Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Identification of issues

Identifying systemic issues requires us to be aware of trends and recurring patterns in the access to information system. To gather information on these, we scan various sources, such as the complaints we receive, extension notices and written responses to our report cards. We combine that information with observations and conclusions drawn from our own experience and that of our stakeholders to look beyond the symptoms and understand the underlying problem.

An example: time extensions

Federal institutions must complete access to information requests within 30 days of receiving them or take a time extension. Institutions may only take extensions under the specific conditions described in section 9 of the Act. In addition, extensions must be for a reasonable period of time. The use and length of these extensions are not otherwise constrained.

Statistics prepared by the Treasury Board Secretariat for 2007–2008 give a sobering but not alarming picture of the use of extensions: overall, institutions extend 27 percent of requests.3 This fact runs counter to the evidence we found in our report cards process, analysis of the complaints we receive and feedback from stakeholders. We found that time extensions are becoming the norm rather than the exception.

Our data show that of all the complaints we received in 2008–2009, 52 percent were administrative ones, about time extensions, deemed refusals, fees and others. As the figure below illustrates, complaints about time extensions represent the largest proportion of administrative complaints. Moreover, a high ratio of administrative complaints is resolved with merit (see Figure 4 in Chapter 3).

3 For more information, go to www.infosource.gc.ca/bulletin/2009/b/bulletin-b03-eng.asp

Figure 1. Breakdown of administrative complaints, 2008–2009

Breakdown of administrative complaints, 2008-2009

The report cards process brought to light a disturbing trend toward the greater use of extensions and for longer periods of time. This increase could be the result of chronic understaffing of access to information units, deficiencies in records management, tactics to prevent deemed refusals or simply a weak compliance model with limited checks and balances.

Given the inconsistencies in the data available on extensions, we looked more closely at the

Treasury Board Secretariat statistics and found, controlling for extreme values, that around 40 percent of the remaining requests were extended.4 These statistics confirm what we have observed thus far: it takes longer to process access requests today than in previous years, in part because most extensions are for periods beyond 30 days.

As a result, we will closely monitor the notices that institutions have to submit to us about the time extensions they take over 30 days, and we will investigate the use and duration of time extensions.




Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Détermination des problèmes

Pour en arriver à cerner les problèmes systémiques, il nous faut être au fait des tendances et des schèmes répétitifs dans le système d’accès à l’information. Afin de recueillir les données pertinentes, nous analysons diverses sources, comme les plaintes que nous recevons, les avis de prorogation et les réponses écrites à nos fiches de rendement. Nous combinons ces données aux observations et conclusions tirées de notre propre expérience et de celle des intervenants pour aller au-delà des symptômes et comprendre les problèmes sous-jacents.

Exemple : les prorogations de délai

Les institutions fédérales doivent répondre aux demandes de communication dans les 30 jours après les avoir reçues ou demander une prorogation de délai. Les institutions ne peuvent demander des prorogations qu’en vertu des circonstances particulières décrites dans l’article 9 de la Loi. En outre, les prorogations doivent constituer un délai raisonnable. Il n’existe aucune autre contrainte quant au recours aux prorogations ou à leur durée.

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a préparé pour 2007–2008 des statistiques sur l’utilisation des prorogations qui donnent à réfléchir, sans pourtant être alarmantes : dans l’ensemble, les institutions prorogent le délai de réponse pour 27 p. 100 des demandes³. Cette constatation fait contraste avec les preuves que nous avons recueillies lors de l’élaboration de nos fiches de rendement, ou en analysant les plaintes reçues et la rétroaction des intervenants. Nous avons constaté que les prorogations deviennent la norme plutôt que l’exception.

Selon nos données, 52 p. 100 des plaintes que nous avons reçues en 2008–2009 étaient des plaintes administratives, concernant notamment des prorogations de délai, des présomptions de refus ou les frais exigés. Comme l’illustre la figure ci-dessous, les plaintes relatives aux prorogations de délai représentent la proportion la plus grande des plaintes administratives. En outre, un ratio élevé de plaintes administratives résolues sont fondées (voir figure 4, chapitre 3).

Répartition des plaintes admniistratives en 2008-2009

³ Pour plus d’information, voir le lien suivant :http://www.infosource.gc.ca/bulletin/2009/b/bulletin-b03-fra.asp

Figure 1. Répartition des plaintes administratives en 2008–2009

Le processus d’élaboration des fiches de rendement a mis en lumière une tendance troublante vers une utilisation accrue des prorogations et pour des délais de plus en plus longs. Une telle hausse pourrait être le résultat d’un sous-effectif chronique des bureaux de l’accès à l’information, de lacunes dans la gestion des documents, de stratégies pour prévenir les présomptions de refus ou simplement d’un modèle de conformité médiocre avec des freins et contrepoids limités.

Compte tenu des incohérences dans les données sur les prorogations, nous avons examiné plus étroitement les statistiques du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et constaté, par le biais d’un contrôle des valeurs extrêmes, qu’environ 40 p. 100 des demandes restantes avaient fait l’objet d’une prorogation. 4 Ces statistiques confirment ce que nous avons observé jusqu’ici : il faut plus de temps aujourd’hui pour traiter les demandes de communication qu’auparavant, en partie parce que la plupart des prorogations s’étirent sur plus de 30 jours.

Par conséquent, nous contrôlerons étroitement les avis que les institutions doivent nous présenter relativement aux prorogations de délai qui s’étirent sur plus de 30 jours, et nous ferons enquête sur l’utilisation et la durée de telles prorogations.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant