Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 
Previous   Table of contents   Next

Communications and special events

In 2008–2009, we continued to increase the quantity and quality of information about our work that we publish on our website.11 We have also started to redesign our website, to ensure it better meets the needs of our users and the general public, and to accommodate greater proactive disclosure. We developed a new brochure on the Office of the Information Commissioner and made considerable efforts to raise awareness about our agenda and activities. The wide interest that our reports to Parliament and news releases generated this year demonstrates our success in this area.

Canada’s Right to Know Week—which coincides with International Right to Know Day—celebrates the fundamental human right of access to information, and provides an opportunity for citizens to campaign for open, democratic government. In 2008–2009, we collaborated with the provinces and territories to create a dedicated website that features all the activities taking place across the country during the Right to Know Week.12 This communication and learning tool also provides background information on freedom of information worldwide and in Canada.

As part of last year’s celebrations, we organized a number of events, including a national seminar and a panel discussion on the various meanings of “right to know.” The discussion served to remind participants that even today access to information is often a matter of life or death in many corners of the world. Our assistant commissioners visited various regions of the country to share perspectives and ideas about how to raise awareness of access to information.

In 2008–2009, Rick Snell, a law professor from the University of Tasmania, gave an excellent presentation on Australia’s and New Zealand’s efforts to create a next-generation access to information law.

11 See http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/

12 See http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/rtk-dai-eng/

 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Communications et événements spéciaux

En 2008–2009, nous avons augmenté la quantité et la qualité de l’information sur nos travaux que nous publions sur le Web. 11 Nous avons aussi entrepris de remanier notre site pour qu’il réponde mieux aux besoins des utilisateurs et du grand public, et pour favoriser une plus grande divulgation proactive. Nous avons produit un nouveau dépliant sur le Commissariat à l’information et avons déployé des efforts considérables pour communiquer notre mission et nos activités. L’intérêt suscité par nos rapports au Parlement et par nos communiqués témoigne de notre réussite à ce chapitre.

La Semaine canadienne du droit à l’information, qui coïncide avec la Journée internationale du droit à l’information, célèbre un droit fondamental, celui de l’accès à l’information détenue par les institutions fédérales. À cette occasion, les citoyens sont invités à militer en faveur d’un État transparent et démocratique. En 2008–2009, nous avons créé, de concert avec les provinces et les territoires, un site Web12 qui sert à recenser toutes les activités se déroulant au pays pendant la Semaine du droit à l’information. Cet outil de communication et d’apprentissage fournit également de l’information générale sur l’accès à l’information au Canada et à l’étranger.

L’an passé, dans le cadre de ces célébrations, nous avons organisé un certain nombre d’activités, notamment une conférence nationale et une discussion sur la signification du « droit à l’information ». La discussion visait à rappeler aux participants que l’accès à l’information est souvent, même de nos jours, une question de vie ou de mort dans de nombreuses régions du monde. Les commissaires adjointes se sont rendues dans différentes régions du pays pour échanger des idées sur la sensibilisation à l’accès à l’information.

En 2008–2009, Rick Snell, professeur de droit à l’Université de Tasmanie, a fait une excellente présentation sur les efforts de modernisation de la législation sur l’accès à l’information en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande. Le milieu de l’accès à l’information, nos homologues provinciaux, les journalistes et les fonctionnaires ont pu suivre cette présentation sur le Web.

11 Voir le lien suivant : www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra

12 Voir le lien suivant :http://www.righttoknow.ca


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant