Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next


C. Changes to Schedule I and II

(i) Institutions Added to Schedule I

The following institutions were added to Schedule I:

    • Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions / Bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales [section 129 of the Federal Accountability Act]
    • Corporation for the Mitigation of Mackenzie Gas Project Impacts / Société d’atténuation des répercussions du projet gazier Mackenzie [section 210 of the Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tables in Parliament on May 2, 2006, S.C. 2006, c. 4; came into force on November 10, 2006 (SI/2006-0132) ]
    • Office of the Administrator of the Ship-source Oil Pollution Fund /Bureau de l’administrateur de la Caisse d’indemnisation des dommages dus à la pollution par les hydrocarbures causée par les navires [SOR/2006-0217; September 21, 2006]
    • Public Appointments Commission Secretariat / Secrétariat de la Commission des nominations publiques [SOR/2006-70; May 17, 2006]
  • First Nations Financial Management Board / Conseil de gestion financière des premières nations ; First Nations Statistical Institute / Institut de la statistique des premières nations ; First Nations Tax Commission / Commission de la fiscalité des premières nations [section 147 of the First Nations Fiscal and Statistical Management Act, S.C. 2005, c. 9, came into force on April 1st, 2006; SI/2006-0059]
    • Assisted Human Reproduction Agency of Canada / Agence canadienne de contrôle de la procréation assistée  [section 72 of the Assisted Human Reproduction Act, S.C. 2004, c.2; came into force on January 12, 2006 (SI/2005/42)]
    • Canadian Wheat Board /Commission canadienne du blé
    • Asia-Pacific Foundation of Canada / Fondation Asie-Pacifique du Canada
    • Canada Foundation for Innovation / Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation
    • Canada Foundation for Sustainable Development Technology / Fondation du Canada pour l'appui technologique au développement durable
    • Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation / Fondation canadienne des bourses d'études du millénaire
    • The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation / La Fondation Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau
    • Office of the Auditor General of Canada / Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada
    • Office of the Chief Electoral Officer / Bureau du directeur général des élections
    • Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages / Commissariat aux langues officielles
    • Office of the Information Commissioner / Commissariat à l’information
    • Office of the Privacy Commissioner / Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée

[sections 165-171 of the Federal Accountability Act]

  • Office of the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner / Commissariat à l’intégrité du secteur public; Registry of the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Tribunal / Greffe du Tribunal de la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d’actes répréhensibles [section 221 of the Federal Accountability Act]
  • Canadian Centre for the Independent Resolution of First Nations Specific Claims / Centre canadien du règlement indépendant des revendications particulières des premières nations [section 78 of the Specific Claims Resolution Act, S.C. 2003, c. 23]

(ii) Institutions Struck Out from Schedule I

Schedule I to the Act was amended by striking out the following:

  • Canadian Firearms Centre / Centre canadien des armes à feu [SOR/2006-99; May 17, 2006; the program was transferred to the RCMP]
  • Office of the Registrar of Lobbyists / Bureau du directeur des lobbyists and add: Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying / Commissariat au lobbying [sections 90 and 91 of the Federal Accountability Act]

Since the Federal Accountability Act provides for a new definition of "government institution", when that section comes into force (on September 1st, 2007), the Crown Corporations and their wholly-owned subsidiaries will be struck out from Schedule I as they will be included by part (b) of the definition.

 

 

 

 

 

(iii) Changes to Schedule II

The following changes were made to Schedule II:

    • Add: Export Development Act / Loi sur le développement des exportations and a corresponding reference to "section 24.3" [sections 172 and 179 of the Federal Accountability Act]

Section 24.3 provides that all information obtained in relation to a customer is privileged and must not be communicated except for the administration or enforcement of the Act, for prosecution of an offence, or to the Minister of National Revenue for the purpose of administrating or enforcing the Income Tax Act or the Excise Tax Act, or with the consent of the person.

    • Amendment:Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act / Loi sur le droit à l’exportation de produits de bois d’oeuvre and the corresponding reference to "section 20" was struck out and replaced by Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act, 2006 / Loi de 2006 sur les droits d’exportation de produits de bois d’oeuvre and a corresponding reference in respect of that Act to "section 84" [sections 118 and 119 of Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act, 2006; S.C., 2006, c.13, came into force or are deemed to have come into force on October 12, 2006].

Section 84 provides that any information of any kind and in any form that relates to one or more persons and that is obtained by or on behalf of the Minister for the purposes of this Act, and any information that is prepared from such information, shall not be disclosed.   There are some exceptions such as for administration or enforcement of this Act or other such as the Customs Act; for criminal proceedings; any legal proceedings under an international agreement relating to trade before a court; the Minister may provide to appropriate persons any confidential information relating to imminent danger of death or physical injury to any individual; with the consent of the person.  Also, despite any other Act of Parliament or other law, no official shall be required, in connection with any legal proceedings, to give or produce evidence relating to any confidential information.

    • Amendment: Section 241 of the Income Tax Act, already listed in Schedule II

Section 241 was amended to allow the Canada Revenue Agency to disclose to the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and the Canadian Security Intelligence Service information about charities suspected of being involved in terrorist financing activities.  The changes to section 241 provide that an official may disclose some information in specific circumstances for the purposes of the administration and enforcement of the Charities Registration (Security Information) Act. [Act to amend the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act and the Income Tax Act and to make a consequential amendment to another Act, S.C. 2006, c. 12; came into force on February 10, 2007 (SI/2007-18)]. 

  • Add: First Nations Fiscal and Statistical Management Act / Loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des Premières nations and a corresponding reference to "section 108" [section 148 of the First Nations Fiscal and Statistical Management Act; S.C. 2005, c. 9, came into force on April 1st, 2006; (SI/2006-0059)]

Section 108 provides that identifiable individual returns shall not be examined except by person employed by the Institute or in some circumstances such as for the conduct of a prosecution, or in accordance with an agreement made under section 106.  Also, the First Nations Chief Statistician may authorize the disclosure of some specific information. 

    • Amendment: Section 17 of the Statistics Act, already listed in Schedule II

The Act to amend the Statistics Act (S.C. 2005, c. 31) came into force on Royal Assent on June 29, 2005, and added the following to the Statistics Act, affecting section 17:

18.1 (1) The information contained in the returns of each census of population taken between 1910 and 2005 is no longer subject to sections 17 and 18 ninety-two years after the census is taken.

(2) The information contained in the returns of each census of population taken in 2006 or later is no longer subject to sections 17 and 18 ninety-two years after the census is taken, but only if the person to whom the information relates consents, at the time of the census, to the release of the information ninety-two years later.

(3) When sections 17 and 18 cease to apply to information referred to in subsection (1) or (2), the information shall be placed under the care and control of the Library and Archives of Canada.

It should be noted that a mandatory review is provided for the administration and operation of subsection 18.1(2)  [section 2].

  • Add: Canada Elections Act / Loi électorale du Canada and a corresponding reference to "section 540" [section 172.01 of the Federal Accountability Act]

Section 540 provides that no election documents or documents related to the Register of Electors can be inspected or produced except by order of a judge. There are two exceptions: inspection for the purpose of an inquiry under section 510 or a prosecution for an offence under the Act.

  • Add: Specific Claims Resolution Act / Loi sur le règlement des revendications particulières and a corresponding reference to "section 38 and subsections 62(2) and 75(2)" [section 79 of the Specific Claims Resolution Act (S.C. 2003, c. 23)]

Section 38 and paragraphs 62(2) and 75(2) provides that information related to a specific claim cannot be disclose unless the parties to the claim consent, that hearings are public except when necessary, and that the Commission or the Tribunal can take any measures to keep confidential documents filed confidential in some circumstances.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

C. Modifications aux annexes I et II

(i) Institutions ajoutées à l’annexe I

Les institutions suivantes ont été ajoutées à l’annexe I :

  • Bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales / Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions [article 129 de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité]
  • Société d’atténuation des répercussions du projet gazier Mackenzie / Corporation for the Mitigation of Mackenzie Gas Project Impacts [article 210 de la Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement le 2 mai 2006, L.C. (2006), ch. 4, entré en vigueur le 10 novembre 2006; TR/2006-0132]
  • Bureau de l’administrateur de la Caisse d’indemnisation des dommages dus à la pollution par les hydrocarbures causée par les navires / Office of the Administrator of the Ship-source Oil Pollution Fund [DORS/2006-0217; 21 septembre 2006]
  • Secrétariat de la Commission des nominations publiques / Public Appointments Commission Secretariat [DORS/2006-70; 17 mai 2006]
  • Conseil de gestion financière des premières nations / First Nations Financial Management Board; Institut de la statistique des premières nations / First Nations Statistical Institute; Commission de la fiscalité des premières nations / First Nations Tax Commission [article 147 de la Loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des Premières nations; L.C. (2005), ch. 9, entré en vigueur le 1er avril 2006; TR/2006-0059]
  • Agence canadienne de contrôle de la procréation assistée / Assisted Human Reproduction Agency of Canada [article 72 de la Loi sur la procréation assistée, L.C. (2004), ch.2; entré en vigueur le 12 janvier 2006; TR/2005/42]
  • Commission canadienne du blé / Canadian Wheat Board
  • Fondation Asie-Pacifique du Canada / Asia-Pacific Foundation of Canada
  • Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation / Canada Foundation for Innovation
  • Fondation du Canada pour l'appui technologique au développement durable / Canada Foundation for Sustainable Development Technology
  • Fondation canadienne des bourses d'études du millénaire / Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation
  • La Fondation Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau / The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation
  • Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada / Office of the Auditor General of Canada
  • Bureau du directeur général des élections / Office of the Chief Electoral Officer
  • Commissariat aux langues officielles / Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages
  • Commissariat à l’information / Office of the Information Commissioner
  • Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée / Office of the Privacy Commissioner

[articles 165-171 de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité]

  • Commissariat à l’intégrité du secteur public / Office of the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner; Greffe du Tribunal de la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d’actes répréhensibles / Registry of the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Tribunal [article 221 de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité]
  • Centre canadien du règlement indépendant des revendications particulières des premières nations / The Canadian Centre for the Independent Resolution of First Nations Specific Claims [article 78 de la Loi sur le règlement des revendications particulières, L.C. (2003), ch. 23]

(ii) Institutions modifiées par suppression à l’annexe I

L’annexe I de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information a été modifiée par la suppression de ce qui suit :

  • Centre canadien des armes à feu / Canadian Firearms Centre [DORS/2006-99; 17 mai 2006; le programme a été transféré à la GRC]
  • Bureau du directeur des lobbyists / Office of the Registrar of Lobbyists et adjonction : Commissariat au lobbying / Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying [articles 90 et 91 de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité]

Puisque la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité prévoit une nouvelle définition d’« institution gouvernementale », lorsque cette disposition entrera en vigueur le 1er septembre 2007, les sociétés d’État et leurs filiales en propriété exclusive seront supprimées de l’annexe I, car elles seront incluses dans la partie b) de la définition.

(iii) Modifications à l’annexe II

Les modifications suivantes ont été apportées à l’annexe II :

    • Ajout : Loi sur le développement des exportations / Export Development Act et un renvoi correspondant à l’article 24.3 [articles 172 et 179 de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité]

L’article 24.3 prévoit que tous les renseignements obtenus au sujet d’un client sont confidentiels et ne doivent pas être communiqués sauf pour l’administration ou l’exécution de la Loi, dans le cadre de poursuites en raison d’une infraction ou au ministre du Revenu national aux fins de l’administration ou de l’exécution de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu ou de la Loi de la taxe d’accise, ou avec le consentement de l’intéressé.

    • Modification : Suppression de la Loi sur le droit à l’exportation de produits de bois d’œuvre / Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Actet du renvoi correspondant à l’article 20 et remplacement par la Loi de 2006 sur les droits d’exportation de produits de bois d’œuvre / Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act, 2006et d’un renvoi correspondant à l’article 84 [Articles 118 et 119 de la Loi sur le droit à l’exportation de produits de bois d’oeuvres, L.C. (2006), ch. 13, entrés en vigueur ou réputés être entrés en vigueur le 12 octobre 2006]

L’article 84 prévoit que les renseignements, de quelque sorte que ce soit et sous quelque forme que ce soit, concernant une ou plusieurs personnes, qui ont été obtenus par ou pour le ministre aux fins de la présente Loi, ainsi que les renseignements tirés de ces renseignements, ne doivent pas être communiqués. Il existe des exceptions, par exemple pour l’administration ou l’exécution de la présente Loi ou d’autres lois, comme la Loi sur les douanes, dans le cadre de poursuites au criminel ou d’une action en justice aux termes d’un accord commercial international, lorsque le ministre peut fournir aux personnes compétentes des renseignements confidentiels concernant un risque imminent de blessure ou de décès pour une personne, ou lorsque l’intéressé y consent. De plus, nonobstant toute autre loi du Parlement ou autre, aucun fonctionnaire ne peut être tenu, relativement à une action en justice, de donner ou de produire des éléments de preuve concernant des renseignements confidentiels.

  • Modification : article 241 de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, apparaissant déjà à l’annexe II

L’article 241 de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenua été modifié pour permettre à l’Agence du revenu du Canada de communiquer au Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada, à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et au Service canadien de renseignement de sécurité des renseignements sur les organisations caritatives soupçonnées de participer à des activités de financement du terrorisme. Les modifications apportées à l’article 241 prévoient qu’un fonctionnaire peut révéler certains renseignements dans certaines circonstances aux fins de l’administration et de l’exécution de la Loi sur l'enregistrement des organismes de bienfaisance (renseignements de sécurité) [Loi modifiant la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes, la Loi de l'impôtsurle revenu et une autre loi en conséquence, L.C. (2006), ch. 12; entrée en vigueur le 10 février 2007; TR/2007-18]

  • Ajout : la Loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des Premières nations / First Nations Fiscal and Statistical Management Act et d’un renvoi correspondant à l’article 108. [article 148 de la Loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des Premières nations; L.C. (2005), ch. 9; entré en vigueur le 1er avril 2006; TR/2006-0059]

L’article 108 prévoit que les déclarations d’une personne identifiable ne doivent être examinées que par des personnes employées par l’Institut ou dans certaines circonstances, par exemple dans le cadre d’une poursuite judiciaire ou conformément à une entente conclue aux termes de l’article 106. De plus, le statisticien en chef des Premières nations peut autoriser la communication de certains renseignements précis. 

  • Modification : article 17 de la Loi sur la statistiqueapparaissant déjà à l’annexe II

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur la statistique (L.C. (2005), ch. 31) est entrée en vigueur au moment où elle a reçu la sanction royale, le 29 juin 2005. Un article est ajouté à la Loi sur la statistique, changement qui affecte l’article 17 :

18.1

(1) Les articles 17 et 18 cessent de s’appliquer aux renseignements contenus dans les relevés de tout recensement de la population fait entre 1910 et 2005 quatre-vingt-douze ans après la tenue du recensement.

(2) La même règle s’applique à l’égard de tout recensement de la population fait en 2006 ou par la suite, mais seulement si la personne visée par les renseignements consent, lors du recensement, à ce que ceux-ci cessent d’être protégés quatre-vingt-douze ans plus tard.

(3) Lorsque les articles 17 et 18 cessent de s’appliquer aux renseignements visés aux paragraphes (1) et (2), ceux-ci sont placés sous la garde et la responsabilité de Bibliothèque et Archives du Canada.

Rappelons qu’un examen obligatoire est prévu concernant l’application et le fonctionnement du paragraphe 18.1(2) [article 2].

  • Ajout :Loi électorale du Canada / Canada Elections Actet renvoi correspondant à l’article 540 [article 172.01 de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité]

L’article 540 prévoit qu’aucun document électoral ni aucun document ayant trait à l’inscription au Registre des électeurs ne peut être inspecté ou produit à moins d’une ordonnance judiciaire. Il y a deux exceptions à cette règle : l’inspection dans le cadre d’une enquête en vertu de l’article 510 et une poursuite en raison d’une infraction à la Loi.

  • Ajout : Loi sur le règlement des revendications particulières / Specific Claims Resolution Act et renvoi correspondant à l’article 38 et aux paragraphes 62(2) et 75(2) [article 79 de la Loi sur le règlement des revendications particulières; L.C. (2003), ch. 23]

L’article 38 et les paragraphes 62(2) et 75(2) prévoient que les renseignements concernant une revendication particulière ne peuvent pas être communiqués, à moins que les parties à la revendication y consentent, que les audiences doivent être publiques si nécessaire et que la Commission ou le Tribunal peuvent prendre les mesures qu’ils jugent utiles pour protéger les documents confidentiels dans certaines circonstances.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant