Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

When Informal Access is More Expensive than Formal

Background

An individual asked Library and Archives Canada (the Archives) for access to the World War II records of two servicemen killed in action. The Archives denied the request on the basis that the records were available through the Archives’ Research Services Division (subject to payment of a photocopying charge). In the Archives’ view, section 68 of the Act excludes from the right of access records which are otherwise available to the public.

The requester was not satisfied with the Archives’ position. In his view, he should have the right to obtain the records under the Act, within the 30-day response period, for a fee of $5, a photocopy charge of $0.20 per page, and only pay for the pages the requester is interested in. He objected to going through the Research Services Division, where there is no response deadline, the photocopy charges are $0.40 per page for regular service and $0.80 per page for rush service, and where the requester must pay for all records in the file.

Legal Issue

May the Archives deny, under section 68 of the Act, requests for access to records which have been moved to its Research Services Division, for disclosure upon payment of a fee, set by Order-in-Council, which is higher than the fee permitted by the Act’s Regulations?

The investigation determined that the Archives’ intentions were honourable - it wished to restrict the formal access process to information that requires review against the Act’s exemptions before disclosure. Any other records that have been previously reviewed and found not subject to any restrictions on disclosure (such as the "Killed in Action" files) would be provided to the public informally, through the Archives’ normal services for reference and consultation, at set fees for copies.

The Commissioner had to be guided by the words of section 68, which provide that the Act does not apply to "published material or material available for purchase by the public".

The Commissioner did not consider that the "Killed in Action" files had been "published" when transferred to the Archives’ Research Services Division. As well, he did not consider that the photocopy charges met the test of "available for purchase by the public". In coming to this position, the Commissioner took into account the purpose section of the Act (section 2), which specifically states that no portion of the Act (including section 68) is intended to limit "in any way" access to the type of information that is normally available to the general public. He also took into account that the fee regulations under the Act have set out the permitted charge for photocopies; he considered that it would be inconsistent with this scheme to allow government institutions to set a high photocopy charge for classes of records and, thereby, remove those classes of records from the coverage of the Act.

The Commissioner applauded the Archives’ efforts to make access as informal and routine as possible, yet, he concluded that the access requester retained the choice to have his access request processed formally under the Act.

While the Archives respectfully disagreed with the Commissioner’s legal interpretation, it provided a copy of the requested records to the requester, free of charge. On that basis, the Commissioner recorded the matter as resolved.

Lessons Learned

The Commissioner encourages government institutions to explore ways to disclose records informally, outside the Access to Information Act. However, institutions are cautioned against doing so in ways which make access more expensive, or reduce the level of service which would have been available, if the request had been formally processed under the Act.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Lorsque l’accès informel est plus onéreux que l’accès formel

Contexte

Quelqu’un a demandé à Bibliothèque et Archives du Canada (les Archives) de lui communiquer des documents sur deux militaires tués au combat pendant la Deuxième guerre mondiale. Les Archives ont rejeté la demande au motif que ces documents étaient accessibles par le biais de la Division des services de recherche des Archives (moyennant paiement des frais de photocopie). Selon les Archives, l’article 68 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’informationexclut du droit d’accès les documents qui sont accessibles au public par d’autres moyens.

Le demandeur n’a pas été satisfait de la position adoptée par les Archives. Selon lui, il aurait dû obtenir les documents en vertu de la Loi dans le délai de 30 jours prévu, contre paiement de frais de 5 $ + 0,20 $ par page photocopiée, et ne payer que pour les pages qu’il demandait. Il a refusé de s’adresser à la Division des services de recherche, qui n’est pas assujettie à un délai de réponse, qui facture des frais de photocopie de 0,40 $ la page en temps ordinaire et de 0,80 $ pour un service accéléré et qui fait payer au demandeur tous les documents au dossier.

Question juridique

Les Archives peuvent-elles refuser, en vertu de l’article 68 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, des demandes de communication relatives à des documents qui ont été envoyés à la Division des services de recherche, où ils sont accessibles moyennant des frais, établis par décret, qui sont supérieurs aux frais permis par le règlement d’application de la Loi?

L’enquête a permis de conclure que l’intention des Archives était honorable : les Archives voulaient limiter la procédure officielle d’accès voulant que, avant d’être communiqués, les renseignements doivent faire l’objet d’un examen en fonction des exceptions prévues par la Loi. Tous les autres documents déjà examinés et non assujettis à des restrictions (par exemple, les dossiers sur les militaires tués au combat) sont fournis au public de façon informelle, par le biais des services de référence et de consultation ordinaires des Archives, moyennant des frais de photocopie.

Le Commissaire s’est inspiré des termes de l’article 68, qui prévoit que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ne s’applique pas aux « documents publiés ou mis en vente dans le public ».

Le Commissaire n’a pas estimé que les dossiers sur les militaires tués au combat ont été « publiés » lorsqu’ils ont été transférés à la Division des services de recherche des Archives. Il n’a pas considéré non plus que les frais de photocopie remplissent le critère « mis en vente dans le public ». Pour adopter cette position, il a tenu compte de l’objet de la Loi (article 2), qui précise justement qu’aucune partie de la Loi (y compris l’article 68) ne « vise pas à restreindre » l’accès au type de renseignements normalement accessibles au public en général. Le Commissaire a également tenu compte du fait que la réglementation applicable aux frais a fixé les taux autorisés pour la photocopie. Il a estimé qu’il ne serait pas logique en l’occurrence de permettre à des institutions de facturer des frais de photocopie pour telle ou telle catégorie de documents et, ce faisant, de les exclure de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Le Commissaire a reconnu les efforts des Archives pour faciliter un accès aussi informel et systématique que possible à ses documents, mais il a conclu que le demandeur conservait le droit de faire traiter sa demande officiellement en vertu de la Loi.

Les Archives ont respectueusement contesté l’avis du Commissaire, mais ont fourni une photocopie des documents demandés, gratuitement. Le Commissaire a donc estimé que l’affaire était close.

Ce qu’il faut retenir

Le Commissaire encourage les institutions fédérales à trouver des moyens de communiquer informellement leurs documents, sans passer par l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Celles-ci doivent cependant prendre garde de ne pas le faire en rendant l’accès plus coûteux ou en réduisant le niveau de service, si la demande est adressée en vertu de la Loi.  


 

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant