Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Systemic investigations

In 2008–2009, we did considerable work on two other systemic investigations. One resulted from a complaint from the Canadian Newspaper Association and the other focused on the Coordination of Access to Information Requests System.

Do secret rules lead to delays?

In September 2008, we published the findings of an investigation into allegations by the Canadian Newspaper Association (CNA) that federal institutions were applying secret rules for processing media requests for records under the Access to Information Act.5 The CNA suggested that these rules resulted in systematic discrimination and unjustifiable delays in the processing of media requests.

We first sought to find out whether institutions treated access requests from the media according to secret rules or subjected them to some other form of systematic discrimination. We also examined whether the media’s requests were unfairly and unjustifiably delayed. Our investigation looked at the period from April 1, 2003, to March 31, 2005.

Although we were unable to conclude that secret rules existed or that systematic government-wide discrimination against the media took place, we found that institutions that label access requests as “sensitive,” “of interest” or “amber light,” or with some other marker indicating special handling, tend to delay requests for unacceptably long periods. We also found that the media are not the only ones to encounter such delays. Requests from parliamentarians, organizations, academics and lawyers are also delayed.

4 For example, Citizenship and Immigration Canada received 11,434 requests in 2007–2008, which represents 37 percent of all access to information requests received in Canada. It only extended 6 percent of these requests.

5 For more information, go to inv-inv_sys-inv_enq-sys_cna.aspx

To resolve the CNA complaint, we made three recommendations (see box). The President of the Treasury Board and the heads of all 21 institutions investigated agreed to follow our recommendations.6 We also followed up with the institutions in early 2009, which elicited various replies.

Recommendations
  • Subject to section 9 of the Act, any government institution that categorizes or labels access requests in any way that may lead to any form of special handling shall undertake not to delay the processing of these requests.

  • The President of the Treasury Board shall undertake a study of how the institutions that categorize or label access requests for special handling with no detriment to the timely processing of access requests, organize the process, with a view to issuing best practices to all government institutions.

  • The Treasury Board Secretariat, as of 2009–2010, shall start to collect statistics from all government institutions to allow the monitoring of this system of categorization of access requests and how it affects response times.

Some institutions stated once again that they do not label requests for special handling. Others confirmed that although they do label requests, this does not delay the disclosure of information.

Two institutions clearly demonstrated their commitment to avoid delays. Citizenship and Immigration Canada reviewed their processes and eliminated several review and approval stages. Delegation of authority was assigned at various levels within the access to information unit to expedite decision making. The institution is also conducting audits and analyses of late files to develop strategies to identify any deficiencies and improve compliance. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada conducted an audit and was able to confirm that the “preparation of any communications package does not delay the release date to the applicant, the request is finalized whether Communications has completed its communications package or not.” By contrast, Health Canada has implemented solutions that will only decrease or reduce delays. This means that the institution will continue to fail to meet legal deadlines for its “highly sensitive” files. We intend to follow up with Health Canada in 2009-2010.

The Treasury Board Secretariat is working on publishing a list of best practices and is reviewing its collection of government-wide statistics to incorporate data that will facilitate determining how the categorization of access requests affects response times.

6 See Appendix A of our findings, at inv-inv_sys-inv_enq-sys_cna.aspx

In our opinion, there is nothing inherently wrong with labelling access requests as “sensitive,” “of interest” or “amber light,” or with some other marker indicating special handling. However, if federal institutions choose to handle certain access requests in a special way, the following suggestions should prevent delays in releasing information.
  • Special handling of access requests should not create additional layers of approval. Not only does this situation run the risk of causing delay, it may also impede on the authority delegated to the access to information director. There is evidence that, even though access to information directors have delegated authority, senior officials override it.

  • Content of the request should be the only factor considered in labeling a request for special handling. Institutions should not discriminate according to the requester or source of the request.

  • The institution should narrowly define categories of requests deemed of interest so that they represent the exception rather than the norm.

  • The source of the access request should not be identified outside of the Access to Information Office unless the information is necessary to locate records.

  • It should be clear that communications requirements such as the preparation of a communication plan or media lines must not delay the release of the records.

  • It should also be clear that records should be forwarded to the requester as soon as processing has been completed since timely disclosure can result in releasing information prior to statutory deadlines.

We will continue to monitor the situation. We could decide to investigate the issue further if institutions do not improve their practices in this area.

Because Canadians care…

At year-end, we were in the final stages of completing our investigation into complaints filed as a result of the Treasury Board Secretariat’s decision to no longer require institutions to update the Coordinated Access to Information Request System (CAIRS). The investigation will determine whether the public’s right to know has been adversely affected by this decision.

The discontinuance of CAIRS elicited considerable negative response. The decision was cited in the media as another example of the government’s lack of commitment to openness and transparency. Regular users of the system demanded that the system be restored. In its Sixth Report to Parliament, presented to the House on May 7, 2008, the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics deplored the discontinuance of CAIRS, and demanded that it be reinstated and made widely accessible free of charge, as a tool to promote transparency and accountability.7

We will issue the findings of our investigation in 2009-2010.

7 For more information, go to http://www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=3471409&Language=E&Mode=1&Parl=39&Ses=2




Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Enquêtes systémiques

En 2008–2009, nous avons investi des efforts considérables dans deux autres enquêtes systémiques. L’une découlait d’une plainte de l’Association canadienne des journaux et l’autre portait sur le Système de coordination des demandes d'accès à l'information.

Les retards sont-ils dus à l’existence de règles secrètes?

En septembre 2008, nous avons publié les conclusions d’une enquête sur des allégations de l’Association canadienne des journaux selon lesquelles les institutions fédérales appliquaient des règles secrètes pour traiter les demandes d’accès aux documents que présentent les médias en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.5 L’Association estimait que ces règles avaient engendré de la discrimination et des retards injustifiables dans le traitement des demandes des médias.

Nous avons d’abord cherché à savoir si les institutions traitaient les demandes de communication des médias selon des règles secrètes ou les soumettaient à une forme quelconque de discrimination systématique. Nous avons également examiné si on retardait de manière injuste et injustifiable les demandes des médias. Notre enquête portait sur la période allant du 1er avril 2003 au 31 mars 2005.

Nous n’avons pas été en mesure de conclure qu’il existait des règles secrètes ou une discrimination généralisée contre les médias. Par contre, nous avons constaté que les institutions qui étiquettent les demandes de communication comme étant « délicates », « d’intérêt » ou « feu jaune », ou leur accordent une autre étiquette entraînant un traitement particulier, ont tendance à retarder les réponses de façon indue. Nous avons également appris que les médias ne sont pas les seuls à subir de tels retards. Il en va de même pour les parlementaires, les organismes, les universités et les cabinets d’avocats.

Pour résoudre la plainte de l’Association, nous avons formulé trois recommandations (voir l’encadré). Le président du Conseil du Trésor et les responsables des 21 institutions visées par l’enquête ont accepté d’appliquer nos recommandations.6 Nous avons également fait un suivi auprès des institutions au début de 2009, ce qui a suscité diverses réponses.

4 For example, Citizenship and Immigration Canada received 11,434 requests in 2007–2008, which represents 37 percent of all access to information requests received in Canada. It only extended 6 percent of these requests.

5 Pour plus d’information, voir le lien suivant : http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/inv-inv_sys-inv_enq-sys_cna.aspx


Haut de la page



Recommandations 

  • Que, conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi, les institutions fédérales qui classifient ou étiquettent les demandes de communication de quelque façon que ce soit et dont la classification en question est susceptible de mener à un traitement spécial, s’engagent à ne pas retarder le traitement des demandes en question.
  • Que le président du Conseil du Trésor mène une revue sur la façon dont les institutions qui classifient ou étiquettent les demandes de communication en vue d’un traitement particulier, sans que cela n’entrave un traitement rapide des demandes, organisent le processus dans le but de fournir des pratiques exemplaires à toutes les institutions fédérales.
  • Que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor commence dès l’exercice 2009–2010 à recueillir des statistiques de toutes les institutions fédérales qui permettront de surveiller ce système de classification des demandes de communication et d’évaluer son incidence sur le délai de réponse.

Certaines institutions ont répété qu’elles n’étiquetaient pas les demandes en vue d’en faire un traitement spécial. D’autres ont confirmé que, bien qu’elles étiquettent les demandes, cette pratique ne retarde en rien la communication de l’information.

Deux institutions ont clairement démontré leur volonté d’éviter les retards. Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada a révisé ses processus et éliminé plusieurs étapes d’examen et d’approbation. Le pouvoir a été délégué à divers échelons au sein du bureau de l’accès à l’information pour accélérer le processus décisionnel. L’institution mène également des vérifications et des analyses des dossiers en retard pour élaborer des stratégies visant à cerner les lacunes et à améliorer la conformité. Affaires indiennes et du Nord a réalisé une vérification et a pu confirmer que la préparation d’une trousse de communication ne retarde pas la date de transmission de l’information au demandeur, que la demande est menée à terme peu importe si l’équipe des communications a terminé ou non la trousse en question. En revanche, Santé Canada a mis en œuvre des solutions qui ne feront que diminuer les retards. En d’autres mots, l’institution continuera de ne pas respecter les délais prescrits dans le cas de ses dossiers « très délicats ». Nous entendons faire un suivi auprès de Santé Canada en 2009–2010.

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor se prépare à publier une liste de pratiques exemplaires. Il revoit également les statistiques gouvernementales qu’il recueille pour y intégrer des données qui permettront de déterminer plus facilement la manière dont la catégorisation des demandes de communication a une incidence sur le délai de réponse.

À notre avis, il n’y a pas de mal en soi à étiqueter des demandes de communication comme étant « délicates », « d’intérêt » ou « feu jaune », ou à leur accorder une autre étiquette entraînant un traitement particulier. Toutefois, si les institutions fédérales choisissent de gérer certaines demandes de communication de façon spéciale, les suggestions suivantes devraient prévenir les retards dans la communication de l’information.

  • Le traitement particulier des demandes de communication ne devrait pas engendrer des niveaux additionnels d’approbation. Une telle situation risque non seulement d’engendrer des retards, mais aussi peut faire entrave au pouvoir délégué au directeur de l’accès à l’information. Même si les directeurs de l’accès à l’information ont des pouvoirs délégués, il peut arriver que des cadres supérieurs en fassent fi.
  • Le contenu de la demande devrait être le seul facteur à prendre en considération au moment d’apposer une étiquette indiquant qu’elle mérite un traitement spécial. Les institutions ne devraient pas faire de discrimination en fonction du demandeur ou de la source de la demande.
  • L’institution devrait définir d’une manière restrictive les catégories de demandes jugées d’intérêt de manière à ce qu’elles représentent l’exception plutôt que la norme.
  • Il ne faudrait pas déterminer la source de la demande de communication à l’extérieur du bureau de l’accès à l’information à moins que la chose ne soit nécessaire pour repérer des documents.
  • Il faudrait clairement établir que les exigences liées aux communications, comme la préparation d’un plan de communication ou d’infocapsules, ne devraient pas retarder la transmission des documents.
  • Il faudrait aussi indiquer de façon claire qu’on devrait expédier les documents au demandeur dès le traitement terminé, puisqu’il est possible que cette étape prenne fin avant les délais réglementaires.

Nous continuerons de contrôler la situation. Nous pourrions décider d’approfondir l’enquête si les institutions n’améliorent pas leurs pratiques dans ce domaine.

Une mine de renseignements dont les Canadiens pourraient profiter

En fin d’exercice, nous nous trouvions aux dernières étapes de notre enquête sur des plaintes déposées par suite de la décision du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor de ne plus exiger des institutions qu’elles mettent à jour le Système de coordination des demandes d’accès à l’information (SCDAI). L’enquête déterminera si cette décision a causé préjudice au public et à son droit à l’information.

L’abandon du SCDAI a engendré beaucoup de réactions négatives. Les médias ont présenté cette décision comme étant un autre exemple du manque d’engagement du gouvernement envers l’ouverture et la transparence. Les utilisateurs réguliers du système ont demandé son rétablissement. Dans son Sixième rapport au Parlement présenté à la Chambre le 7 mai 2008, le Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique a déploré l’abandon du SCDAI et demandé qu’on le rétablisse en le rendant accessible gratuitement à grande échelle en tant qu’outil pour promouvoir la transparence et la responsabilisation. 7

Nous diffuserons les conclusions de notre enquête en 2009–2010.

7 Pour plus d’information, voir le lien suivant :www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=3471409&Language=F&Mode=1&Parl=39&Ses=2


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant