute prorogation avant la fin du délai initial de 30 jours. Les demandeurs peuvent porter plainte à l’égard de l’avis de prorogation, de la durée de celle-ci, ou encore parce qu’ils estiment que, de façon générale, le processus prend trop de temps. 

Les plaintes que nous recevons se répartissent en trois grandes catégories comme suit.

Plaintes administratives

  • Prorogations : L’institution a prolongé le temps dont elle a besoin pour traiter la demande.
  • Retards : L’institution n’a pas communiqué l’information dans les délais prévus par la Loi.
  • Frais à acquitter : Les frais exigés par l’institution étaient déraisonnables.
  • Plaintes diverses, dont les suivantes :
    • Accès aux documents : L’institution n’a pas donné au demandeur la possibilité d’examiner l’information.
    • Langue officielle : L’institution n’a pas fourni l’information dans la langue officielle demandée.
    • Média substitut : L’institution n’a pas fourni l’information sous une forme qu’une personne ayant un handicap sensoriel peut utiliser.
    • Autres motifs : Incluent les plaintes sur toute autre question liée à la demande ou à l’obtention d’information en vertu de la Loi.

Plaintes de refus

Exceptions : L’institution a soustrait de la communication les documents demandés en vertu de dispositions précises de la Loi, par exemple : l’information a été fournie à titre confidentiel par des gouvernements étrangers; l’information concerne la sécurité de personnes, la sécurité nationale ou des intérêts commerciaux; les documents contiennent des renseignements personnels; l’information sera publiée dans les 90 jours à venir.

Aucun document : L’institution n’a pas trouvé de documents relatifs à la demande.

Réponse incomplète : L’institution n’a pas fourni toute l’information qu’elle devait communiquer relativement à la demande.

Information exclue : L’institution n’a pas divulgué de l’information qui est exclue de l’application de la Loi, comme des publications, ou des documents de bibliothèque ou de musée.

Plaintes relatives aux exclusions applicables aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet

  • Accès aux documents refusé : L’institution n’a pas communiqué un document qui contient de l’information confidentielle du Cabinet, car la Loi ne s’applique pas à ce type de documents. Le commissaire ne peut d’ailleurs pas examiner de tels documents.

En vertu de la Loi, nous devons enquêter sur toutes les plaintes que nous recevons, et les enquêtes doivent être approfondies, impartiales et menées en privé. Même si la Loi ne prévoit pas de délais pour terminer nos enquêtes, nous nous efforçons de mener celles-ci le plus rapidement possible.

Le commissaire est investi de vastes pouvoirs d’enquête. Cependant, il ne peut pas ordonner le règlement d’une plainte de telle ou telle façon et doit plutôt faire appel à la persuasion pour le règlement des différends. Lorsqu’une institution ne donne pas suite à sa recommandation de communiquer de l’information, le commissaire peut, avec le consentement du plaignant, demander à la Cour fédérale du Canada de procéder à une révision de la décision de l’institution.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant