Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Don't Forget to Check the Internet

Background

A requester asked Fisheries and Oceans Canada (F&O) for copies of economic analyses covering the period May 12 to September 15, 2004. F&O disclosed some of the requested records but withheld 205 pages in their entirety under section 21 of the Act. Section 21 permits records to be withheld to protect the internal advice-giving and deliberative processes. The complainant was concerned that so much secrecy had been maintained with respect to economic analysis records, especially without any portion having been released.

Legal Issues

The exemption contained in section 21 is discretionary in nature. Did F&O properly exercise discretion in withholding 205 pages in their entirety? Did F&O withhold factual and background information under section 21 and, if so, was it authorized to do so?

With respect to these issues, the Commissioner’s investigator first reviewed whether any of the information withheld was already in the public domain. Many of the records withheld in their entirety were found on F&O websites and had been posted on the web prior to the department’s receipt of the access request and its response to the access request. One 48-page document, which had been withheld, was found on the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development website.

The investigation also determined that most of the withheld information was purely factual - revealing no advice, recommendations, accounts of consultations/deliberations, negotiation positions, or plans.

The Commissioner took the view that most of the withheld information did not qualify for exemption under section 21 of the Act, and that, even if it did, there was no evidence that F&O had properly exercised its discretion nor made serious effort to determine what portions of the withheld records had already been disclosed to the public.

In response to the Commissioner’s views, most of the 205 withheld pages were disclosed by F&O. The Commissioner agreed that 37 pages could remain withheld in their entirety, and portions of eight pages could remain secret. On that basis, the investigation was concluded and the complaint recorded as resolved.

Lessons Learned

Before withholding records under section 21, to protect the confidentiality of the internal advice-giving and deliberative processes, government institutions must ensure that purely factual and background information is severed and disclosed. Even then, with respect to the non-factual material, the discretion contained in the provision must be properly exercised. One important factor to be considered and weighed, in the exercise of the discretionary power to refuse access, is whether any of the information is already in the public domain. Departments should not ignore this step, or wait to perform it, until after a complaint is made to the Commissioner.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

N’oubliez pas de vérifier sur Internet

Contexte

Un requérant a demandé à Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) des exemplaires d’analyses économiques couvrant la période du 12 mai au 15 septembre 2004. Le MPO a communiqué un certain nombre des documents demandés, mais il a retenu 205 pages complètes en vertu de l’article 21 de la Loi. L’article 21 permet de retenir des documents pour protéger les consultations et délibérations internes. Le plaignant a estimé que l’on entourait de beaucoup de secret les documents d’analyse économique, notamment du fait qu’aucune partie de ces analyses n’avait été communiquée.

Questions juridiques

L’exception prévue à l’article 21 est de nature discrétionnaire. Le MPO a-t-il exercé à bon droit son pouvoir en retenant 205 pages complètes? Le ministère a-t-il retenu des données factuelles et contextuelles en vertu de l’article 21, et, si tel est le cas, était-il habilité à le faire?

À cet égard, l’enquêteur du Commissaire a commencé par déterminer si les renseignements appartenaient déjà au domaine public. Beaucoup des documents retenus intégralement se trouvaient sur les sites Web du ministère et y avaient déjà été affichés, avant la réception de la demande de communication et sa réponse. Un document de 48 pages, parmi ceux qui avaient été retenus, se trouvait sur le site Web de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques.

L’enquête a également permis de conclure que la plupart des renseignements retenus étaient purement factuels : ils ne révélaient ni conseils, ni recommandations, ni comptes rendus de consultations ou délibérations, ni prises de position dans des négociations, ni plans.

Le Commissaire a estimé que la plupart des renseignements retenus n’avaient pas lieu de faire l’objet de l’exception prévue à l’article 21 de la Loi et que, même si cela avait été le cas, rien n’indiquait que le MPO avait exercé correctement son pouvoir discrétionnaire ni qu’il avait fait de sérieux efforts pour déterminer les parties des documents retenus qui avaient déjà été rendues publiques.

En réponse au point de vue du Commissaire, la plupart des 205 pages retenues ont été communiquées par le MPO. Le Commissaire a accepté que 37 pages soient entièrement retenues et que des parties de 8 pages puissent rester secrètes. L’enquête a donc pris fin, et la plainte a été jugée réglée.

Ce qu’il faut retenir

Avant de refuser la communication de documents en vertu de l’article 21, pour protéger la confidentialité de consultations et de délibérations internes, les institutions fédérales doivent veiller à ce que les renseignements purement factuels ou contextuels y soient prélevés et soient communiqués. Et, même dans ce cas, pour ce qui est des renseignements non factuels, le pouvoir discrétionnaire prévu doit être dûment exercé. Il y a lieu d’examiner et d’évaluer un facteur important dans l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire de refuser l’accès, à savoir si certains des renseignements appartiennent déjà au domaine public. Les ministères ne doivent pas sauter cette étape ni attendre, pour l’exécuter, qu’une plainte soit adressée au Commissaire. 

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant