Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Parliamentary relations

As an officer of Parliament, the Commissioner enjoys a special rapport with Parliament. Parliamentarians rely on the Commissioner for objective advice about the need for legislative reform and, more generally, about implications of legislation, jurisprudence, regulations and policies on Canadians’ right to access government information. In addition, the Commissioner must account for the administration of his office on an annual basis. He made the following appearances before Parliament in 2008–2009:

  • appearance before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in April 2008 to discuss our spending estimates for the year;
  • two appearances before the same committee in March 2009 to discuss our 2007–2008 annual report and future business, our most recent report cards process (see Chapter 4), as well as reform of the Access to Information Act (see Chapter 6); and
  • appearance before the Advisory Panel on the Funding and Oversight of Officers of Parliament in March 2009 to present our review of resources and to seek the required funding for us to deliver on our mandate (see Chapter 9).

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Relations parlementaires

En tant que haut fonctionnaire du Parlement, le commissaire entretient une relation privilégiée avec les parlementaires. En effet, ceux-ci attendent de lui un avis objectif sur la nécessité de modifier la Loi et, plus généralement, sur l’incidence de la législation, de la jurisprudence, des règlements et des politiques sur le droit d’accès des Canadiens à l’information détenue par les institutions fédérales. De plus, le commissaire rend compte chaque année de l’administration du Commissariat devant le Parlement. En 2008–2009, il a comparu :

  • devant le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique de la Chambre des communes, en avril 2008, au sujet des prévisions de dépenses du Commissariat pour l’exercice en cours;
  • devant le même comité, à deux reprises en mars 2009, au sujet du rapport annuel 2007–2008 et des activités à venir du Commissariat, des fiches de rendement (voir chapitre 4) et de la réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (voir chapitre 6);
  • devant le Comité consultatif sur le financement et la surveillance des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, en mars 2009, pour présenter l’examen de nos ressources et demander les fonds nécessaires à l’exécution de notre mandat (voir chapitre 9).

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant