Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

APPENDIX 1- Report of the ad hoc Information Commissioner

The Access to Information Commissioner, through good work and integrity, has earned the respect and confidence of Canadians. The Ad Hoc Commissioner must maintain that high standard. On June 7, 2007 I was appointed Ad Hoc Information Commissioner. In that role, I was to receive and deal with complaints by members of the public against the Information Commissioner for refusal to disclose records from that office. My appointment expired on March 31, 2008, however, I agreed to stay on after the end of my term and until a new Ad Hoc Commissioner was ready to take over.

It is of the fundamental importance that the Ad Hoc Commissioner be completely independent of the Commissioner of Access to Information and his office. It may seem of little concern and, indeed, petty but the Ad Hoc Commissioner's independence must always be maintained. He or she will require a separate office, mailing address, telephone number and secretarial assistance. The Ad Hoc Commissioner must select and engage an investigating officer that will report only to him. The investigation officer or officers must be assured that they have the authority to gain access to documents as do the investigators employed by the Commissioner. It was necessary at the outset of my term to engage an investigating officer. She has worked conscientiously and well in her endeavours.

During the course of my term seven complaints were carefully investigated by the investigating officer and her report and conclusions submitted to me and duly considered. It is sufficient to note that all information which was not subject to statutory exemption was made available to the complainant.

In my view, it is necessary to maintain the office of the Ad Hoc Commissioner. This is necessary in order to ensure that someone independent of the Commissioner has considered the complaints made against the Commissioner were properly considered and appropriately dealt with. This position is a new one. At present, one investigating officer appears to be capable of reviewing all the complaints. If the number of complaints increase it will be necessary to consider engaging another investigating officer.

-The Honourable Peter Cory




Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

ANNEXE 1- Rapport du commissaire à l'information ad hoc

Grâce à son bon travail et à son intégrité, le Commissaire à l'information a mérité le respect et la confiance des Canadiens et des Canadiennes. Le commissaire ad hoc doit maintenir cette norme élevée. Le 7 juin 2007, j'ai été nommé à ce poste. Mon rôle consiste à recevoir et à traiter les plaintes que les membres du public déposent contre le commissaire à l'information en raison de son refus de communiquer des documents du Commissariat. Mon mandat a expiré le 31 mars 2008. Toutefois, j'ai accepté de rester en poste jusqu'à ce qu'un nouveau commissaire ad hoc soit prêt à prendre la relève.

Il est d'une importance capitale que le commissaire ad hoc agisse sans aucun lien de dépendance avec le commissaire à l'information et son Commissariat. La chose peut sembler anodine, voire négligeable, mais l'indépendance du commissaire ad hoc doit toujours être préservée. Il exigera un bureau, une adresse postale, un numéro de téléphone et des services de secrétariat distincts. Il doit choisir un agent d'enquête qui ne rendra des comptes qu'à lui. L'enquêteur ou les enquêteurs doivent avoir l'assurance qu'ils disposent du pouvoir pour accéder à des documents tout comme les enquêteurs employés par le commissaire. Il était nécessaire, dès le début de mon mandat, d'engager une personne pour mener les enquêtes. L'agente retenue a travaillé de manière consciencieuse et efficace.

Durant mon mandat, l'enquêteur a soigneusement mené une enquête sur sept plaintes; elle m'a ensuite présenté son rapport et ses conclusions, que j'ai dûment pris en considération. Aux fins des présentes, il suffit de retenir que toute l'information non visée par une exception prévue à la loi a été communiquée au plaignant.

Selon moi, il est nécessaire de maintenir la fonction du commissaire ad hoc, car il est indispensable de faire en sorte qu'un organe indépendant du commissaire examine et traite correctement les plaintes déposées contre le commissaire. Il s'agit d'un nouveau poste. À l'heure actuelle, un seul enquêteur semble en mesure de réviser toutes les plaintes. Si le nombre de plaintes devait s'accroître, il faudra songer à en embaucher un deuxième.

- L'honorable Peter Cory


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant