Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

D. Proposed Changes to Schedule I and II

In legislation before Parliament, it is proposed that the following institutions be added to Schedule I:

  • Canada Fisheries Tribunal /Office des pêches du Canada [section 216 of Bill C-45, An Act respecting the sustainable development of Canada's seacoast and inland fisheries, received Second Reading on February 23, 2007] 
  • Registrar of the Breast Implant Registry / Directeur du Registre des implants mammaires [section 19 of Bill C-312, An Act to establish and maintain a national Breast Implant Registry, received First Reading on May 29, 2006]

The following changes are proposed for Schedule II:

  • Amendment: Replace the reference to "subsections 4.79(1) and 6.5(5)" opposite the reference to the Aeronautics Act with a reference to "subsection 4.79(1), sections 5.392 and 5.393, subsections 5.394(2), 5.397(2), 6.5(5), 22(2) and 24.1(4) and section 24.7". [Government public Bill C-6, entitled An Act to amend the Aeronautics Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts, referred to the Transport, Infrastructure, and Communities Committee on November 7, 2006]

The new sections proposed provide that, if a holder of a Canadian aviation document has a management system with a process that requires or encourages its employees to disclose to it any thing or circumstance that could present a risk to the safety of aeronautical activities, that information is confidential, and the Minister shall not disclose it or make it available except in some circumstances.  Also, if an operator of an aircraft has a management system with a process for the collection, analysis and use of information derived from a flight data recorder, then any information collected under the process that comes into the Minister’s possession or information disclosed under an agreement for that process, is confidential, and the Minister shall not disclose it or make it available except in some circumstances.  Moreover, every on-board recording is privileged and shall not be communicated.

    • Amendment: Section 241 of the Income Tax Act, already listed in Schedule II

 

According to a proposed amendment to section 241 of the Income Tax Act [Government Bill C-33 entitled An Act to amend the Income Tax Act, including amendments in relation to foreign investment entities and non-resident trusts, and to provide for the bijural expression of the provisions of that Act, received First Reading on November 22, 2006], the Minister of Canadian Heritage may disclose taxpayer information in respect of a Canadian film or video production certificate to specific persons such as employees whose mandate includes the provision of assistance in respect of films or video production for the purpose of administrating or enforcing the program.

  • Add: Excise Act, 2001 / Loi de 2001 sur l’accise and a corresponding reference to "section 211". [section 134 of Government Bill C-40 entitled An Act to amend the Excise Tax Act, the Excise Act, 2001 and the Air Travellers Security Charge Act and to make related amendments to other Acts, received Second Reading on January 30, 2007 and referred to committee (Finance)]

According to section 211, information obtained under that Act cannot be disclosed except in circumstances such as for the purpose of enforcing and administrating the Act, to specific officials for enforcement of various Acts, or with the consent of the person.

  • Add: Breast Implant Registry Act / Loi sur le Registre des implants mammaires and a corresponding reference to "section 11"  [section 20 of Private Member’s Bill C-312, entitled An Act to establish and maintain a national Breast Implant Registry, received First Reading on May 29, 2006].

Section 11 provides that information contained in the Registry can only be communicated with the consent of the person, and the person needs to be informed of the purpose for which the consent is sought.  The Registrar may disclose information for the purpose of enforcing the Act, the administration of health care insurance plans, or for the purpose of disciplinary proceedings.  Also, unidentifiable information may be disclosed for scientific research or statistical purposes, or when the disclosure is necessary to address the risk to the health of the person.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

D. Modifications proposées aux annexes I et II

Dans la législation devant le Parlement, on propose que les institutions suivantes soient ajoutées à l’annexe I :

  • Office des pêches du Canada / Canada Fisheries Tribunal [article 216 du projet de loi C-45, la Loi concernant le développement durable des pêches dans les eaux côtières et les eaux intérieures du Canada, qui a fait l’objet d’une deuxième lecture le 23 février 2007]
  • Directeur du Registre des implants mammaires / Registrar of the Breast Implant Registry [article 19 du projet de loi C-312, la Loi prévoyant l'établissement et la tenue d'un registre national des implants mammaires, qui a fait l’objet d’une première lecture le 29 mai 2006]

Les modifications suivantes sont proposées à l’annexe II :

- Remplacement du renvoi aux « paragraphes 4.79(1) et 6.5(5) » en regard de la mention « Loi sur l’aéronautique » par la mention au « paragraphe 4.79(1), aux articles 5.392 et 5.393, aux paragraphes 5.394(2), 5.397(2), 6.5(5), 22(2) et 24.1(4) et à l’article 24.7 » [Projet de loi d’intérêt public C-6 du gouvernement, la Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’aéronautique et d’autres lois en conséquence; le projet de loi a été renvoyé au Comité des transports, de l’infrastructure et des collectivités le 7 novembre 2006]

Les nouvelles dispositions proposées prévoient que, si le détenteur d’un document d’aviation canadien a un système de gestion doté d’une procédure exigeant de ses employés (ou les y incitant) qu’ils lui révèlent tout fait ou circonstance pouvant représenter un danger pour la sécurité des activités aéronautiques, ces renseignements sont confidentiels, et le ministre ne doit pas les communiquer, à moins de circonstances particulières. De plus, si l’utilisateur d’un aéronef a un système de gestion doté d’un processus de collecte, d’analyse et d’utilisation de l’information provenant d’un enregistreur de données de vol, tous les renseignements recueillis dans le cadre de ce processus qui sont confiés au ministre ou qui sont communiqués en vertu d’une entente relative à ce processus sont confidentiels, et le ministre ne doit pas les communiquer ou y donner accès sauf dans certaines circonstances. Par ailleurs, tous les renseignements enregistrés à bord sont confidentiels et ne doivent pas être communiqués.

  • Modification : article 241 de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, déjà à l’annexe II

D’après une modification proposée à l’article 241 de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu [projet de loi C-33 du gouvernement, la Loi modifiant la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, dont des modifications concernant les organismes d’investissement étranger et les fiducies de non-résidents et prévoyant l’expression bijuridiques des dispositions de la Loi. Le projet de loi a fait l’objet d’une première lecture le 22 novembre 2006], le ministre du Patrimoine canadien peut communiquer des renseignements sur les contribuables à l’égard d’un certificat canadien de production cinématographique ou magnétoscopique à certaines personnes, par exemple des employés dont le mandat est, entre autres, de faciliter la production cinématographique ou magnétoscopique dans le cadre de l’administration ou de l’exécution du programme.

  • Ajout : Loi de 2001 sur l’accise / Excise Act, 2001 et d’un renvoi correspondant à l’article 211 [Article 134 du projet de loi C-40 du gouvernement, la Loi modifiant la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise, la Loi sur le droit pour la sécurité des passagers du transport aérien et d'autres lois en conséquence. Le projet de loi a fait l’objet d’une deuxième lecture le 30 janvier 2007 et a été renvoyé à un comité (le Comité des finances)].

Selon l’article 211, les renseignements obtenus en vertu de la Loi ne peuvent être communiqués sauf dans certaines circonstances, par exemple dans le cadre de l’administration et de l’exécution de la Loi, à certains fonctionnaires pour l’exécution de diverses lois ou avec le consentement de l’intéressé.

  • Adjonction : Loi sur le Registre des implants mammaires / Breast Implant Registry Act et d’un renvoi correspondant à l’article 11 [article 20 du projet de loi C-312 d’initiative parlementaire, la Loi prévoyant l'établissement et la tenue d'un registre national des implants mammaires]. Le projet de loi a fait l’objet d’une première lecture le 29 mai 2006.

L’article 11 prévoit que les renseignements contenus dans le Registre ne peuvent être communiqués qu’avec le consentement de l’intéressée, qui doit être informée de la raison pour laquelle son consentement est sollicité. Le directeur du registre peut communiquer des renseignements dans le cadre de l’exécution de la Loi, pour l’administration du régime d’assurance-maladie ou dans le cadre de procédures disciplinaires. Il est aussi possible de communiquer des renseignements ne permettant pas d’identifier de personnes à des fins scientifiques et statistiques ou lorsque la communication est nécessaire si la santé de la personne est en danger.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant