Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Records management

Since the Office of the Information Commissioner was founded in 1983, we have conducted thousands of investigations. Over the years, the volume of files associated with closed investigations increased to the point that we had to take decisive action to manage the overwhelming quantity of paper records. In 2008–2009, we developed our first Records Disposition Authority to determine how long we should keep present and future paper and electronic records created by investigators.

We also increased the capacity of our records section, in anticipation of the work we will have to do to develop and implement an institutional information management framework. Specifically, we created the positions of Manager, Information Management, and Manager, Records, to develop and maintain critical elements of an IM framework, such as a universal classification system, business rules and a concept of operations, as well as additional disposition authorities to cover all institutional records.





Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Gestion des documents

Depuis la création du Commissariat à l’information en 1983, nous avons mené des milliers d’enquêtes. Au fil des ans, le volume de dossiers liés aux enquêtes terminées s’est accru au point qu’il nous a fallu prendre des mesures décisives pour gérer la quantité considérable de documents sur support papier. En 2008–2009, nous avons élaboré notre première « Autorisation de disposer de documents » dans le but de préciser la durée pendant laquelle nous devons conserver les documents tant imprimés qu’électroniques, actuels et futurs, qui sont produits par les enquêteurs.

Nous avons aussi accru la capacité de notre section des documents en prévision du travail qu’il nous faudra faire pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre un cadre institutionnel de gestion de l’information. Plus précisément, nous avons créé les postes de gestionnaire, Gestion de l’information, et de gestionnaire, Documents, pour élaborer et tenir à jour les éléments cruciaux d’un cadre de GI, comme un système de classification universel, des règles administratives, un concept d’opérations, ainsi que d’autres autorisations de disposer applicables à d’autres types de documents institutionnels.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant