Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Advice and consultations

In 2008–2009, we took part in the development of the Treasury Board Secretariat’s directive on access to information, with the aim of specifically addressing the duty to assist provision of the Access to Information Act. This provision explicitly requires all institutions to help requesters find the information they seek.

We also worked with other officers of Parliament to put forward our perspective on Treasury Board Secretariat policies. These policies were developed for federal departments and agencies and do not always accommodate the unique roles of independent officers of Parliament.

Finally, we consulted a group of directors of access to information on how best to categorize the results of our investigations. Until now, we have simply categorized complaints as being resolved, not resolved, substantiated or not substantiated. We committed to reviewing this practice, after receiving feedback during the report cards process, in order to provide a more precise picture of institutional compliance.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Conseils et consultations

En 2008–2009, nous avons contribué à l’élaboration de la directive du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor sur l’accès à l’information, dans le but d’y traiter de l’obligation de prêter assistance. Cette disposition de la Loi énonce clairement que les institutions doivent aider les demandeurs à trouver l’information qu’ils cherchent.

Nous avons également travaillé avec d’autres hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement pour faire valoir notre point de vue sur les politiques du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Élaborées pour les ministères et organismes fédéraux, ces politiques ne tiennent pas toujours compte du rôle particulier et indépendant que jouent les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement.

Enfin, nous avons consulté des directeurs de l’accès à l’information concernant la meilleure façon de catégoriser le résultat de nos enquêtes. Jusqu’à présent, nous utilisions les catégories suivantes : plainte réglée, non réglée, fondée ou non fondée. Nous nous sommes engagés à réexaminer cette pratique en fonction des commentaires reçus pendant le processus d’élaboration des fiches de rendement, afin de brosser un portrait plus juste de l’observation de la Loi par les institutions.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant