Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

APPENDIX 2 - Ongoing court cases

Case Next step Issue
Control of records in a minister's office Information Commissioner v. ND (Pugliese), T-210-05 Hearing in May 2008 Interpretation of “under the control of a government institution” and interplay between the concepts of minister (as head of a federal institution) and department (federal institution)
Control of records in the Prime Minister's Office Information Commissioner v. Prime Minister (Throness), T-1209-05 Hearing in May 2008 Interpretation of “under the control of a government institution” and interplay between the concepts of minister (as head of a federal institution) and department (federal institution) Exemptions: sections 19 and 21
Control of records in a minister's office Information Commissioner v. Transport Canada (Murray), T-1211-05 Hearing in May 2008 Interpretation of “under the control of a government institution” and interplay between the concepts of minister (as head of a federal institution) and department (federal institution) Exemptions: sections 17, 19 and 69
Prime Minister's agendas under the control of the RCMP Information Commissioner v. RCMP (McGregor), T-1210-05
Hearing in May 2008 Exemptions: sections 17, 19 and 69
Information Commissioner's powers to issue confidentiality orders during investigations Attorney General of Canada v. Information Commissioner of Canada, A-492-07, A-568-07
Date of hearing to be set Appeal of Attorney General of the decision in Attorney General of Canada v. Information Commissioner of Canada, 2007 FC 1024 Cross-appeal of the Office of the Information Commissioner on admissibility of portion of evidence For more information, see Chapter 5.
Privacy Commissioner's investigative powers under private sector legislation Privacy Commissioner of Canada v. Blood Tribe (Office of the Information Commissioner is an intervenor), SCC 31755
Judgment reserved at the February 21, 2008, hearing Under the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act the powers of the Commissioner to examine and assess documents asserted to be protected under the solicitor-client privilege during investigations
Complainant seeking remedies against the Commissioner Harvey Ernest Adams v. Attorney General of Canada, T-1621-07
Motion pending before the Court Challenge to the Commissioner's investigation

Challenge of the decision of the head of the federal institution
Complainant seeking remedies against the Commissioner Clint A. Kimery v. Minister of National Revenue, T-2070-07, T-2207-07 Applications were quashed (by orders on January 28, 2008, and February 29, 2008) Challenge to the findings of the Commissioner's investigations and of the Commissioner's conduct of the investigation

Challenge of the decisions of the head of the federal institution
Complainant seeking remedies against the Commissioner Clint A. Kimery v. Minister of National Revenue, T-238-08
Kimery must file his evidence Challenge to the findings of the Commissioner's investigations and of the Commissioner's conduct of the investigation
Complainant seeking remedies against the Commissioner Clint A. Kimery v. Information Commissioner of Canada, T-104-08, T-417-08
Kimery must file his evidence Challenge to the findings of the Commissioner's investigations and of the Commissioner's conduct of the investigation
The Information Commissioner improperly named as a respondent Pinaymootang First Nation v. Canada (Minister of Health) and the Information Commissioner of Canada, T-25-08
Commissioner to file motion to be removed as respondent Challenge of the decision of the head of the federal institution


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

ANNEXE 2- Dossiers judiciaires en cours

Dossiers Prochaine étape Question en jeu
Contrôle des documents dans le Cabinet d'un ministre Commissaire à l'information c. DN (Pugliese),, T-210-05 Audience en mai 2008 Interprétation des termes « qui relèvent d'une institution fédérale » et relation entre les concepts de ministre (à titre de responsable d'une institution fédérale) et de ministère (institution fédérale)
Contrôle des documents dans le Cabinet du Premier ministre Commissaire à l'information c. Premier ministre (Throness),, T-1209-05 Audience en mai 2008 Interprétation des termes « qui relèvent d'une institution fédérale » et relation entre les concepts de ministre (à titre de responsable d'une institution fédérale) et de ministère (institution fédérale) Exceptions : articles 19 et 21
Contrôle des documents dans le Cabinet d'un ministre Commissaire à l'information c. Transports Canada (Murray),, T-1211-05 Audience en mai 2008 Interprétation des termes « qui relèvent d'une institution fédérale » et relation entre les concepts de ministre (à titre de responsable d'une institution fédérale) et de ministère (institution fédérale) Exceptions : articles 17, 19 et 69
Agendas du Premier ministre sous le contrôle de la GRC Commissaire à l'information c. GRC (McGregor),, T-1210-05
Audience en mai 2008 Exceptions : articles 17, 19 et 69
Pouvoirs du Commissaire à l'information d'imposer des ordonnances de confidentialité durant des enquêtes Procureur général du Canada c. Commissaire à l'information du Canada,, A-492-07, A-568-07
Date d'audience à fixer Appel par le procureur général de la décision dans Procureur général du Canada c. Commissaire à l'information du Canada, 2007 CF 1024 Appel incident par le Commissariat à l'information concernant l'admissibilité d'une partie de la preuve Pour des plus amples détails, voir le chapitre 5
Pouvoirs d'enquête de la Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée en vertu des lois relatives au secteur privé Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée c. Blood Tribe (Le Commissariat à l'information agit à titre d'intervenant),, SCC 31755
Jugement pris en délibéré lors de l'audience du 21 février 2008 En vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques, les pouvoirs de la Commissaire d'examiner et d'évaluer des documents protégés en vertu du secret professionnel durant les enquêtes
Plaignant cherchant à obtenir des mesures de redressement à l'encontre du Commissaire Harvey Ernest Adams c. Procureur général du Canada,, T-1621-07
Requête pendante devant la Court Contestation de l'enquête du Commissaire 

Contestation de la décision du responsable de l'institution fédérale
Plaignant cherchant à obtenir des mesures de redressement à l'encontre du Commissaire Clint A. Kimery c. Ministre du Revenu national,, T-2070-07, T-2207-07 Les recours en révision ont été rejetés (par ordonnance les 28 janvier 2008 et 29 février 2008) Contestation des conclusions que le Commissaire a tirées des enquêtes et contestation du déroulement de telles enquêtes

Contestation de la décision du responsable de l'institution fédérale
Plaignant cherchant à obtenir des mesures de redressement à l'encontre du Commissaire Clint A. Kimery c. Ministre du Revenu national,, T-238-08
Kimery doit déposer sa preuve Contestation des conclusions que le Commissaire a tirées des enquêtes et contestation du déroulement de telles enquêtes
Plaignant cherchant à obtenir des mesures de redressement à l'encontre du Commissaire Clint A. Kimery c. Commissaire à l'information du Canada,, T-104-08, T-417-08
Kimery doit déposer sa preuve Contestation des conclusions que le Commissaire a tirées des enquêtes et contestation du déroulement de telles enquêtes
Le Commissaire à l'information indûment désigné comme partie intimée Première nation Pinaymootang c. Canada (Ministre de la Santé) et le Commissaire à l'information du Canada,, T-25-08
Le Commissaire présentera une requête visant à être retiré comme partie intimée Contestation de la décision du responsable de l'institution fédérale


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant