Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Starting at Home

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada is endeavoring to "practice what it preaches" when it comes to ensuring an effective human resources plan for recruiting, training, and retaining highly competent access to information investigators.

Recognizing the system-wide difficulties in recruiting experienced investigators (PM-05 level), this office has established a program to hire junior officers and provide them with a structured program of progression to middle and senior-level investigator positions. The program involves individual coaching, training, tutoring, developmental assignments, and testing, all designed to provide career progression from a PM-02 to PM-05 level without intervening competitions. Twelve to 18 months, approximately, will be required at each level. Before progression to the PM-05 level, investigator trainees must, as indicated previously, successfully complete the IAPP certificate program. A more detailed Investigator Training Program description is available from the Information Commissioner’s website.

This Commissioner urges the heads of other government institutions to consider a similar approach to "home growing" its ATIP administrators rather than continuing to tolerate the destructive practice of "poaching", along with the related practices of intentional over-classification, tolerance of inadequate knowledge and skills, and the excessive (and demoralizing) reliance on consultants.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Commencer par soi-même

Le Commissariat à l’information s’emploie à mettre en pratique ce qu’il préconise pour ce qui est de l’adoption d’un plan efficace de ressources humaines pour le recrutement, la formation et le maintien dans l’effectif d’enquêteurs très compétents en matière d’accès à l’information.

Conscient des difficultés qui se posent à l’échelle fédérale quant au recrutement d’enquêteurs experimentés (niveau PM-05), le Commissariat a établi un programme pour recruter des agents subalternes et offrir à ceux-ci un mécanisme structuré d’avancement à des postes d’enquêteur de niveau intermédiaire et supérieur. Le programme prévoit de l’encadrement, de la formation, du mentorat, des affectations de perfectionnement et des examens, le tout afin de favoriser l’avancement du niveau PM-02 à PM-05 sans concours. Il faudra de 12 à 18 mois pour passer d’un niveau à l’autre. Avant d’atteindre le niveau PM-05, les enquêteurs stagiaires devront, comme on l’a indiqué auparavant, terminer avec succès le Programme de certificat en AIPRP. On trouvera une description plus détaillée du Programme de formation de l’enquêteur sur le site Internet du Commissaire à l’information.

Le Commissaire exhorte les responsables d’autres institutions gouvernementales à envisager une approche similaire pour favoriser l’avancement de leurs administrateurs de l’AIPRP au lieu de continuer à tolérer la pratique destructive qui consiste à « chasser sur les terres » d’autres institutions de même que les stratégies inacceptables connexes, comme le fait de surclassifier des employés de manière intentionnelle, de tolérer le manque de connaissances et de compétences et de recourir de manière exagérée aux consultants (pratique néfaste pour le moral des troupes).


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant