Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents    

Corporate Services

Corporate Services provides financial, human resources, information management/information technology, and general administrative services to support the work of the Office of the Information Commissioner. As well, Corporate Services oversees systems of management control and accountability.

During the reporting year, Corporate Services took steps to develop an internal audit capacity and to put in place a plan for coming into compliance with new responsibilities contained in the Federal Accountability Act.

Internal Audit

The Treasury Board of Canada’s responsibilities and powers under the Financial Administration Act, as amended by the Federal Accountability Act, now includes all matters relating to internal audit in the federal public administration.

The Treasury Board of Canada’s new Policy on Internal Audit (the Policy) came into effect on April 1, 2006, and requires that its implementation be phased in between April 1, 2006 and April 1, 2009. The objective of the Policy is to strengthen public sector accountability, risk management, resource stewardship, and good governance by reorganizing and bolstering internal audit on a government-wide basis.

The Policy requires that the Information Commissioner, for the first time, establish an internal audit function, establish an independent audit committee, appoint a chief audit executive, and approve an internal audit plan. The Commissioner will comply.

Consequently, the Commissioner’s office is preparing a Treasury Board Submission for additional funding associated with this initiative.

Federal Accountability Act Compliance

The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) was advised, on February 22, 2007, by the President of the Treasury Board, that it, as well as the other Officers of Parliament, would be subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act as of April 1, 2007.

The legal and operational requirements necessary to comply with both Acts have been put in place. An Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator has been appointed, with full delegation to answer access requests.

As well, the OIC has established a process whereby complaints under the Act against the Information Commissioner can be independently investigated. Former Supreme Court of Canada Justice, the Hon. Peter Corey, has agreed to undertake the role.

Upon implementation of the above-named Acts, the OIC will also become subject to the Library and Archives of Canada Act. Arrangements are being made to meet the requirements of the National Librarian and Archivist on the management of information. OIC Personal Information Banks are being registered with the Treasury Board.

Consequently, the Commissioner’s office is preparing a Treasury Board Submission for additional funding associated with this initiative.

Financial Performance and Tables

The tables in the following section contain summaries of financial information under the following headings:

  • Main Estimates - the OIC budget levels as set out in the 2006-2007 Main Estimates;
  • Planned Spending - the planned spending at the beginning of the fiscal year as set out in the 2006-2007 Report on Plans and Priorities;
  • Total Authorities - for the 2006-2007 reporting cycle, the "total authorities" column refers to total spending authorities received during the fiscal year; as well as funding received from 2006-2007 Supplementary Estimates;
  • Actual – the column refers to what is printed in the Public Accounts of Canada for the same fiscal year.

Please note that, in all four of the following tables, the 2006-2007 figures for Total Authorities and Actual Spending do not include final year-end adjustments.

Table 1: Comparison of Planned-to-Actual Spending (including FTEs)

This table offers a comparison of the Main Estimates, planned spending, total authorities, and actual spending for the most recently completed fiscal year, as well as historical figures for actual spending.

($ thousands)

Actual

2004-2005

Actual

2005-2006

2006-2007

Main Estimates

Planned Spending

Total Authorities

Actual

Assess, investigate, review, pursue judicial enforcement, and provide advice

5 556

5 891

8 181

8 181

8 270

6 652

Total

5 556

5 891

8 181

8 181

8 270

6 652

Plus: Cost of services received without charge

882

831

1 137

1 137

1 137

820

Total Departmental Spending

6 438

6 722

9 318

9 318

9 407

7 472

             

Full Time Equivalents

52

53

78

78

78

54

Table 2: Resources by Program Activity

The following table provides information on how resources are used for the most recently completed fiscal year.

($ thousands)

2006-2007

Program Activity

Budgetary

Operating

Total

Assess, investigate, review, pursue judicial enforcement,and provide advice

   
 

Main Estimates

8 181

8 181

 

Total Planned Spending

8 181

8 181

 

Total Authorities

8 270

8 270

 

Total Actual Spending

6 652

6 652

       

Total

   
 

Main Estimates

8 181

8 181

 

Total Planned Spending

8 181

8 181

 

Total Authorities

8 270

8 270

 

Total Actual Spending

6 652

6 652

Table 3: Voted and Statutory Items

This table explains the way Parliament votes resources to the department and basically replicates the summary table listed in the Main Estimates. Resources are presented to Parliament in this format. Parliament approves the voted funding, and the statutory information is provided for information purposes.

($ thousands)

2006-2007

Vote or statutory item

Truncated Vote or Statutory Wording

Main Estimates

Planned Spending

Total Authorities

Actual

           

40

Operating Expenditures

7 188

7 188

7 277

5 917

(S)

Contributions to Employee Benefit Plans

993

993

993

735

           

Total

 

8 181

8 181

8 270

6 652

Table 4: Services Received Without Charge

This table is designed to show the actual costs of services received without charge by a department.

($ thousands)

2006-2007

Accommodation provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada

430

Contributions covering employers’ share of employees’ insurance premiums

and expenditures paid by the Treasury Board of Canada

303

Office of the Auditor General - audit services

87

Total 2006-2007 Services Received Without Charge

820


Previous   Table of contents

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières    

Les Services intégrés

Les Services intégrés fournissent des services financiers, de gestion des ressources humaines, de gestion de l’information et de technologie de l’information et des services administratifs généraux à l’appui des activités du Commissariat à l’information. Ils supervisent également les systèmes de contrôle et de responsabilisation en matière de gestion.

Au cours de l’année visée par le présent rapport, les Services intégrés ont pris des mesures pour l’établissement d’une capacité interne de vérification et d’un plan d’action en vue d’assumer leurs nouvelles responsabilités aux termes de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité.

La vérification interne

Les responsabilités et pouvoirs conférés au Conseil du Trésor du Canada par la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, modifiée par la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, portent désormais sur toutes les affaires relatives à la vérification interne de l’administration publique fédérale.

La nouvelle politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la vérification interne (la Politique) est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2006. Son application progressive s’étendra du 1er avril 2006 au 1er avril 2009. L’objectif de la Politique est de consolider la responsabilisation, la gestion des risques, la gestion des ressources et la bonne gouvernance dans le secteur public en réorganisant et en soutenant la vérification interne à l’échelle fédérale.

En vertu de la Politique, le Commissaire à l’information, pour la première fois, doit créer une fonction de vérification interne, former un comité de vérification indépendant, nommer un directeur de la vérification et approuver un plan de vérification interne. Il se conformera à ces exigences.

Le Commissariat est donc en train d’élaborer une présentation au Conseil du Trésor pour obtenir des fonds supplémentaires à cet égard.

Respect de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité

Le 22 février 2007, le Commissariat à l’information a été informé par le président du Conseil du Trésor du Canada qu’il serait, au même titre que les autres hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels à partir du 1er avril 2007.

Les conditions juridiques et opérationnelles nécessaires à l’application des deux lois ont été instaurées. Un coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels a été désigné, et il est investi de tous les pouvoirs délégués dont il a besoin pour répondre aux demandes de communication.

Par ailleurs, le Commissariat a instauré une procédure selon laquelle les plaintes déposées en vertu de la Loi contre le Commissaire à l’information peuvent faire l’objet d’une enquête indépendante. C’est l’honorable Peter Corey, ancien juge à la Cour suprême du Canada, qui assumera ce rôle.

Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre des deux lois, le Commissariat sera également assujetti à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives Canada. Des dispositions sont prises pour répondre aux besoins du bibliothécaire et archiviste national en matière de gestion de l’information. Les banques de renseignements personnels du Commissariat sont en cours d’inscription auprès du Conseil du Trésor.

Rendement financier et tableaux

 

Les tableaux suivants résument des renseignements financiers sous les rubriques suivantes :

  • Budget principal des dépenses
  • – Budget du Commissariat selon le Budget principal des dépenses de 2006-2007.
  • Dépenses prévues
  • – Dépenses prévues au début de l’exercice selon le Rapport sur les plans et priorités pour 2006-2007.
  • Dépenses autorisées
  • – Pour l’exercice 2006-2007, la colonne « Dépenses autorisées » renvoie aux autorisations obtenues au cours de l’exercice ainsi que les fonds reçus au titre de Budget supplémentaire des dépenses;
  • Dépenses réelles
  • – La colonne des « Dépenses réelles » fait référence à ce qui est imprimé dans les Comptes publics du Canada pour le même exercice financier.

Veuillez noter que, pour chacun des quatre tableaux suivants, les données de 2006-2007 pour les Dépenses autorisées et les Dépenses réelles n’incluent pas les rajustements finales de fin d’année.

 

Tableau 1 : Dépenses prévues et dépenses réelles (y compris les ETP)

Ce tableau propose une comparaison entre le budget principal des dépenses, les dépenses prévues, les dépenses autorisées et les dépenses réelles pour le dernier exercice, ainsi que des données chronologiques sur les dépenses réelles.

(en milliers de $)

Dépenses réelles

2004-2005

Dépenses réelles

2005-2006

2006-2007

Budget principal des dépenses

Dépenses prévues

Dépenses autorisées

Dépenses réelles

Évaluer, enquêter, examiner, faire appliquer la loi et fournir des conseils

5 556

5 891

8 181

8 181

8 270

6 652

Total

5 556

5 891

8 181

8 181

8 270

6 652

Plus : Coût des services obtenus gratuitement

882

831

1 137

1 137

1 137

820

Total des dépenses

6 438

6 722

9 318

9 318

9 407

7 472

             

Équivalents temps plein

52

53

78

78

78

54

 

Tableau 2 :

Ressources par activité de programme

Le tableau suivant fournit des renseignements sur l’utilisation des ressources au cours du dernier exercice.

(en milliers de $)

2006-2007

Activité de programme

Budget

Fonctionnement

Total

Évaluer, enquêter, examiner, faire appliquer la loi et fournir des conseils

   
 

Budget principal des dépenses

8 181

8 181

 

Total des dépenses prévues

8 181

8 181

 

Total des dépenses autorisées

8 270

8 270

 

Total des dépenses réelles

6 652

6 652

       

Total

   
 

Budget principal des dépenses

8 181

8 181

 

Total des dépenses prévues

8 181

8 181

 

Total des dépenses autorisées

8 270

8 270

 

Total des dépenses réelles

6 652

6 652

 

Tableau 3 : Dépenses votées et dépenses législatives

Ce tableau explique comment le Parlement vote des ressources à l’intention du Commissariat. Il est à peu près identique au tableau récapitulatif qui apparaît dans le Budget principal des dépenses. Les ressources sont présentées sous cette forme au Parlement. Celui-ci approuve les crédits votés, et les renseignements requis par la Loi sont fournis à titre informatif.

(en milliers de $)

2006-2007

Poste voté ou législatif

Libellé tronqué pour le poste voté ou législatif

Budget principal des dépenses

Dépenses prévues

Dépenses autorisées

Dépenses réelles

           

40

Dépenses de fonctionnement

7 188

7 188

7 277

5 917

(S)

Contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés

993

993

993

735

           
 

Total

8 181

8 181

8 270

6 652

Tableau 4 : Services reçus à titre gracieux

Ce tableau indique les dépenses réelles pour les services reçus à titre gratuit par le Commissariat.

(en milliers de $)

2006-2007

Locaux fournis par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada

430

Contributions payées par le Conseil du Trésor du Canada couvrant la quote-part de l'employeur des primes d'assurance des employés

303

Services de vérification du Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada

87

Total des services reçus gratuitement en 2006-2007

820