Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

D. Cases in Progress – Information Commissioner as an Intervener

  1. SNC Lavalin Inc.
  2. v. Canada (Minister of International Cooperation and Minister of Foreign Affairs) and Canada (Information Commissioner)

A-309-03

Nature of Proceedings

The Information Commissioner is an intervener in this appeal from the judgment rendered by Justice Gibson of the Federal Court in SNC Lavalin Inc. v. Canada (Minister for International Co-operation and the Minister of Foreign Affairs), 2003 FCT 681, T-387-01, 30 May 2003.

Factual Background

The access request was received by the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) on December 15, 2000. The requester wanted to obtain "[a]uditors’ working papers, including all records used by their auditors and by CIDA in the auditing process, for the Comprehensive Audit (Feb. 99) of the River Nile Protection and Development project." The requester also stated he had read the audit and that the audit had found, among other things, problems with project objectives.

As required by section 27 of the Act , CIDA made available to SNC Lavalin some documents that were responsive to the request, so that it could make representations about the intended disclosure. SNC Lavalin made representations as to why the records or parts thereof should not be disclosed. The head of CIDA decided to release the records or parts thereof.

SNC Lavalin applied for a review by the Federal Court, pursuant to section 44 of the Act, claiming that the records contained information that should properly be exempted pursuant to sections 20 (third-party confidential business information) and 19 (personal information). The Federal Court dismissed SNC Lavalin’s application.

SNC Lavalin appealed the judgment. Its grounds for appeal included a contention that the Application Judge had erred in law in concluding that a third party was not entitled to seek an exemption of records pursuant to section 19 of the Act and that the judge had erred in fact in concluding that no further exemptions pursuant to section 19, beyond those identified by the Minister, were warranted.

The Information Commissioner brought a motion to the Federal Court of Appeal, requesting to intervene in the matter and was granted leave to intervene with full party status.

At the request of SNC Lavalin, the Federal Court of Appeal issued an order on September 4, 2003, holding the appeal in abeyance until there was a final disposition in the Heinz case (Attorney General of Canada v. H.J. Heinz Company of Canada, Court file No. A-161-03). The Heinz case also involved the issue of whether a third party applying for a review of a government decision to disclose records pursuant to section 44 could raise section 19 of the Act. The final judgment in Heinz was rendered by the Supreme Court of Canada on April 21, 2006, with the majority deciding that a third party could raise the exemption for personal information set out in section 19 of the Act.

Following this judgment, the SNC Lavalin case was resumed, with all parties filing their memorandum of fact and law. The Information Commissioner’s submissions were limited to the section 19 issue and invited the Federal Court of Appeal to offer further guidance on questions arising from third parties raising the personal information exemption, such as which party would bear the burden of proving that no exceptions applied to allow the release of personal information, if the records were found to include such information.

Issues Before the Court

The primary issue on appeal regards the applicability of paragraphs 20(1)(b), (c), and (d) of the Act to the materials the Minister intends to release to the access requester. SNC Lavalin claims the Federal Court made errors in determining that there was insufficient proof to apply these exemptions. The Minister is arguing that the Federal Court judgment should be upheld. The Information Commissioner has made representations regarding only the section 19 aspect of the case, submitting that the appellant has failed to show that there is further personal information in the record, beyond that acknowledged by the Federal Court.

Findings

The Federal Court found that a third party who is entitled to make representations pursuant to section 28 of the Act is not entitled to seek exemption of the records by virtue of section 19 of the Act [para. 24]. SNC Lavalin could not rely on the mandatory exemption provided for in section 19 of the Act in responding to the notice provided to it in the matter under section 27 of the Act [para. 27].

Despite this finding, the Federal Court considered the records at issue, the relevant elements of the definition of ‘personal information’, and the basic principles of interpretation of the Act, and was "satisfied that no exemptions pursuant to section 19 of the Act beyond those […] proposed on behalf of the Respondent Ministers […] [were] warranted" [para. 27].

On the question of the applicability of the section 20 exemption, the Court applied the analysis proposed in Air Atonabee Ltd. v. Canada (Minister of Transport),27 F.T.R. 194.  The Court was satisfied that "certain of the information reflected in the records proposed to be disclosed [was] of a financial nature"; that "certain of the information [was] confidential in the eyes of the Applicant"; that "such information was supplied to CIDA by the Applicant"; and that this information had been "treated consistently in a confidential manner by the Applicant".

However, the Court was not satisfied that the information was confidential on an objective standard. The paragraph 20(1)(b) exemption therefore did not apply [para. 35].

As for paragraph 20(1)(c) of the Act, the Court concluded the applicant’s evidence was too speculative to demonstrate a reasonable expectation of financial loss and prejudice to its competitive position if the records were disclosed [para. 36].

Finally, on the question of the applicability of the paragraph 20(1)(d) exemption, the Court was again of the view that the evidence was insufficient to demonstrate a reasonable expectation that the release of the records would harm the Applicant’s contractual or other negotiations [paras. 37-38]. The Court concluded that the applicant had failed to meet the burden of proof required to apply the section 20 exemption and dismissed the application [paras. 39-40].

Judicial Outcome

The application was dismissed. SNC Lavalin appealed the judgment. 

Action Taken / Future Action Contemplated

The appeal hearing will be scheduled shortly.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

D. Affaires en cours - Le Commissaire à l’information comme intervenant

  1. SNC Lavalin Inc.
  2. c. Canada (ministre de la Coopération internationale, ministre des Affaires étrangères) et Canada (Commissaire à l’information)

dossier A-309-03

Nature de l’instance

Le Commissaire à l’information est un intervenant dans cet appel d’un jugement rendu par le juge Gibson, de la Cour fédérale, dans SNC Lavalin Inc. c. Canada (ministre de la Coopération internationale et ministre des Affaires étrangères), 2003 CFPI 681, dossier T-387-01, 30 mai 2003.

Faits

La demande de communication avait été adressée à l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) le 15 décembre 2000. Le demandeur voulait obtenir des documents de travail ayant trait à la vérification, notamment tous les documents employés par les vérificateurs et par l’ACDI dans le cadre de la vérification intégrée (février 1999) du projet de protection et de mise en valeur du Nil. Le demandeur avait aussi indiqué qu’il avait lu le rapport de vérification et que la vérification avait notamment relevé des problèmes relatifs aux objectifs du projet.

Comme le prévoit l’article 27 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, l’ACDI a remis à SNC Lavalin des documents répondant à la demande, afin que l’entreprise puisse faire des observations sur la communication prévue. SNC Lavalin a formulé des observations sur les raisons pour lesquelles les documents ou des parties des documents ne devraient pas être communiqués. Le responsable de l’ACDI a décidé de communiquer les documents ou des parties des documents.

SNC Lavalin a demandé un contrôle judiciaire à la Cour fédérale en vertu de l’article 44 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, affirmant que les documents contenaient des renseignements qui devraient être exemptés en vertu des articles 20 (renseignements commerciaux confidentiels d’un tiers) et 19 (renseignements personnels). La Cour fédérale a rejeté la demande.

SNC Lavalin a fait appel du jugement de la Cour fédérale au motif, entre autres, que le juge saisi de la demande aurait erré en droit en concluant qu’un tiers n’avait pas le droit d’invoquer d’exception en vertu de l’article 19 de la Loi et qu’il avait erré dans les faits en concluant qu’aucune autre exception en vertu de l’article 19 n’était justifiée en dehors des exceptions prévues par le ministre.

Le Commissaire à l’information a adressé une requête à la Cour d’appel fédérale pour demander le statut d’intervenant dans l’affaire, et il l’a obtenu à titre de partie à l’instance.

À la demande de SNC Lavalin, la Cour d’appel fédérale a ordonné, le 4 septembre 2003, que l’appel soit suspendu en attendant que soit connue la décision dans l’affaire Heinz (Canada (procureur général) c. H.J. Heinz Company of Canada, dossier A-161-03). Dans l’affaire Heinz, se posait également la question de savoir si un tiers demandant un contrôle judiciaire d’une décision du gouvernement concernant la communication de documents en vertu de l’article 44 pouvait invoquer l’exception prévue à l’article 19. La Cour suprême a rendu son jugement définitif le 21 avril 2006 dans l’affaire Heinz, la majorité des juges statuant qu’un tiers peut invoquer l’exception relative aux renseignements personnels prévue à l’article 19 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Après ce jugement, l’affaire SNC Lavalin a repris son cours, et toutes les parties ont déposé leur mémoire des faits et du droit. Les observations du Commissaire à l’information se sont limitées à la question de l’article 19 : il invitait la Cour d’appel fédérale à clarifier les questions soulevées par le fait que des tiers invoquent l’exception relative aux renseignements personnels, par exemple celle de savoir qui, des parties, doit assumer le fardeau de prouver qu’aucune exception ne s’applique à la communication de renseignements personnels si les documents en question en contenaient.

Questions en litige

La principale question dont la Cour a été saisie en appel concernait l’applicabilité des alinéas 20(1)b), c) et d) de la Loi aux documents que le ministre avait l’intention de communiquer au demandeur. SNC Lavalin estime que la Cour fédérale a erré en concluant qu’il n’existait pas suffisamment de preuves pour appliquer ces exceptions. Le ministre considère pour sa part que le jugement de la Cour fédérale devait être confirmé. Quant au Commissaire à l’information, il a formulé des observations concernant uniquement l’article 19 : selon lui, l’appelante n’avait pas fait la preuve qu’il y avait d’autres renseignements personnels dans le document, outre ceux reconnus par la Cour fédérale.

Conclusions

La Cour fédérale a conclu qu’un tiers habilité à formuler des observations en vertu de l’article 28 n’a pas le droit d’invoquer d’exception en vertu de l’article 19 de la Loi [par. 24]. SNC Lavalin ne pouvait pas s’appuyer sur l’exception obligatoire prévue à l’article 19 de la Loi pour répondre à l’avis reçu à cet égard en vertu de l’article 27 de la Loi [par. 27].

Malgré cette conclusion, la Cour fédérale a tenu compte des documents en cause, des éléments utiles de la définition de « renseignements personnels » et des principes d’interprétation fondamentaux de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et s’est dite persuadée « qu'aucune autre exception afférente à l'article 19 de la Loi n'est justifiée à part celles qui ont été initialement proposées au nom des défendeurs (…) » [par. 27].

Quant à l’ applicabilité de l’exception prévue à l’article 20, la Cour a appliqué l’analyse proposée dans Air Atonabee Ltd. c. Canada (ministre des Transports), 27 F.T.R. 194. Elle s’est dite persuadée que « certaines pièces qu’on se propose de communiquer contiennent des renseignements de nature financière », que « la demanderesse tient pour confidentiels certains renseignements qu'elle a fournis à l'ACDI » et « qu'elle [les] a toujours considérés comme tels ».

La Cour n’a cependant pas estimé que les renseignements étaient confidentiels selon une norme objective. L’exception prévue à l’alinéa 20(1)b) ne s’appliquait donc pas [par. 35].

Quant à l’exception prévue à l’alinéa 20(1)c), la Cour a conclu que les preuves fournies par la demanderesse étaient trop spéculatives pour attester le risque vraisemblable de perte financière et de préjudice concurrentiel si les documents étaient communiqués [par. 36].

Enfin, concernant l’applicabilité de l’exception prévue à l’alinéa 20(1)d), la Cour a également estimé que les preuves fournies ne suffisaient pas à attester que la communication des documents risquait vraisemblablement de compromettre la position de la demanderesse dans le cadre de négociations contractuelles ou autres [par. 37-38]. La Cour a conclu que la demanderesse ne s’était pas acquittée du fardeau de la preuve pour obtenir l’application de l’exception prévue à l’article 20 et a rejeté la requête [par. 39-40].

Issue de l’affaire

La demande a été rejetée. SNC Lavalin a fait appel du jugement.

Mesures prises/prévues

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant