Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

 

Previous   Table of contents   Next


 

CHAPTER 7 - Looking Ahead

We will be taking on a number of initiatives in 2008-2009, as well as an extensive program of work to continue the fundamental improvements the Office made in 2007-2008 and ensure we are always serving Canadians to the best of our ability.

Intake and early resolution unit

At the beginning of 2008-2009, our new intake and early resolution unit will begin work on a pilot basis. During the year, we will assess the success of this approach, examine lessons learned and adjust as necessary before rolling out the unit permanently.

We will put our service standards aside until such time as we can assess what impact the new unit has had on the timeliness of responses and our overall performance and productivity.

New approach to closing files

As a result of our successful work in responding to several hundred complaints launched in a very short time against the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (see Chapter 4), we will no longer keep investigations open until such time as institutions provide final responses to requesters. When a reasonable target date can be established in a particular set of circumstances, we will consider the complaint resolved, monitor its progress and follow up where necessary. Should the institution not meet its target date, we may initiate our own complaint or the requester may do so on the basis that he or she has become aware of new grounds on which to complain.

Important cases

Canadian Newspaper Association

At year-end, we were in the final stages of completing our investigation into a complaint filed by the Canadian Newspaper Association against all federal institutions asking us to investigate the existence of special rules for processing access to information requests from the media. We will issue our findings in early 2008-2009, which we will also include in our special report to Parliament in October 2008.

Criminal Lawyers' Association

In 2008-2009, we will be watching with interest, and will consider seeking leave to intervene in a case before the Supreme Court of Canada involving the constitutionality of a section of Ontario's freedom of information legislation (Ministry of Public Safety and Security et al. v. Criminal Lawyers' Association, S-32172).

In a criminal trial for a 1983 murder, an Ontario court stayed the proceedings against two accused on Charter grounds, finding that the rights of the accused had been violated as a result of “abusive conduct by state officials” involving deliberate non-recording of evidence and non-disclosure of information. Following this decision, the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) was asked to investigate the conduct of the police force involved and the prosecution. It reported that there was no evidence of attempts to obstruct justice but it did not release its report.

The Criminal Lawyers' Association submitted a request under Ontario's freedom of information legislation to the Ministry of Public Safety and Security seeking records concerning the OPP review.

The Ministry refused to disclose documents, including the police report, on the basis of three exemptions under the Act.

The issue in the case is whether the public interest override (section 23), which applies only to some exemptions, complies with the guarantee of freedom of expression in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Two judges of the Ontario Court of Appeal found that “s. 23 of the Act infringes s. 2(b) of the Charter by failing to extend the public interest override to the law enforcement and solicitor-client privilege exemptions ... and that this infringement cannot be justified under s. 1 of the Charter.” A third judge dissented, finding no Charter violation. The Ministry was granted leave to appeal the decision to the Supreme Court of Canada.

25th anniversary of the Access to Information Act

The Access to Information Act and its companion legislation, the Privacy Act, came into force on Canada Day 1983. Both these laws have made important contributions to the advancement of freedom and democracy in Canada.

With the law on access, Parliament granted Canadians greater rights of access to records controlled by federal institutions and, by the same token, a way to hold decision makers accountable for their policies, decisions and actions with regard to government information.

After 25 years, the Access to Information Act continues to be sound in terms of its concept, structure and balance, but there is work that needs to be done to modernize it from legislative and administrative perspectives. The Commissioner stands ready to help Parliament and the government modernize the access to information system.

Throughout 2008-2009, there will be a number of activities to highlight the importance of both laws and the work of access to information and privacy specialists across government. We will be seeking the views of stakeholders and the general public on modernizing the access to information system. As a first step, we will hold a roundtable in June 2008 with stakeholders on administrative and legislative reform. We will also invite the general public to comment on a number of discussion papers.

Right to Know Week

Around the world, September 28 marks International Right to Know Day, dedicated to the promotion of freedom of information. The goal is to raise citizens' awareness of their right of access to government information. This year, Right to Know Week is from September 29 to October 3, 2008.

In Canada, Right to Know Week is celebrated to promote the right to information as a fundamental human right and to campaign for citizen participation in open, democratic government. This national event offers an opportunity for anyone interested in promoting freedom of information as a fundamental right to engage in an informed dialogue with Canadians of all ages.

Reviewing funding and operations

Recent changes brought about by the Federal Accountability Act, as well as our growing backlog of complaints, have led us to focus on how we serve our clients, including our investigations and administrative support. In 2008-2009, we will be doing a thorough review of our funding, operations, staffing levels and, in particular, our information technology systems (called an A-base review) to determine whether they might adversely affect our ability to fulfill our legislative mandate, which might put the integrity of our program at risk. This review will also help in identifying where we can optimize the use of our resources and improve the efficiency of our operations.

 


 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

CHAPITRE 7- Un regard sur l'avenir

Nous prendrons plusieurs initiatives en 2008-2009 en plus d'exécuter un vaste programme visant à poursuivre les améliorations fondamentales apportées au Commissariat en 2007-2008 et à nous assurer que nous continuons de servir les Canadiens et Canadiennes le mieux possible.

Unité de réception et de règlement rapide

Au début de 2008-2009, notre nouvelle unité de réception et de règlement rapide a amorcé son travail à titre d'essai. Durant l'année, nous évaluerons le succès de cette approche, jaugerons les leçons que nous en avons tirées et apporterons des modifications au besoin avant de rendre l'unité permanente.

Nous mettrons de côté nos normes de service d'ici à ce que nous puissions évaluer les répercussions de la nouvelle unité sur la rapidité des réponses ainsi que sur notre rendement et notre productivité en général.

Nouvelle approche en matière de fermeture des dossiers

Par suite d'un travail fructueux pour répondre aux quelques centaines de plaintes déposées en très peu de temps contre la Société Radio Canada (voir chapitre 4), nous ne garderons plus nos enquêtes ouvertes jusqu'à ce que les institutions aient fourni des réponses finales aux demandeurs. Lorsqu'il sera possible d'établir une date limite de réponse selon les circonstances, nous considérerons la plainte résolue, contrôlerons ses progrès et ferons un suivi au besoin. Si l'institution devait ne pas respecter la date limite fixée, nous pourrions amorcer notre propre plainte, ou le demandeur pourrait porter plainte en invoquant le fait qu'il dispose de nouveaux motifs sur lesquels fonder sa plainte.

Cas importants

Association canadienne des journaux

À la fin de l'exercice, nous en étions aux dernières étapes d'une enquête sur une plainte déposée par l'Association canadienne des journaux contre toutes les institutions fédérales. L'Association nous demandait de faire enquête sur l'existence de règles spéciales pour traiter les demandes d'accès à l'information de la part des médias. Nous ferons part de nos conclusions au début de 2008-2009 et inclurons le tout dans notre rapport spécial au Parlement en octobre 2008.

Criminal Lawyers' Association

En 2008-2009, nous surveillerons avec intérêt et envisagerons de demander l'autorisation d'intervenir dans un cas porté devant la Cour suprême du Canada touchant la constitutionalité d'une partie de la loi ontarienne sur l'accès à l'information (Ministère de la Sûreté et de la Sécurité publique et autres c. Criminal Lawyers' Association, S-32172).

Dans un procès criminel pour un meurtre commis en 1983, une cour ontarienne a suspendu l'instance contre deux accusés en invoquant la Charte, déterminant que les droits des accusés avaient été violés par suite d'un comportement abusif de la part des représentants de l'État, impliquant le non enregistrement délibéré des preuves et la non communication de l'information. Suite à cette décision, la Police provinciale de l'Ontario (PPO) a été appelée à faire enquête sur le comportement de la police ayant été impliquée et sur celui de la poursuite. La PPO a déclaré qu'il n'existait aucune preuve de tentative d'obstruction à la justice, mais elle n'a pas publié son rapport.

La Criminal Lawyers' Association a présenté une demande en vertu de la loi sur l'accès à l'information de l'Ontario auprès du ministère de la Sûreté et de la Sécurité publique pour obtenir des documents concernant l'enquête de la PPO.

Le ministère a refusé de communiquer des documents, y compris le rapport de police, en invoquant trois exceptions en vertu de la Loi.

La question en jeu est de savoir si la primauté de l'intérêt public (article 23), qui s'applique uniquement pour certaines exceptions, est conforme à la garantie de liberté d'expression de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

Deux juges de la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario ont établi que l'article 23 de la Loi portait atteinte à l'article 2(b) de la Charte en négligeant d'élargir la portée de la primauté de l'intérêt public aux exceptions relatives à l'application de la loi et au secret professionnel et que cette atteinte ne pouvait être justifiée en vertu de l'article 1 de laCharte. Un troisième juge a exprimé une opinion divergente, à savoir qu'il n'y avait pas de violation de la Charte dans cette affaire. Le ministère a été autorisé à interjeter appel de cette décision devant la Cour suprême du Canada.

Vingt-cinquième anniversaire de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, sont entrées en vigueur en 1983, le jour de la fête du Canada. Les deux lois ont considérablement fait progresser la liberté et la démocratie au Canada.

Dans le cadre de la loi sur l'accès, le Parlement a accordé aux Canadiens des droits élargis en matière d'accès aux documents contrôlés par les institutions fédérales. Par la même occasion, la loi offrait une manière de tenir les décideurs responsables de leurs politiques, décisions et actions concernant l'information gouvernementale.

Vingt cinq ans plus tard, la Loi sur l'accès à l'information demeure un concept solide, bien structuré et équilibré, mais elle doit être modernisée sur les plans législatif et administratif. Le commissaire est prêt à aider le Parlement et le gouvernement à moderniser le système de l'accès à l'information.

Au cours de 2008-2009 un certain nombre d'activités auront lieu pour mettre en lumière l'importance des deux lois et du travail des spécialistes en accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels dans tout le gouvernement. Nous voulons obtenir l'opinion des intervenants et du grand public sur la modernisation du système d'accès à l'information. La première étape consistera à tenir une table ronde en juin 2008 avec des intervenants sur la réforme administrative et législative. Nous inviterons également le grand public à commenter des documents de travail.

Semaine du droit de savoir

Le 28 septembre représente autour du monde la Journée internationale du droit de savoir, consacrée à la promotion de l'accès à l'information. Cette Journée a pour objet de sensibiliser la population à son droit d'obtenir l'information détenue par le gouvernement. Cette année, la Semaine du droit de savoir se déroule du 29 septembre au 3 octobre 2008.

Au Canada, la Semaine du droit de savoir est célébrée dans le but de promouvoir le droit à l'information, qui est considéré comme un droit fondamental de la personne, et de faire campagne au profit d'une participation des citoyens dans un gouvernement transparent et démocratique. Cette manifestation d'envergure nationale offre à quiconque s'intéresse à la promotion de l'accès à l'information en tant que droit fondamental l'occasion de prendre part à un dialogue éclairé avec les Canadiens et les Canadiennes de tout âge.

Examen du financement et des opérations

Les récentes modifications apportées par la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité de même que notre arriéré grandissant de plaintes nous ont amenés à nous concentrer sur la façon dont nous servons les clients, y compris nos enquêtes et le soutien administratif. En 2008-2009, nous examinerons en profondeur notre financement, nos opérations, nos niveaux de dotation et, en particulier, nos systèmes de technologie de l'information (appelé une révision des services votés) pour déterminer s'ils peuvent nuire à notre capacité de remplir notre mandat législatif, ce qui pourrait mettre en péril l'intégrité de notre programme. La révision nous aidera également à identifier où nous pouvons optimiser nos ressources et améliorer l'efficacité de nos opérations.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant