Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Complaints to the Information Commissioner ad hoc

The amendments to the Access to Information Act that made our organization subject to the Act, following the adoption of the 2007 Federal Accountability Act, did not set out how complaints against us were to be handled. To ensure requesters have the right to voice their concerns and to make complaints, the Information Commissioner appointed an independent Commissioner ad hoc to investigate these complaints independently of our office. The Honourable W. Andrew MacKay became the Information Commissioner ad hoc in May 2008, succeeding the Honourable Peter de C. Cory, who established the guiding principles and functioning of the Office of the Information Commissioner ad hoc.

This year, we were notified of 13 complaints about our handling of access requests. The reasons for those complaints were: withholding of information (11) and length of extensions (2).

Mr. MacKay is a former judge of the Federal Court of Canada and a distinguished jurist. He was admitted to the Bar of Nova Scotia in 1954 and appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1972. He studied at Harvard University and at Dalhousie University, where from 1957 to 1988, he held various positions, including Professor and Dean of the Law School, Vice-President, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University. From 1967 to 1986, he was Chair of the Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission and was the Ombudsman for Nova Scotia from 1986 to 1988. He was appointed Judge of the Federal Court of Canada, Trial Division, ex-officio member of the Court of Appeal and Judge of the Court Martial Appeal Court of Canada in 1988. After retiring as a Judge in 2004, Mr. MacKay served as Deputy Judge of the Federal Court from 2004 to December 2007.

The Commissioner ad hoc closed seven complaints during 2008–2009, declaring six of them to be not substantiated. One was resolved by the release of further information and six were carried over to 2009–2010. Appendix 1 contains the report of the Information Commissioner ad hoc for 2008–2009.




Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Plaintes au commissaire à l’information ad hoc

Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information qui ont fait en sorte que notre organisme est devenu assujetti à la Loi, par suite de l’adoption de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilitéde 2007, n’indiquaient pas la façon dont allaient être gérées les plaintes à notre endroit. Pour s’assurer que les demandeurs aient le droit d’exprimer leurs préoccupations et de porter plainte, le commissaire à l’information a désigné un commissaire indépendant ad hoc qui fait enquête sur ces plaintes en toute indépendance du Commissariat. En mai 2008, l’honorable W. Andrew MacKay devenait commissaire à l’information ad hoc, prenant la relève de l’honorable Peter de C. Cory, qui a établi les principes directeurs et le fonctionnement du Commissariat à l’information ad hoc.

Ancien juge de la Cour fédérale du Canada et éminent juriste, M. MacKay a été admis au Barreau de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1954 et nommé conseiller de la Reine en 1972. Il a fait ses études aux universités Dalhousie et Harvard. De 1957 à 1988, il a occupé plusieurs fonctions à l’Université de Dalhousie, d’abord comme professeur et doyen de la faculté de droit, puis comme vice-président, président et vice-chancelier. Il a été président de la Commission des droits de la personne de la Nouvelle-Écosse de 1967 à 1986, puis protecteur du citoyen pour la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse de 1986 à 1988. En 1988, il a été nommé juge à la Cour fédérale, section de première instance, membre de droit de la Cour d’appel et de la Cour d’appel de la cour martiale du Canada. Après sa retraite en 2004, il est demeuré juge suppléant de la Cour fédérale jusqu’en décembre 2007.

Au cours du présent exercice, nous avons appris qu’il y avait eu 13 plaintes concernant notre traitement des demandes de communication. Les motifs de ces plaintes concernaient le retranchement d’information (11) et la durée des prorogations (2).

En 2008–2009, le commissaire ad hoc a mené à terme les enquêtes sur sept plaintes, déclarant que six d’entre elles n’étaient pas fondées. Une autre a été réglée par la communication d’éléments d’information supplémentaires, et six ont été reportées à 2009–2010. L’annexe 1 contient le rapport du commissaire à l’information ad hoc pour 2008–2009.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant