Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

What Did CSIS Spend in Dealing with the Maher Arar Matter?

Background

An individual asked the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) for records showing how much CSIS had spent on the Maher Arar matter. In response, CSIS denied the request pursuant to subsection 15(1) of the Act, which provides:

"The head of a government institution may refuse to disclose any record requested under this Act that contains information the disclosure of which could reasonably be expected to be injurious to the …detection, prevention or suppression of subversive or hostile activities …"

The requester could not understand why CSIS would withhold information that taxpayers have a right to know; he appealed to the Information Commissioner.

Legal Issue

Could disclosure of the requested records "reasonably be expected" to be injurious to the work of CSIS? Determining the answer to this question required the Commissioner to obtain an explanation from CSIS, on whom the legal burden rests for justifying reliance on subsection 15(1).

CSIS argued that giving any details as to how it allocates its resources could give insight into its operational priorities. In CSIS’ view, a potential hostile agency might determine, through a series of access requests, the level of resources deployed to particular areas of counter-terrorism activity.

Given the general nature of the records at issue, the very public context of the O’Connor inquiry, and the detailed information already public about CSIS activities with respect to Maher Arar, the Commissioner was not persuaded that the injury test contained in the exemption had been met. CSIS reconsidered the matter in light of the Commissioner’s concerns and decided to disclose the previously withheld records.

On that basis, the Commissioner recorded the matter as resolved.

Lesson Learned

There are many government institutions engaged in security, intelligence, policing, and enforcement activities, and they often have legitimate concerns about releasing any information which would give insight into their operational plans, priorities, and capabilities.

However, these agencies must be alert to their obligation to remain accountable through as much transparency as possible. Thus, when requests are received about the expenditure of public funds, these institutions should not follow an inflexible policy of denial; rather, they should consider all such requests on a case-by-case basis. And when subsection 15(1) is being considered as a basis for saying "no", it must be borne in mind that speculative fears of possible injury from disclosure are insufficient. There must be a reasonable expectation, at the level of a probability, that injury to the intelligence or enforcement activity will result.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Combien le SCRS a-t-il dépensé dans l’affaire Maher Arar?

Contexte

Un requérant a demandé au Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) les documents rendant compte des dépenses engagées par le Service dans l’affaire Maher Arar. Le SCRS a rejeté la demande en invoquant le paragraphe 15(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, qui prévoit ce qui suit :

« Le responsable d’une institution fédérale peut refuser la communication de documents contenant des renseignements dont la divulgation risquerait vraisemblablement de porter préjudice à la conduite des affaires internationales, à la défense du Canada ou d’États alliés ou associés avec le Canada ou à la détection, à la prévention ou à la répression d’activités hostiles ou subversives (…) »

Le demandeur n’a pas compris pourquoi le SCRC retenait des renseignements dont les contribuables ont le droit de prendre connaissance et a fait appel au Commissaire à l’information.

Question juridique

La communication des documents demandés «  risquait-elle vraisemblablement » de porter préjudice au travail du SCRS? Pour répondre à cette question, le Commissaire devait obtenir une explication du SCRS, à qui revenait le fardeau juridique de justifier le recours au paragraphe 15(1).

Le SRCS a fait valoir que, en fournissant des détails sur la façon dont il répartit ses ressources, il aurait pu donner une idée de ses priorités opérationnelles. Selon le Service, un organisme potentiellement hostile pourrait déterminer, à l’aide d’une série de demandes de communication, le niveau de ressources déployées à tel ou tel type d’activité antiterroriste.

Compte tenu du caractère général des documents en question, du contexte très public de l’enquête O’Connor et des détails déjà connus du public sur les activités du SCRS dans l’affaire Maher Arar, le Commissaire n’a pas été convaincu que le critère du préjudice prévu dans l’exception soit rempli. Le SCRS a reconsidéré la question à la lumière des préoccupations du Commissaire et a décidé de communiquer les documents retenus.

Le Commissaire a donc estimé que l’affaire était close.

Ce qu’il faut retenir

Beaucoup d’institutions fédérales ont des activités relevant de la sécurité, du renseignement et de l’exécution de la loi et craignent souvent, à bon droit, de communiquer des renseignements qui pourraient donner une idée de leurs plans, de leurs priorités et de leurs capacités opérationnels.

Ces organismes doivent cependant aussi se rappeler leur obligation de rendre compte et d’être aussi transparents que possible. Par conséquent, lorsqu’ils reçoivent une demande de communication au sujet de l’utilisation des fonds publics, ils ne doivent pas adopter une position de refus inflexible : ils doivent plutôt examiner toutes ces demandes individuellement. Et, lorsque le paragraphe 15(1) est invoqué pour justifier une réponse négative, il faut se rappeler qu’il ne suffit pas de nourrir des craintes spéculatives sur l’éventualité d’un préjudice. Il faut un risque vraisemblable, au niveau de la probabilité, que l’activité de renseignement ou d’exécution de la loi soit compromise.  

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant