Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Continuous Education

It will also be part of this Commissioner’s mission to urge government to provide the resources and opportunities to government institutions for continuous learning in what is the rapidly evolving field of ATIP administration. Here, too, it is important to walk the talk. To that end, this Commissioner has decided to make available to all other government institutions, and interested members of the public, his office’s manual used to train and guide investigators in understanding the exemptions contained in the Act and assessing whether or not they have been properly invoked by government institutions.

This manual is a compendium of the law pertaining to each of the Act’s exemptions and sets out strategies and questions to assist investigators in investigating complaints that exemptions were improperly invoked by government institutions. Even though the manual’s content does not bind the Information Commissioner as to how the Act will be applied in individual cases, and even though there is a risk that out-of-date content may be disseminated before the annual update is completed, this manual will assist ATIP administrators across government. It will assist them to be more knowledgeable of the law’s requirements and, hence, be better able to deliver the access to information program effectively. That is this Commissioner’s hope. (The manual is titled GRIDS and is available from the Information Commissioner’s website.)



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Acquisition continue du savoir 

Il entre également dans la mission de ce Commissaire d’exhorter le gouvernement à fournir aux institutions fédérales les ressources et les perspectives voulues pour l’acquisition continue du savoir dans le domaine en évolution rapide que constitue l’administration de l’accès à l’information. À ce niveau aussi, il est important pour le Commissariat de joindre le geste à la parole. À cette fin, le Commissaire a décidé de mettre à la disposition de toutes les institutions fédérales et des membres du public intéressés le manuel dont on se sert au Commissariat pour la formation et l’orientation des enquêteurs quand il s’agit de comprendre les exceptions prévues dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de déterminer si les institutions ont invoqué les exceptions comme il se doit.

Le manuel est une recension de la jurisprudence relative à chacune des exceptions prévues dans la Loiet énonce des stratégies et des questions dans le but d’aider les enquêteurs à bien instruire les plaintes se rapportant aux exceptions. Même si le contenu du manuel ne lie pas le Commissaire quant à la façon dont la Loi sera appliquée dans chaque cas individuel, et en dépit du risque qu’un contenu dépassé soit diffusé avant l’achèvement de la mise à jour annuelle, le manuel sera quand même d’un grand secours aux administrateurs de l’accès à l’information à l’échelle fédérale. Il les aidera à connaître davantage les exigences des dispositions législatives et, ce faisant, à mieux exécuter le programme d’accès à l’information. C’est du moins ce qu’espère le Commissaire. (Le manuel s’intitule « GRIDS », et on peut le consulter sur le site Internet du Commissaire à l’information.)


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant