Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents    

APPENDIX 3- Amendments and proposed amendments to the Access to Information Act

Changes to the Schedules and Designation Order
in 2007-2008

Statute or Order in Council Bill Citation Came into force Change
An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on May 2, 2006 C-13 S.C. 2006, c. 4 November 10, 2006 Adds an institution to Schedule I
Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act C-11 S.C. 2005, c. 46 April 15, 2007 Creates new exemptions in sections 16.4 and 16.5 

Adds institutions to Schedule I
Act to amend the Canada Pension Plan Act and the Old Age Security Act C-36 S.C. 2007, c. 11 May 3, 2007 Schedule II: changes section 104.01 of theCanada Pension Plan Act and section 33.01 of the Old Age Security Act
An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and the Railway Safety Act C-11 S.C. 2007, c. 19 June 22, 2007 Schedule II: changes section 51 of the Canada Transportation Actand section 29 of the Competition Act
An Act to amend certain Acts in relation to DNA identification C-18 S.C. 2007, c. 22 June 22, 2007 Schedule II: changes section 6 of the DNA Identification Act
An Act to amend the Excise Tax Act, the Excise Act 2001 and others C-40 S.C. 2007, c. 18 June 22, 2007
(section 134 is deemed to have come into force on June 22, 2003)
Schedule II: changes section 295 of the Excise Tax Act 

Adds a reference to section 211 of theExcise Act, 2001
Order 2007-1148         September 27, 2007 Adds an institution to Schedule I
Order 2007-1450         September 27, 2007 Adds an institution to the Designation Order
P.C. 2007-1685 and P.C. 2007-1686         November 2, 2007 Schedule II: proclaims the Motor Vehicle Fuel Consumption Standards Act in force
An Act to amend the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act and the Income Tax Act and to make a consequential amendment to another Act C-25 S.C. 2006, c. 12 Some provisions December 14, 2007 

Others: February 10, 2007
Schedule II: changes section 55 of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act and section 241 of the Income Tax Act
An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2007 and to implement certain provisions of the economic statement tabled in Parliament on October 30, 2007 C-28 S.C. 2007, c. 35 December 14, 2007 Schedule II: changes section 241 of the Income Tax Act and section 101 of theCanada Petroleum Resources Act

Proposed changes to the Act

Substantive changes

  • Bill C-7, An Act to amend the Aeronautics Act

    Second Session; was referred to as Bill C-6 in the First Session

    Last step: Third Reading Debates, November 2, 2007

    More provisions have been added to Schedule II, adding grounds for exemptions. The proposed sections provide that, in certain circumstances, information regarding the safety and security of aeronautical activities and information collected by flight data recorders would be confidential and would not be disclosed, except in some circumstances. Further, the Bill provides that specific confidentiality provisions would apply to investigations carried out by the Airworthiness Investigative Authority.

  • Bill C-426, An Act to amend the Canada Evidence Act (protection of journalistic sources and search warrants)

    First and Second Session

    Last step: Committee meeting, March 6, 2008

    The Bill would enact a statutory protection to ensure the confidentiality of journalistic sources. The disclosure of information to journalists would therefore be privileged unless very specific conditions were met. This could have serious implications for the manner in which some information under the control of federal institutions may be transmitted to the public and the integrity of the decisionmaking process on disclosure of information under the Access to Information Act.

  • Bill S-216, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Canadian Wheat Board Act

    Second Session; was referred to as Bill S-224 in the First Session

    Last step: Second Reading Debates, March 13, 2008

    This Bill intends to amend Schedule I by removing the Canadian Wheat Board from the coverage of the Act.

  • Bill S-223, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act

    First Session

    Last step: Second Reading Debates, May 15, 2007

    The Bill provides for changes to the exemption in section 16.1 (exemption for agents of Parliament). It proposes to add the Auditor General and the Commissioner of Official Languages to the list of agents of Parliament whose records may, in some instances, be disclosed after completion of an investigation. The Bill also provides for a public interest override, which means that in every instance, except for information that relates to national security, the head of a federal institution would be required to disclose information if it is in the public interest to do so.

  • Bill C-470, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (response time)

    Second session

    Last step: First Reading, October 30, 2007

    The Bill provides for a report to be given to the requester and the Office of the Information Commissioner explaining the delay and the projected completion date when a request is still outstanding 100 days after it was received. With this notice, the requester could decide to engage in the complaint procedure earlier or could decide to wait, depending on the explanation and the projected completion date. It would allow the Office to monitor the frequency with which federal institutions are late in responding to access requests.


Previous   Table of contents

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières    

ANNEXE 3- Modifications apportées et proposées à 
la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Modifications apportées aux annexes et au Décret sur la désignation en 2007-2008

Loi ou décret Projet de loi Référence Entrée en vigueur Modification
Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement le 2 mai 2006 C-13 S.C. 2006, ch. 4 10 nov. 2006 Ajoute une institution à l'annexe I
Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles C-11 S.C. 2005, ch. 46 15 avril 2007 Crée de nouvelles exceptions pour les articles 16.4 et 16.5

Ajoute des institutions à l'annexe I
Loi modifiant le Régime de pensions du Canada et Loi modifiant la Loi sur la sécurité de la vieillesse C-36 S.C. 2007, ch. 11 3 mai 2007 Annexe II : modifie l'article 104.01 de la Loi sur le régime de pensions du Canada et l'article 33.01 de la Loi sur la sécurité de la vieillesse
Loi modifiant la Loi sur les transports au Canada et la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire C-11 S.C. 2007, ch. 19 22 juin 2007 Annexe II : modifie l'article 51 de la Loi sur les transports au Canada et l'article 29 de la Loi sur la concurrence
Loi modifiant certaines lois en matière d'identification par les empreintes génétiques C-18 S.C. 2007, ch. 22 22 juin 2007 Annexe II : modifie l'article 6 de la Loi sur l'identification par les empreintes génétiques
Loi modifiant la Loi sur la taxe d'accise et la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise et modifiant d'autres lois en conséquence C-40 S.C. 2007, ch. 18 22 juin 2007
(L'article 134 est réputé être entré en vigueur le 22 juin 2003)
Annexe II : modifie l'article 295 de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise 

Ajoute une référence à l'article 211 de la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise
Décret 2007-1148     27 sept. 2007 Ajoute une institution à l'annexe I
Décret 2007-1450     27 sept. 2007 Ajoute une institution au Décret sur la désignation
C.P. 2007-1685 et C.P. 2007-1686     2 nov. 2007 Annexe II : promulgue la Loi sur les normes de consommation de carburant de véhicules automobiles
Loi modifiant la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes, la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et une autre loi en conséquence C-25 S.C. 2006, ch. 12 Quelques dispositions 14 déc. 2007 

Autres : 10 février 2007
Annexe II : modifie l'article 55 de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes et l'article 241 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu
Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement le 19 mars 2007 et de certaines dispositions de l'énoncé économique déposé au Parlement le 30 octobre 2007 C-28 S.C. 2007, ch. 35 14 déc. 2007 Annexe II : modifie l'article 241 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et l'article 101 de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures

Modifications proposées à la Loi

Modifications substantielles

  • Projet de loi C-7, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'aéronautique

    Deuxième session; était désigné sous le nom de projet de loi C-6 dans la première session

    Dernière étape : débats en troisième lecture, 2 novembre 2007

    On a ajouté d'autres dispositions à l'annexe II, ajoutant des motifs d'exception. Les articles proposés prévoient qu'en certaines circonstances, l'information concernant la sécurité des activités aéronautiques et les renseignements recueillis par les enregistreurs de données de vol seraient confidentiels et non communiqués, sauf dans certaines circonstances. En outre, le projet de loi indique que des dispositions précises en matière de confidentialité s'appliqueraient aux enquêtes réalisées par le directeur des enquêtes sur la navigabilité.

  • Projet de loi C-426, Loi modifiant la Loi sur la preuve au Canada (protection de sources journalistiques et mandats de perquisition)

    Première et deuxième sessions

    Dernière étape : réunion du comité, 6 mars 2008

    Le projet de loi édicterait une protection législative pour assurer la confidentialité des sources journalistiques. Par conséquent, la communication de l'information aux journalistes serait protégée, sauf dans des situations précises. Cela pourrait avoir de sérieuses répercussions sur la manière dont certains renseignements relevant d'institutions fédérales pourraient être transmis au public de même que sur l'intégrité du processus décisionnel concernant la communication de renseignements en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

  • Projet de loi S-216, Loi modifiant la Loi 63 sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la Commission canadienne du blé

    Deuxième session; était désigné sous le nom de projet de loi S-224 au cours de la première session

    Dernière étape : débats en deuxième lecture, 13 mars 2008

    Ce projet de loi vise à modifier l'annexe I pour faire en sorte que la Commission canadienne du blé ne soit plus assujettie à la Loi.

  • Projet de loi S-223, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

    Première session

    Dernière étape : débats en deuxième lecture, 15 mai 2007

    Le projet de loi prévoit des modifications à l'exception de l'article 16.1 (exception pour les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement). On propose d'ajouter le vérificateur général et le commissaire aux langues officielles à la liste des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement dont les documents peuvent, dans certains cas, faire l'objet d'une communication après que l'enquête soit terminée. Le projet de loi prévoit également la primauté de l'intérêt public, ce qui signifie que dans chaque cas, sauf pour l'information ayant trait à la sécurité nationale, le responsable d'une institution fédérale devrait communiquer l'information s'il est dans l'intérêt public de le faire.

  • Projet de loi C-470, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (délai de réponse)

    Deuxième session

    Dernière étape : première lecture, 30 octobre 2007

    Le projet de loi prévoit la production d'un rapport à remettre au demandeur et au commissaire à l'information pour expliquer le retard et la date prévue de traitement dans le cas où une demande est encore en suspens 100 jours après sa réception. Fort de cet avis, le demandeur pourrait décider d'engager la procédure de plainte ou d'attendre, selon l'explication fournie et la date de traitement prévue. Le Commissariat aurait l'occasion de contrôler la fréquence avec laquelle les institutions fédérales prennent du retard dans leurs réponses aux demandes d'accès.

Précédent   Table des matières