Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

C. Cases in Progress – Commissioner as Respondent

  1. Canada (Attorney General)
  2. v. Canada (Information Commissioner)

    T-531-06, Federal Court (See Annual Report 2005-2006, p. 68 for more details)

    On March 23, 2006, an application for judicial review was brought by the Attorney General of Canada against the Information Commissioner, under section 18.1 of the Federal Courts Act.  The application for review relates to the lawfulness of decisions issued by the Information Commissioner’s delegate, requiring counsel and various witnesses to keep confidential the questions asked, answers given, and exhibits used during the taking of evidence under oath of various witnesses who appeared under subpoena before the Information Commissioner’s delegate in a matter concerning the investigation of a complaint made pursuant to the Act against the head of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada.

    A hearing is set to be heard on April 26, 2007.  The outcome will be reported in next year’s annual report.

     

  3. Canada (Minister of Industry)
  4. v. Canada (Information Commissioner)

    A-107-06, Federal Court of Appeal

    The Minister of Industry appealed the Federal Court decision in the case Canada (Information Commissioner) v. Canada (Minister of Industry), 2006 FC 132, T-421-04, February 13, 2006, Kelen J. (See Annual Report 2005-2006, pp. 59-64 for more details) wherein the Federal Court ordered that the Chief Statistician disclose certain census records from 1921, 1931, and 1941 in eight specific districts that had been requested under the Act in November 2001, on behalf of three Aboriginal bands, for the exclusive purpose of researching or validating their Aboriginal claims.

    The appeal was heard by the Federal Court of Appeal on March 27, 2007. The decision is under advisement and will be reported in next year’s annual report.

     

  5. Canada (Minister of Environment)
  6. v. Canada (Information Commissioner)

A-502-06, Federal Court of Appeal

Appeal and cross-appeal of the Federal Court decision in Canada (Information Commissioner) v. Canada (Minister of Environment), 2006 FC 1235, T-555-05 (October 17, 2006), Kelen, J.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

C. Affaires en cours – Le Commissaire comme intimé

  1. Canada (procureur général)
  2. c. Canada (Commissaire à l’information)

dossier T-531-06 (pour plus de détails, voir le rapport annuel de 2005-2006, p. 71.)

Le 23 mars 2006, le procureur général du Canada a déposé une demande de contrôle judiciaire contre le Commissaire à l’information en vertu de l’article 18.1 de la Loi sur les cours fédérales. La demande de contrôle a trait à la légalité des décisions rendues par le représentant du Commissaire à l’information, exigeant que l’avocat et divers témoins préservent la confidentialité des questions posées, des réponses données et des éléments utilisés pendant le témoignage sous serment des divers témoins assignés à comparaître devant le représentant du Commissaire à l’information aux fins d’une enquête concernant une plainte déposée aux termes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information contre le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord du Canada.

Une audience est prévue pour le 26 avril 2007. Le prochain rapport annuel rendra compte de l’issue de l’affaire.

 

  1. Canada (ministre de l’Industrie)
  2. c. Canada (Commissaire à l’information)

A-107-06, Cour d’appel fédérale

Le ministre de l’Industrie a fait appel de la décision de la Cour fédérale (Canada (Commissaire à l’information) c. Canada (ministre de l’Industrie), 2006 C.F. 132, dossier T-421-04, 13 février 2006, juge Kelen. (pour plus de détails, voir le rapport annuel de 2005-2006, pp. 61-66). La Cour fédérale a ordonné au statisticien en chef de communiquer des documents relatifs aux recensements de 1921, 1931 et 1941 dans huit circonscriptions précises, documents qui avaient été demandés en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en novembre 2001 pour le compte de trois bandes autochtones dans le seul but de justifier ou de valider des revendications territoriales.

L’appel a été entendu par la Cour d’appel fédérale le 27 mars 2007. La décision est en délibéré, et l’issue de l’affaire sera communiquée dans le rapport annuel de l’année prochaine.

  1. Canada (ministre de l’Environnement)
  2. c. Canada (Commissaire à l’information)

dossier A-502-06, Cour d’appel fédérale.

Appel et pourvoi incident de la décision de la Cour fédérale dans Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Canada (ministre de l’Environnement), 2006 CF 1235, dossier T-555-05 (17 octobre 2006), juge Kelen.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant