Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

ABOUT COMPLAINTS

Under the Access to Information Act, anyone who makes a request for information to a federal institution and is dissatisfied with the response has the right to complain to us.

One common reason for complaints is the time it takes an institution to respond to a request. Federal institutions have 30 days to do so but they may extend that time for a number of reasons-for example, when they have to search a large number of records, consult other federal institutions or notify third parties-and they must notify requesters of these extensions within the initial 30 days. Requesters may file complaints about this notice, about the length of extensions or because they feel, generally, that the process is taking too long.

Complaints also focus on the information that institutions choose to release or not to release. Institutions may apply specific and limited exemptions, after careful consideration of the balance between the right to information and the need to protect interests such as individual privacy, commercial confidentiality and national security, and to safeguard the frank communications that effective policy-making requires. There are also certain types of information, such as Cabinet confidences, that are excluded under the Act and that, consequently, institutions may not release. These exemptions and exclusions allow institutions to withhold material, which often prompts complaints.

Other types of complaints involve the following:

  • requesters being asked to pay fees for requested information beyond the $5 application fee;
  • requesters not receiving the records in their official language of choice or the translation taking an unreasonably long time;
  • requesters having a problem with the InfoSource guide or the periodic bulletins that the Treasury Board Secretariat issues to help the public use the Act; and
  • requesters running into other problems related to requesting or obtaining access to records.

The Act requires that we investigate all the complaints we receive and that those investigations be thorough, unbiased and conducted in private. Although there is no deadline in the law for when we must complete our investigations, we strive to carry them out as quickly as possible. We usually complete investigations of administrative complaints within six months to a year. Investigations that centre on complaints that information that has been withheld tend to be more complex or involve large volume of records and, consequently, take longer.

The Commissioner has strong investigative powers, which provide a real incentive for institutions to comply with the Act and respect requesters' rights. However, the Commissioner may not order a complaint to be resolved in a particular way, relying instead on persuasion to settle disputes, and asking for a review by the Federal Court of Canada when an institution has not followed a recommendation on disclosure of information and with the consent of the complainant.

Chapter 3 includes more information about the types of complaints we receive and the categories of findings that result from our investigations.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

À PROPOS DES PLAINTES

En vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, toute personne qui fait une demande d'accès à une institution fédérale et qui n'est pas satisfaite de la réponse qu'elle a reçue a le droit de porter plainte auprès du Commissariat.

Le temps qu'il faut à une institution pour traiter une demande représente un motif fréquent de plainte. Les institutions fédérales ont 30 jours pour traiter une demande, mais peuvent proroger ce délai pour un certain nombre de raisons, par exemple, lorsqu'elles doivent chercher un grand nombre de documents, consulter d'autres institutions fédérales ou aviser des tiers, et elles doivent aviser les demandeurs des prorogations à l'intérieur du délai initial de 30 jours. Les demandeurs peuvent aussi porter plainte à l'égard de cet avis ou de la durée des prorogations ou encore parce qu'ils estiment que, de façon générale, le processus prend trop de temps.

Les plaintes portent aussi sur l'information que les institutions choisissent de communiquer ou de soustraire à la communication. Les institutions peuvent invoquer des exceptions spécifiques et limitées, après avoir mis soigneusement en équilibre, d'une part, le droit à l'information et, d'autre part, la nécessité de protéger des intérêts comme la vie privée des particuliers, le secret commercial, la sécurité nationale et les communications franches qui sont nécessaires à une bonne élaboration de politiques. Il existe aussi des types d'information, comme les documents confidentiels du Cabinet, qui sont exclus en vertu de la Loi et que, par conséquent, les institutions ne peuvent pas communiquer. Ces exceptions et exclusions permettent aux institutions de soustraire l'information à la communication, ce qui souvent donne lieu à des plaintes.

Les autres types de plaintes sont :

  • les droits qui sont réclamés aux demandeurs pour l'information demandée en sus des frais de demande initiaux de 5 $;
  • les documents qui ne sont pas remis dans la langue officielle choisie par le demandeur ou les délais de traduction déraisonnables;
  • les problèmes rencontrés avec le guide InfoSource ou les bulletins périodiques que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor diffuse pour aider le public à se prévaloir de laLoi;
  • les autres types de problèmes se rapportant au dépôt d'une demande ou à l'accès aux documents.

En vertu de la Loi, nous devons mener enquête à l'égard de toutes les plaintes que nous recevons, et les enquêtes doivent être approfondies, impartiales et menées en privé. Même si la Loi ne prévoit pas de délais pour le parachèvement des enquêtes, nous nous efforçons de mener celles ci le plus rapidement possible. Habituellement, il nous faut de 6 à 12 mois pour la conduite d'une enquête d'une plainte administrative, tandis que l'enquête relative à une plainte concernant un refus de communication a tendance à être plus complexe ou à viser un plus grand nombre de documents et, par conséquent, à demander davantage de temps.

Le commissaire est investi de vastes pouvoirs d'enquête, ce qui représente pour les institutions un véritable incitatif à respecter la Loi et les droits des demandeurs. Cependant, il ne peut pas ordonner le règlement d'une plainte de telle ou telle façon et doit plutôt faire appel à la persuasion pour disposer des différends, ou avec le consentement du plaignant, déférer l'affaire à la Cour fédérale du Canada lorsqu'une institution n'a pas donné suite à sa recommandation de communiquer l'information.

Le Chapitre 3 contient davantage d'information sur les types de plaintes que nous recevons et les catégories de conclusions qui découlent de nos enquêtes.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant