Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Facts and figures

Table 1 summarizes our caseload for 2008–2009 and compares it to the two previous years. It shows the extent of the challenge we were facing at the beginning of the year with a total of 2,293 cases carried over from the previous year. This carry over partially resulted from the surge in the number of new complaints we experienced in 2007–2008—an increase of more than 80 percent over the previous year—which has since remained roughly at the same level.

We also registered 2,018 new cases in 2008–2009. Despite this substantial workload and limited investigative resources, we were able to close 1,770 complaints in 2008–2009, compared to 1,381 complaints in 2007–2008.

More importantly, as suggested by Table 1, there are promising signs that, starting in August 2008, the implementation of our new investigative process has contributed to halting the growth of our inventory of ongoing cases.

Table 1. Summary of caseload, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

  2006–2007 2007–2008 2008–2009
Complaints received      
Complaints carried over from the previous year 1,453 1,420 2,293 *
New complaints 1,317 2,387 2,018
Complaints cancelled during the year 82 108 28 **
Complaints pending at year-end 1,420 2,318 * 2,513
       
Outcome of complaints      
Complaints discontinued during the year 449 108 652
Complaints completed during the year with findings 819 1,273 1,118
Total of complaints closed during the year 1, 268 1,381 1,770
       
Commissioner-initiated complaints      
Complaints carried over from the previous year 423 237 0
New complaints 393 0 1
Complaints closed during the year 579 237 0
Complaints pending at year-end 237 0 1
Report cards initiated during the year 17 10 ***
       

* Figure adjusted after year-end to avoid duplication – 25 complaints received at the end of March 2008 were registered at the beginning of April 2008.

** We stopped using the “cancelled” category in June 2008 when we set up our new intake process. These 28 complaints were cancelled before this change was made. In the past, a complaint was registered upon receipt and then cancelled after we determined that it was not valid under the Act (for example, it was made beyond the time allowed or the complainant withdrew or abandoned it before the investigation began). As of June 2008, we register a complaint once we review it and obtain, where necessary, sufficient information to determine that it is a valid complaint. A complaint that is found not to be valid is now treated as a general enquiry.

*** The 2007 -2008 report cards were completed during the following fiscal year and published in February 2009. 

Figure 1. Trends in the status at month end of the inventory of all active complaints, 2008–2009*

* The inventory includes one Commissioner-initiated complaint



New complaints in 2008–2009

As in previous years, the complaints we received in 2008–2009 fell into three broad categories: administrative complaints, refusal complaints and complaints related to exclusions for Cabinet confidences.

  • Administrative complaints generally pertain to time extensions or delays from institutions in responding to access requests, or to the fees they propose to charge.
  • Refusal complaints include cases of exemptions — where an institution withheld information under specific provisions of the Act —, incomplete responses or requests for which no relevant documentation was found.
  • Cabinet confidence exclusion complaints relate to situations where access to records was refused because they contain Cabinet confidences, which are excluded from the Act and which, consequently, institutions may not release.

Figure 2 sets out the complaints we registered in 2008–2009 according to these three categories. Of the 2,019 new complaints (2,018 complaints registered and one Commissioner-initiated complaint), 52 percent were administrative complaints—a relatively high percentage which demonstrates the persistence of system-wide or recurrent issues.

Figure 2. Types of complaints registered, 2008–2009

[image]

Table 2. New complaints in 2008–2009, by institution*

Institution Complaints
Canada Revenue Agency 302
National Defence 226
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation 221
Privy Council Office 198
Royal Canadian Mounted Police 106
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade 94
Industry Canada 79
Correctional Service Canada 60
Environment Canada 54
Transport Canada 52
Public Works and Government Services Canada 52
Citizenship and Immigration Canada 51
Canada Post Corporation 51
Health Canada 44
Telefilm Canada 39
Others (66 institutions) 390
Total 2,019

* Includes one Commissioner-initiated complaint

Processing and disposition of complaints

Figure 3 shows the turnaround times for the 1,770 complaints we closed in 2008–2009. The average for the year was 13 months. This is mainly due to the fact that the huge inventory contained a high number of files that were already several years old, which skewed the calculation of the turnaround times.

As we work to eradicate the old inventory and the new investigative process in place allows us to gain in efficiency, we expect to substantially shorten our average turnaround times next year. To this end, the upcoming results of an internal audit which the Information Commissioner has requested on our new intake and early resolution methods, will guide us in making further adjustments. Moreover, as pre-April 1, 2008 files are now dealt separately from the new caseload, our statistics next year will shed more light on the effectiveness of the investigative process on improving timeliness.

Figure 3. Turnaround times for complaints closed, 2008–2009

[image]

Figure 4 breaks down the outcomes of complaints closed in 2008–2009 by type of complaint. As in previous years, we found refusal complaints and Cabinet confidence exclusion complaints to be not substantiated more often than we did administrative complaints.

We also note a much higher proportion of discontinued complaints than in previous years. This can be explained largely by the fact that our inventory reduction strategy focused on quickly following up on the high number of time-related complaints (delays and time extensions) that had piled up in the inventory. In many instances, we received confirmation that the institutions had responded to the requesters some time after the complaints were filed, and the complaints therefore were discontinued. In another case, we were able to successfully mediate an issue which resulted in the withdrawal of 290 administrative complaints at once.

Figure 4. Outcome by type of complaint, 2008–2009

Outcome by type of complaint, 2008-2009

Table 3. Complaints completed with findings in 2008–2009, by institution

Institution Complaints Overall With Merit
National Defence 218 150
Canada Revenue Agency 149 125
Privy Council Office 75 28
Royal Canadian Mounted Police 62 24
Environment Canada 44 24
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade 41 34
Canada Post Corporation 32 28
Health Canada 30 27
Public Safety Canada 29 18
Public Works and Government Services Canada 27 19
Department of Justice Canada 27 7
Industry Canada 26 4
Atomic Energy of Canada Limited 26 24
Canada Border Services Agency 24 15
Correctional Service Canada 22 15
Transport Canada 22 20
Canadian Heritage 22 13
Others (46 institutions) 242 150
Total 1,118 725


Pre-April 1, 2008 inventory

As previously mentioned, we have committed to eliminating our pre-April 1, 2008 inventory of complaints by March 31, 2010. To this end, we were able to close half of it this year - 1,167 complaints. We started the year with 2,293 complaints that predated April 1, 2008, cancelled 21 of them and closed 678 cases between April and mid-November 2008. In mid-November, the remaining 1,594 cases from this inventory were moved to a dedicated team, which was successful in closing 489 more cases (or 31 percent) in about four months. Figure 5 illustrates the steady decrease of the pre-April 1, 2008 inventory, starting in December 2008.

Figure 5. Status at month end of the pre-April 1, 2008 inventory, November 2008-March 2009
[image]


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Faits et chiffres

Le tableau 1 résume la charge de travail pour 2008–2009 et la compare à celle des deux exercices précédents. Il montre l’ampleur du défi auquel nous faisions face au début de l’exercice, 2 293 dossiers ayant été reportés de l’exercice précédent. Ce report s’explique en partie par l’augmentation de plus de 80 p. 100 du nombre de nouvelles plaintes en 2007–2008 par rapport à l’exercice précédent. Le nombre de nouvelles plaintes est demeuré à peu près le même depuis.

Nous avons enregistré 2 018 nouveaux dossiers en 2008–2009. Malgré cette lourde charge de travail et des ressources limitées pour mener les enquêtes, nous avons réussi à fermer 1 770 dossiers en 2008–2009, contre 1 381 en 2007–2008.

Comme le suggère la figure 1, il est permis de croire que la mise en œuvre de notre nouveau processus d’enquête a contribué à freiner, depuis août 2008, la hausse du nombre de dossiers en cours.

Tableau 1. Sommaire de la charge de travail de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009  

  2006–2007 2007–2008 2008–2009
Plaintes reçues      
Plaintes reportées de l’exercice précédent 1 453 1 420 2 293 *
Nouvelles plaintes 1 317 2 387 2 018
Plaintes annulées pendant l’exercice 82 108 28 **
Plaintes en suspens à la fin de l’exercice 1 420 2 318 * 2 513
       
Résultat des plaintes      
Plaintes abandonnées pendant l’exercice 449 108 652
Plaintes réglées pendant l’exercice, avec conclusions 819 1 273 1 118
Total des dossiers fermés pendant l’exercice 1 268 1 381 1 770
       
Plaintes déposées par le commissaire      
Plaintes reportées de l’exercice précédent 423 237 0
Nouvelles plaintes 393 0 1
Dossiers fermés pendant l’exercice 579 237 0
Plaintes en suspens à la fin de l’exercice 237 0 1
Fiches de rendement entreprises pendant l’exercice 17 10 ***
       

* Chiffre ajusté après la fin de l’exercice pour éviter les doublets – 25 plaintes reçues à la fin de mars 2008 ont été enregistrées au début d’avril 2008.

** Nous avons cessé d’utiliser la catégorie « plaintes annulées » en juin 2008 lors de l’instauration de notre nouveau processus de réception. Ces 28 plaintes ont été annulées avant que ce changement ait été apporté. Dans le passé, une plainte était enregistrée au moment de sa réception, puis était annulée si elle s’avérait non valide en vertu de la Loi (par exemple, lorsqu’elle avait été faite après le temps alloué ou que le plaignant l’avait retirée ou abandonnée avant le début de l’enquête). Depuis juin 2008, nous enregistrons une plainte après l’avoir étudiée et avoir obtenu, au besoin, suffisamment d’information pour déterminer qu’elle est valide. Une plainte trouvée non valide est maintenant traitée comme une demande d’information générale.

*** Les fiches de rendement pour 2007–2008 ont été terminées au cours du présent exercice et publiées en février 2009.



Figure 1. Tendance du nombre de plaintes en cours à la fin du mois en 2008–2009* 

Tendance du nombre de plaintes en cours à la fin du mois en 2008-2009*

 Ces chiffres comprennent une plainte déposée par le commissaire.

Nouvelles plaintes en 2008–2009

Comme pour les exercices précédents, les plaintes que nous avons reçues en 2008–2009 se classent dans trois grandes catégories : les plaintes administratives, les plaintes de refus et les plaintes se rapportant aux exclusions pour les documents confidentiels du Cabinet.

  • Les plaintes administratives concernent généralement la prorogation du délai de traitement ou un retard dans la réponse à une demande de communication, ou encore les frais que les institutions exigent.
  • Les plaintes de refus comprennent les cas où une exception a été invoquée — à savoir quand une institution refuse de communiquer les renseignements demandés en vertu de dispositions précises de la Loi —, les réponses incomplètes et les cas où aucun document pertinent n’a été trouvé.
  • Les plaintes relatives aux exclusions applicables aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet concernent des situations où l’accès aux documents a été refusé parce qu’ils contenaient de l’information confidentielle du Cabinet. Ces documents sont exclus en vertu de la Loi et les institutions ne peuvent, par conséquent, les communiquer.

La figure 2 fait état des plaintes que nous avons enregistrées en 2008–2009 selon ces trois catégories. Sur les 2 019 nouvelles plaintes (2 018 plaintes enregistrées et une plainte déposée par le commissaire), 52 p. 100 étaient des plaintes administratives. Ce pourcentage relativement élevé confirme la persistance de problèmes systémiques ou récurrents.

Figure 2. Catégories de plaintes en 2008–2009

Catégories de plaintes en 2008-2009

Tableau 2. Nouvelles plaintes en 2008–2009, par institution*

Agence du revenu du Canada 302
Défense nationale 226
Société Radio-Canada 221
Bureau du Conseil privé 198
Gendarmerie royale du Canada 106
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada 94
Industrie Canada 79
Service correctionnel du Canada 60
Environnement Canada 54
Transports Canada 52
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 52
Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada 51
Société canadienne des postes 51
Santé Canada 44
Téléfilm Canada 39
Autres (66 institutions) 390
Total 2 019

 Ces chiffres comprennent une plainte déposée par le commissaire.



Traitement et règlement des plaintes

La figure 3 fait état du délai de traitement des 1 770 dossiers que nous avons fermés en 2008–2009. La moyenne pour l’exercice est de 13 mois. Cette moyenne s’explique en bonne partie par le fait que l’inventaire comprenait un nombre considérable de dossiers datant déjà de plusieurs années, ce qui a eu pour effet de biaiser le calcul du délai de traitement.

Comme nous en sommes à éliminer les anciens dossiers et que le nouveau processus d’enquête nous permet de gagner en efficacité, nous prévoyons réduire le délai de traitement moyen de façon significative l’an prochain. Les résultats de la vérification interne demandée par le commissaire à l’information concernant nos nouvelles méthodes de réception et de règlement rapide des plaintes nous indiqueront la voie à suivre pour améliorer davantage nos méthodes de travail. De plus, comme les dossiers antérieurs au 1er avril 2008 sont maintenant traités séparément, les données de l’an prochain refléteront plus fidèlement l’incidence du nouveau processus d’enquête sur le délai de traitement des plaintes.

Figure 3. Délai de traitement des dossiers fermés en 2008–2009 

Délai de traitement des dossiers fermés en 2008-2009

La figure 4 fait état du résultat des dossiers fermés en 2008–2009 par catégorie de plaintes. Comme pour les exercices précédents, nous avons constaté que les plaintes de refus et les plaintes relatives aux exclusions applicables aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet sont plus souvent non fondées que les plaintes administratives.

Nous relevons également une proportion nettement supérieure de plaintes abandonnées par rapport aux exercices précédents. Cette situation s’explique en grande partie par le fait que notre stratégie visant à réduire le nombre de plaintes en cours consistait à terminer rapidement le suivi du grand nombre de plaintes concernant des délais (retards et prorogations) que renfermait l’inventaire. Dans de nombreux cas, nous avons reçu la confirmation que l’institution avait répondu au demandeur quelque temps après le dépôt de la plainte, et celle-ci a par conséquent été abandonnée. Dans un autre cas, nous avons pu régler un différend grâce à la médiation, ce qui a entraîné le retrait simultané de 290 plaintes administratives.

Figure 4. Résultat par catégorie de plaintes en 2008–2009

Résultat par catégorie de plaintes en 2008-2009

*Le changement de politique concernant l’enregistrement des plaintes relatives aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet s’est traduit par l’abandon de 82 plaintes



Tableau 3. Plaintes réglées avec conclusions en 2008–2009, par institution

Institution Plaintes Total Plaintes Fondées
Défense nationale 218 150
Agence du revenu du Canada 149 125
Bureau du Conseil privé 75 28
Gendarmerie royale du Canada 62 24
Environnement Canada 44 24
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada 41 34
Société canadienne des postes 32 28
Santé Canada 30 27
Sécurité publique Canada 29 18
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 27 19
Justice Canada 27 7
Industrie Canada 26 4
Énergie atomique du Canada limitée 26 24
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada 24 15
Service correctionnel du Canada 22 15
Transports Canada 22 20
Patrimoine canadien 22 13
Autres (46 institutions) 242 150
Total 1 118 725

Dossiers antérieurs au 1 er  avril 2008

Comme nous l’avons mentionné précédemment, nous nous sommes engagés à éliminer d’ici le 31 mars 2010 les dossiers de plaintes antérieurs au 1er avril 2008. Nous avons pu en fermer la moitié, soit 1 167, pendant l’exercice. Parmi les 2 293 dossiers antérieurs au 1er avril 2008, nous en avons annulé 21 et fermé 678 entre avril et la mi-novembre 2008. Par la suite, les 1 594 dossiers restants ont été confiés à une équipe spéciale, qui a réussi à en fermer 489 autres (31 p. 100) en quatre mois environ. La figure 5 illustre la réduction constante du nombre de dossiers antérieurs au 1er avril 2008, à partir de décembre 2008.

Figure 5. Nombre de dossiers antérieurs au 1er avril 2008 à la fin du mois,de novembre 2008 à mars 2009

Nombre de dossiers antérieurs au 1er avril 2008 à la fin du mois,de novembre 2008 à mars 2009
Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant