Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Does a “Leak” Open the Door to Access?

Background

A requester made a request to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) for copies of records from its Field Operations Support System (FOSS) containing information about 125 individuals living in Canada, known to have committed, or suspected by CBSA of committing, offences in their country of origin.

Some 650 pages of records were identified by CBSA as responsive to the request. CBSA refused to disclose any indication in the records of the specifics of their concerns about the individuals. As well, it withheld the names, date of birth, departmental identification, and file numbers associated with each individual. CBSA relied on exemptions in the Act designed to protect privacy (subsection 19(1) and investigations (paragraph 16(1)(c).

The requester felt that he, and other Canadians, had a right to know the names of war criminals in Canada, especially since some such names are already in the public domain, having appeared in a newspaper report. He complained to the Information Commissioner.

Legal Issue

Did CBSA have the legal authority under subsection 19(1) to refuse disclosure of the requested records? The requester did not complain about CBSA’s decision to rely on paragraph 16(1)(c) to withhold information to protect ongoing investigations.

The Commissioner’s investigator first made efforts to determine whether any of the withheld information was in the public domain. Paragraph 19(2)(b) of the Act authorizes disclosure of personal information if it is publicly available. In fact, some of the withheld information had appeared in the print media. The investigation confirmed, however, that the source was a report leaked from the CBSA and not released in a lawful manner. The Commissioner did not consider that an unauthorized leak of personal information could justify loss of privacy rights.

Second, the investigation considered whether there might be a public interest in disclosure clearly outweighing any privacy invasion that might result. Some of the individuals were in hiding, being pursued by an Immigration Task Force set up to determine their whereabouts and deport them to face justice in their country of origin. Some of the individuals had outstanding warrants against them. The Commissioner felt, thus, that there was a public interest in disclosure, to facilitate locating individuals who are in hiding from authorities and to assist in protecting the public from individuals who may have committed offences.

However, CBSA argued that the public interest did not "clearly outweigh" the potential negative effects from disclosure. First, some of the outstanding warrants had been issued because the individual missed a hearing or removal date and not because a criminal offence had been committed. Disclosure could subject these individuals to undeserved or unwarranted suspicion. Concern was expressed, too, that disclosure might result in civilian vigilante actions, some of which might be directed towards entirely innocent persons having the same names as those suspected of war crimes. Further, CBSA argued that the individuals do not pose a threat to the safety of Canadians - their efforts in Canada are focused on staying below the law’s radar by not committing offences in Canada.

The Information Commissioner agreed that the CBSA had carefully exercised its discretion as to whether or not this personal information should be disclosed in the public interest. On that basis, he found the complaint to be not substantiated.

Lessons Learned

When applying paragraph 19(2)(b), government institutions may consider whether the personal information is publicly available as a result of an unauthorized or improper disclosure. When it comes to protecting privacy, institutions should not exacerbate a privacy invasion resulting from a previous unauthorized disclosure, by making further disclosures under paragraph 19(2)(b) of the Act. Two wrongs do not make a right!

When institutions apply the public interest override (contained in paragraph 19(2)(c) of the Act, by reference to subparagraph 8(2)(m)(i) of the Privacy Act), they must exercise their discretion properly by considering and appropriately weighing all relevant factors for and against disclosure. If that is done, the Commissioner will not attempt to substitute his view as to what the final outcome should be. 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Une « fuite » ouvre-t-elle la porte au droit d’accès?

Contexte

Un requérant a demandé à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) des exemplaires de documents du Système de soutien des opérations des bureaux locaux (SSOBL) contenant des renseignements sur 125 personnes vivant au Canada, dont on sait qu’elles ont commis ou que l’ASFC soupçonne d’avoir commis des infractions dans leur pays d’origine.

L’Agence a retenu environ 650 pages de documents répondant à la demande. Elle a refusé de communiquer les parties relatives à ses soupçons sur ces personnes. Elle a également retenu les noms, les dates de naissance, les numéros d’identification ministériels et les numéros de dossier associés à ces personnes. Elle s’est appuyée sur les exceptions prévues dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, qui protègent le droit à la vie privée (par. 19(1)) et les enquêtes (al. 16(1)c)).

Le demandeur a estimé que lui-même et les autres Canadiens ont le droit de connaître les noms des criminels de guerre au Canada, notamment en raison du fait que certains de ces noms sont déjà du domaine public, puisqu’ils ont été publiés dans un journal. Il a donc adressé une plainte au Commissaire à l’information.

Question juridique

L’ASFC a-t-elle le droit, aux termes du paragraphe 19(1), de refuser de communiquer les documents demandés? Le demandeur n’a pas contesté la décision de l’Agence d’invoquer l’alinéa 16(1)c) pour retenir des renseignements dans le but de protéger des enquêtes en cours.

L’enquêteur du Commissaire a commencé par déterminer si les renseignements retenus étaient effectivement du domaine public. L’alinéa 19(2)b) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’informationautorise la communication de renseignements personnels s’ils sont accessibles au public. En fait, certains des renseignements retenus avaient été publiés dans des journaux. L’enquête a permis de confirmer cependant que la source du reportage était une fuite de l’ASFC et que les renseignements n’avaient pas été publiés licitement. Selon le Commissaire, une fuite de renseignements personnels ne saurait justifier la remise en question du droit à la protection de la vie privée.

Deuxièmement, l’enquêteur s’est demandé si l’intérêt public pouvait justifier la communication de ces renseignements malgré l’ingérence dans la vie privée que cela représenterait. Certains des intéressés étaient en fuite, parce qu’un groupe de travail de l’Immigration avait été chargé de les retrouver pour les expulser afin qu’ils soient traduits en justice dans leur pays d’origine. D’autres faisaient l’objet de mandats non exécutés. Le Commissaire a donc estimé qu’il était dans l’intérêt public de communiquer ces renseignements pour faciliter la localisation des personnes en fuite et protéger la population contre des gens qui ont peut-être commis des infractions.

L’ASFC a cependant fait valoir que l’intérêt public ne justifiait pas manifestement les effets négatifs éventuels de la communication des renseignements. Premièrement, certains des mandats non exécutés avaient été délivrés parce que les personnes ne s’étaient pas présentées à une audience ou n’avaient pas respecté une date de départ et non parce qu’elles avaient commis des infractions criminelles. Ces personnes risquaient de faire l’objet de soupçons injustifiés. L’Agence s’inquiétait également du fait que la communication puisse entraîner des actions justicières de la part de civils, dont certaines pourraient être dirigées contre des gens tout à fait innocents portant les mêmes noms que les personnes soupçonnées d’avoir commis des crimes de guerre. Par ailleurs, l’Agence a fait valoir que les intéressés ne menaçaient pas la sécurité des Canadiens : ils essayaient d’échapper aux recherches précisément en ne commettant pas d’infractions au Canada.

Le Commissaire à l’information a reconnu que l’ASFC avait exercé avec diligence son pouvoir discrétionnaire de communiquer ou non ces renseignements au nom de l’intérêt public. Il a donc estimé que la plainte n’était pas fondée.

Ce qu’il faut retenir

Lorsqu’elles appliquent l’alinéa 19(2)b), les institutions fédérales peuvent se demander si les renseignements personnels en question sont accessibles au public en raison d’une communication non autorisée ou indue. Lorsqu’il s’agit de protéger la vie privée, les institutions ne doivent pas accentuer une ingérence dans la vie privée découlant d’une communication antérieure non autorisée en communiquant d’autres renseignements en vertu de l’alinéa 19(2)b) de la Loi. On ne guérit pas le mal par le mal!

Lorsque des institutions appliquent le principe de l’intérêt public (alinéa 19(2)c) prévu dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, par renvoi au sous-alinéa 8(2)m)(i) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels), elles doivent exercer leur pouvoir discrétionnaire correctement en examinant et en déterminant à leur juste valeur tous les facteurs utiles pour et contre la communication des renseignements en question. Si ce travail est fait, le Commissaire n’essaiera pas de substituer son avis quant à l’issue de l’examen.  

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant