Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Right to Know Week

For the first time, events were held across Canada to recognize "Right to Know Day". Canada is a bit late in joining this international movement, which began in Sofia, Bulgaria, on September 28, 2002. On that date, a group of openness-in-government advocates from three dozen countries formed a coalition known as the "Freedom of Information Advocates Network." They declared that every September 28th would be an international day to symbolize the global movement for the promotion of the individual right of access to information and open transparent governance. The day, or week, is celebrated around the world in many of the more than 70 countries that have right to know statutes.

Over the years, there have emerged certain principles that form the core of the right to know. They are expressed well by the Open Society Justice Initiative, formed with other organizations in honour of the Right to Know Day celebrations in 2003. These ten principles are:

  1. Access to information is a right of everyone.
  2. Access is the rule - secrecy is the exception!
  3. The right applies to all public bodies.
  4. Making requests should be simple, speedy, and free.
  5. Officials have a duty to assist requestors.
  6. Refusals must be justified.
  7. The public interest takes precedence over secrecy.
  8. Everyone has the right to appeal an adverse decision.
  9. Public bodies should proactively publish core information.
  10. The right should be guaranteed by an independent body.

Canada has come a long way to fulfill these principles.

It was the information commissioners in all Canadian jurisdictions who took the lead in "kicking off" Canada’s first Right to Know celebrations. Their goal was to help Canadians be more aware of the existence of the right of access in Canada and to better appreciate how essential this right is to a healthy democracy.

Right to Know Week 2006 in Canada was a good start; there is comforting evidence that the various events across the country attracted considerable public attention and enthusiasm for making this an annual event. For a brief description of various events throughout Canada, please visit the Information Commissioner’s website.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

La Semaine du droit de savoir 

Pour la première fois, des activités ont eu lieu dans toutes les régions du Canada pour marquer la « Journée du droit de savoir ». Le Canada se joint un peu tard au mouvement international qui a pris naissance à Sofia, en Bulgarie, le 28 septembre 2002. Ce jour-là, un groupe de militants en faveur de la transparence gouvernementale, issus de trois douzaines de pays, a formé une coalition appelée le « Freedom of Information Advocates Network » (Réseau des militants en faveur de la liberté d’accès à l’information). Le groupe a décrété que le 28 septembre serait la journée internationale symbolisant le mouvement mondial en faveur du droit individuel à l’information et de la transparence gouvernementale. La journée, ou la semaine, est célébrée partout dans le monde dans bon nombre des plus de 70 pays ayant des lois sur le droit de savoir.

Au fil des ans, des principes ont émergé et sont au cœur du droit de savoir. Ils sont incarnés avec justesse dans le Projet de justice société ouverte qui a été élaboré avec d’autres organisations en l’honneur des festivités entourant la Journée du droit de savoir en 2003. Ces dix principes sont :

1. L’accès à l’information est un droit universel.

2. L’accès est la règle; le secret est l’exception!

3. Le droit s’applique à tous les organismes publics.

4. La présentation d’une demande devrait être simple, rapide et gratuite.

5. Les responsables sont tenus d’aider les demandeurs.

6. Les refus doivent être justifiés.

7. L’intérêt public a préséance sur le secret.

8. Chacun a le droit d’interjeter appel d’une décision défavorable.

9. Les organismes publics devraient publier systématiquement l’information de base.

10. Le droit devrait être garanti par un organisme autonome.

Le Canada a parcouru beaucoup de chemin pour respecter ces principes.

Ce sont les commissaires à l’information de toutes les administrations canadiennes qui ont lancé les premières activités au Canada pour marquer le droit de savoir. Ils voulaient aider les Canadiens à prendre davantage conscience de l’existence du droit d’accès au Canada et à apprécier davantage la place importante que tient ce droit dans une démocratie saine.

La Semaine du droit de savoir 2006 a connu un bon succès; l’on peut se réjouir de ce que les diverses activités qui ont eu lieu d’un bout à l’autre du pays ont suscité dans le public une attention considérable de même que la volonté d’en faire un rendez-vous annuel. On trouvera une description des diverses activités qui se sont tenues au Canada sur le site Internet du Commissaire.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant