Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

ABOUT THE OFFICE

Who we are

The Information Commissioner is an officer of Parliament and ombudsman, appointed by Parliament under the Access of Information Act, Canada's freedom of information legislation. The Commissioner reviews the complaints of individuals and organizations who believe that federal institutions have not respected their rights under the Act. The Commissioner also advocates for access to information in Canada and for transparent and open government.

Canada's fourth and current Information Commissioner, Robert Marleau, began his term on February 1, 2007. Before taking up the position, Mr. Marleau served Parliament for 31 years, 13 of them as Clerk of the House of Commons. He was interim Privacy Commissioner in 2003.

Mr. Marleau is supported in his work by the Office of the Information Commissioner, an independent public body set up in 1983 under the Access to Information Act to respond to complaints from the public about access to government information. The Office has four branches:

  • The Complaints Resolution and Compliance Branch carries out investigations and dispute resolution efforts to resolve complaints.
  • The Policy, Communications and Operations Branch monitors federal institutions' performance under the Act, provides strategic policy direction for the Office, leads the Office's external relations with the public, the government and Parliament, and provides strategic and corporate leadership in the areas of financial management, internal audit and information management.
  • The Legal Services Branch represents the Commissioner in court cases and provides legal advice on investigations, and legislative and administrative matters.
  • The Human Resources Branch oversees all aspects of human resources management and provides advice to managers and employees on human resources issues.
What we do

We investigate complaints about federal institutions' handling of access requests.

We thoroughly and fairly investigate complaints against federal institutions and use mediation and persuasion to resolve them. We bring cases to the Federal Court of Canada when they involve important principles of law or legal interpretation.

We promote Canadians' right to access government information and advocate for greater freedom of information and open government.

We encourage federal institutions to disclose information as a matter of course and to respect Canadians' rights to request and receive information, in the name of transparency and accountability.

We actively make the case for greater freedom of information in Canada, through targeted initiatives, such as Right to Know Week, and ongoing dialogue with Canadians, Parliament and federal institutions.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

À PROPOS DU COMMISSARIAT

Qui nous sommes

Le commissaire à l'information est un haut fonctionnaire du Parlement et un ombudsman, nommé par le Parlement en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, loi régissant l'accès à l'information au Canada. Le commissaire enquête sur les plaintes déposées par les particuliers et les organisations qui estiment que les institutions fédérales n'ont pas respecté leurs droits conférés par la Loi. Le commissaire fait aussi la promotion de l'accès à l'information au Canada de même que de la transparence gouvernementale.

Robert Marleau, quatrième commissaire à l'information du Canada, a commencé son mandat le 1er février 2007. Avant d'accéder à ce poste, il a travaillé pendant 31 ans au Parlement, dont 13 à titre de greffier de la Chambre des communes. Il a aussi occupé le poste de commissaire à la protection de la vie privée par intérim en 2003.

M. Marleau est secondé dans ses fonctions par le Commissariat à l'information, organisme gouvernemental indépendant mis sur pied en 1983 en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour instruire les plaintes émanant du public concernant l'accès à l'information gouvernementale. Le Commissariat compte quatre directions :

  • La Direction, Règlement des plaintes et respect de la Loi, qui mène des enquêtes et des activités de règlement des différends en vue de la résolution des plaintes.
  • La Direction, Politique, communications et opérations, qui suit le rendement des institutions fédérales en vertu de la Loi, assure les orientations stratégiques au Commissariat, dirige les relations externes du Commissariat avec le public, le gouvernement et le Parlement et fournit un leadership stratégique et institutionnel dans les domaines de la gestion financière, de la vérification interne et de la gestion de l'information.
  • La Direction des services juridiques, qui représente le commissaire dans les dossiers judiciaires et offre des conseils juridiques sur les enquêtes et les questions législatives et administratives.
  • La Direction des ressources humaines, qui supervise tous les aspects de la gestion des ressources humaines et offre des conseils aux gestionnaires et aux employés sur les questions concernant les ressources humaines.
Ce que nous faisons

Nous enquêtons sur les plaintes concernant la façon dont les institutions fédérales traitent les demandes d'accès.

Nous enquêtons avec rigueur et équité sur les plaintes déposées contre les institutions fédérales et avons recours à la médiation et la persuasion pour les régler. Nous déférons à la Cour fédérale du Canada les affaires qui soulèvent d'importants principes de droit ou d'interprétation juridique.

Nous faisons la promotion du droit des Canadiens et des Canadiennes d'accéder à l'information gouvernementale et préconisons un plus grand accès à l'information et la transparence gouvernementale.

Nous encourageons les institutions fédérales à communiquer l'information couramment et à respecter les droits des Canadiens et des Canadiennes à demander et obtenir l'information, au nom de la transparence et de la reddition de comptes.

Nous favorisons activement un plus grand accès à l'information au Canada par des initiatives ciblées, comme la Semaine du droit de savoir et un dialogue constant avec les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, le Parlement et les institutions fédérales.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant