Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Obtaining Access to Expense and Travel Claims of Ministers and Exempt Staffers

Background

Since the coming into force of the Act on July 1, 1983, a number of requests have been made to government institutions seeking access to the travel and expense claim records of Prime Ministers, ministers, and members of ministerial exempt staff. Until March 30, 2001, it was the position of the President of the Treasury Board, as the minister designated to give policy and interpretive guidance to government concerning the Act (see paragraph 70(1)(c)), that subsection 19(1) of the Act could not be relied upon to justify a refusal to disclose the travel and expense claims (reimbursable from public funds) of the Prime Minister, ministers, and members of ministerial exempt staff. Travel and expense claims records were routinely released in the same manner and to the same extent as were travel and expense claim records of all other public servants. Some minor severances were permitted to protect such items of personal information as home telephone numbers and credit card numbers.

That long-standing policy and practice changed as of March 30, 2001, with the issuance by Treasury Board Implementation Report No. 78. Under the new policy, requests for the travel and expense claim records of the Prime Minister, ministers, and ministerial exempt staff were to be denied, while such requests for other public servants were, as before, to be granted. The legal justification for refusal, according to the new policy, is subsection 19(1) of the Act, as a result of a broadened interpretation of "personal information" and a narrowed interpretation as to whether ministers and their exempt staffers are "officers or employees" of the departments over which they preside - the legal view of the previous government being that they are not.

A frequent user of the Act complained to the Information Commissioner that

IR No. 78 constitutes an improper interference with the pre-existing right of access to the travel and expense claim records of Prime Ministers, ministers, and ministerial exempt staff.

Legal Issue

Are ministers, and ministerial exempt staffers, officers or employees of departments over which the ministers preside? If so, then IR No. 78 is wrong, and travel and expense claims of ministers should be disclosed under the Act.

The investigation confirmed that the position adopted in IR No. 78, concerning the status of records held in ministers' offices, was a departure from long-standing Treasury Board interpretation policy. Since the access law came into force, the policy has been that the decision, whether or not records held in ministers' offices are subject to the Act, turns on an assessment of the content of the records. If the records contain personal and political (constituency) information relating to the minister, they are not considered to be "departmental" records covered by the Act. All other records held in ministers' offices that relate to the administration or operation of the department are considered to be departmental records and covered by the right of access. This policy is clearly articulated in the 1993 revision of the Treasury Board ATIP manual, Chapter 2-4, page 5. It is also clearly articulated in the January 2001 revision to the Treasury Board's Guidelines for Ministers' Offices, Chapter 10-2.

The true significance of this policy change can only be appreciated when one takes into account ministerial practice of keeping the actual receipts and detailed breakdown of expenses in their offices, while providing "the department" with a bare-bones summary only. This practice stems from a letter from the Minister of Finance dated December 5, 1963, which refers to a Cabinet direction asking ministers to submit to the department, as their travel claim, a statement, on a monthly basis, which includes:

  • the period covered by the trip and the places visited;
  • transportation expenses; and
  • other expenses (such as accommodations and meals),along with a signed certification that the expenditures were incurred on official government business.

Thus, the long-standing practice of keeping expenditure details in the minister's office, together with the new view that no records held in ministers' offices are covered by the right of access, had the effect of putting a veil of secrecy over the details of ministerial travel expenses.

The Commissioner noted that the blanket of secrecy IR No. 78 placed over ministerial expense claims ran contrary to the Receiver General Directive that requires that ministerial travel expenses be made public in order to "enhance ministerial accountability for travel expenses". Indeed, the Receiver General Directive requires the Treasury Board Secretariat to make public "upon request" the reports concerning ministerial travel expenses. As well, he noted the fact that paragraph 8(2)(a) of the Privacy Act authorizes disclosure of personal information without consent "for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled by the institution or for a use consistent with that purpose". Since a principal reason for keeping receipts and making claims when public money is spent is to ensure the transparency of the transactions and accountability of the officials, the Commissioner reasoned that, even if privacy rights were at play, disclosure would be authorized by the Privacy Act.

This obligation, for reasons of accountability, to be transparent about the use of public funds by ministers is deeply imbedded in government policy and democratic tradition. All the more remarkable, then, that IR No. 78 fails to even mention it or to suggest that there is a strong public interest in disclosure, clearly overriding any privacy interest ministers may have in their expense records. All the more remarkable, too, that IR No. 78 fails to advise government that disclosure without consent is authorized by paragraph 8(2)(a) of the Privacy Act.

Officers or Employees

In IR No. 78, the Treasury Board adopts the view that ministers (and their staff) are not "officers or employees" of the government institution over which they preside. This view runs counter to the fundamental design of the British Parliamentary model under which departments are extensions of the authority of the minister and cannot exist apart from the minister. This reality is reflected in the constituent statutes of departments and in the Financial Administration Act. The latter statute makes it explicit that a minister of the Crown is included in the definition of "public officer". As well, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Current English includes "a sovereign's minister" within the definition of "officer". Most important, the access law itself stipulates that the minister is the head of the government institution over which he presides for the purposes of the rights and obligations contained therein.

Consent

The Commissioner noted that the restrictive view contained in IR No. 78 proved impossible for governments to justify to taxpayers. Almost one year after this implementation report was issued, the then Prime Minister told his ministers that they and their staff should not refuse consent for disclosure of their expense claim records. The President of the Treasury Board informed the House of Commons on March 15, 2002, as follows:

"While respecting the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act, the Prime Minister has asked all his ministers and their political staffs to release information related to their expense records."

This unambiguous direction to his ministers meant that IR No. 78 had to be clarified to put emphasis on the process of obtaining consent. An information notice (No. 2002-04, dated March 18, 2002) served this purpose.

The result of all this is that, in some ways, the matter has come full circle - Canadians may make access requests for ministerial expense records, and the records will be disclosed as in the past. However, in other ways, much has changed. Previously, Canadians were given access as a matter of right; now, they are given access only by the grace and favour of ministerial consent. Second, Canadians do not have access to any ministerial expense records that ministers choose to keep in their own offices - an element of caprice that is entirely at odds with the notion of accountability.

Conclusions

The Commissioner concluded that the Treasury Board policy on the disclosure of ministerial expenses is based on an erroneous view of the law. In his view, the proper legal position is that ministerial expense records do not fall within the definition of "personal information" because:

  • they are not about an individual but, rather, about government business; and
  • they fall within 3(j) of the Privacy Act.

The Commissioner also concluded that, even if the expense records are "personal", paragraph 19(2)(c) of the Act authorizes disclosure by reference to the public interest override contained in subparagraph 8(2)(m)(i) of the Privacy Act and the provisions of paragraph 8(2)(a) of the Privacy Act relating to original and consistent uses.

Thus, the Commissioner considered the complaint to be well-founded and recommended to the President of the Treasury Board that IR No. 78 and Information Notice 2002-04 be withdrawn and that a new implementation report be issued in conformity with this finding. The minister has not responded to the recommendation; therefore, this complaint remains unresolved.

Lesson Learned

The issue of whether or not travel and expense claims of ministers and ministerial exempt staff are accessible under the Act, or whether they may only be disclosed with the consent of the claimants, remains unresolved. The Information Commissioner holds one view; the government holds a contrary view.

Cases currently before the courts, concerning the accessibility of records held in ministers’ officers, may help resolve the issue. When judicial guidance is given, it will be reported in a future annual report.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant


Cas 5 – L’accès aux demandes de remboursement de dépenses et de frais de déplacement des ministres et du personnel exonéré 

Contexte

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi) le 1er juillet 1983, les institutions fédérales ont reçu un certain nombre de demandes de communication des documents relatifs aux dépenses et frais de déplacement de premiers ministres, de ministres et de membres du personnel ministériel exonéré. Jusqu’au 30 mars 2001, le président du Conseil du Trésor a toujours estimé, à titre de ministre chargé de fournir conseils stratégiques et interprétations au gouvernement concernant la Loi (voir l’alinéa 70(1)c)), que le paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi ne pouvait pas servir à justifier un refus de communiquer des renseignements sur les dépenses et frais de déplacement (remboursables à même les fonds publics) de premiers ministres, de ministres et de membres du personnel ministériel exonéré. Ces documents étaient systématiquement communiqués au même titre et dans la même mesure que les renseignements relatifs aux dépenses et frais de déplacement de tous les autres fonctionnaires. Quelques rares renseignements étaient protégés, par exemple le numéro de téléphone personnel et les numéros de cartes de crédit des intéressés.

Cette politique et cette habitude de longue date ont cessé le 30 mars 2001, au moment où le Conseil du Trésor a publié le Rapport de mise en œuvre no 78. Aux termes de la nouvelle politique, les demandes de communication de documents relatifs aux dépenses et frais de déplacement de premiers ministres, de ministres et de membres du personnel ministériel exonéré devaient être rejetées, alors qu’elles devaient, comme auparavant, être accueillies pour les autres fonctionnaires. La justification juridique du refus, selon la nouvelle politique, est le paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi, en raison d’une interprétation élargie de la notion de « renseignements personnels » et d’une interprétation plus étroite de la question de savoir si les ministres et les membres du personnel exonéré sont des «  cadres ou employés » des ministères qu’ils dirigent, le point de vue du gouvernement antérieur étant qu’ils n’en sont pas.

Un utilisateur fréquent de la Loi a adressé une plainte au Commissaire à l’information, estimant que le RMO no 78 constituait une ingérence indue dans le droit d’accès préexistant aux documents relatifs aux dépenses et frais de déplacement de premiers ministres, de ministres et de membres du personnel exonéré.

Question juridique

Les ministres et les membres du personnel exonéré sont-ils des cadres et employés des ministères qu’ils dirigent? Si la réponse est affirmative, le RMO no 78 est une erreur, et les documents sur les dépenses et frais de déplacement des ministres devraient être communiqués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

L’enquête a permis de confirmer que la position adoptée dans le RMO no 78 concernant le statut des documents conservés dans les cabinets des ministres s’écarte de la politique d’interprétation de longue date du Conseil du Trésor. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur des dispositions législatives sur l’accès à l’information, la politique a été que la décision, que les documents conservés dans les cabinets des ministres soient assujettis ou non à la Loi, doit passer par une évaluation du contenu de ces documents. Si les documents contiennent des renseignements personnels ou politiques (circonscription) ayant trait au ministre, ils ne sont pas considérés comme des documents « ministériels » assujettis à la Loi. Tous les autres documents conservés dans les cabinets des ministres qui ont trait à l’administration ou au fonctionnement du ministère sont considérés comme des documents ministériels et sont assujettis au droit d’accès. Cette politique est clairement formulée dans la version révisée du Guide AIPRP du Conseil du Trésor publiée en 1993 (chapitre 2-4, pp. 5 et 6). Elle est aussi clairement formulée dans la version révisée des Lignes directrices à l’intention des cabinets des ministres, publiée en janvier 2001 (chapitre 10-2).

La véritable importance de ce changement de perspective ne peut être déterminée que lorsqu’on tient compte de la pratique ministérielle de conserver les reçus proprement dits et la ventilation détaillée des dépenses dans les cabinets, tandis qu’on fournit au «  ministère » un simple résumé. Cette pratique remonte à une lettre du ministre des Finances datée du 5 décembre 1963, qui renvoie à une directive du Cabinet invitant les ministres à présenter au ministère, avec leurs demandes de remboursement de frais de déplacement, une déclaration mensuelle indiquant :

    • la période de voyage et les endroits visités,
    • les frais de transport,
    • les autres dépenses (hébergement et repas), ainsi qu’une attestation signée confirmant que les dépenses ont été engagées dans le cadre de l’exercice de fonctions officielles.

Ainsi, l’habitude de longue date consistant à conserver les détails des dépenses dans les cabinets des ministres et le nouveau point de vue selon lequel les documents conservés dans les cabinets des ministres ne sont pas assujettis au droit d’accès ont eu pour effet de recouvrir d’un voile de secret les détails des frais de déplacement des ministres.

Le Commissaire a fait remarquer que le principe du secret adopté dans le RMO no 78 au titre des dépenses des ministres est contraire à la Directive du Receveur général qui suppose que les frais de déplacement des ministres soient rendus publics afin d’améliorer la reddition de comptes ministérielle à cet égard. En fait, la Directive suppose que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor rende publics, sur demande, les rapports concernant les frais de déplacement des ministres. Le Commissaire a également fait remarquer que l’alinéa 8(2)a) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels autorise la communication de renseignements personnels sans le consentement de l’intéressé « (…) aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou préparés par l’institution ou pour les usages qui sont compatibles avec ces fins ». Comme l’une des principales raisons pour lesquelles on conserve des reçus et présente des demandes de remboursement lorsque des fonds publics sont dépensés est que l’on veut garantir la transparence des opérations et la responsabilisation des fonctionnaires, le Commissaire a estimé que, même si le droit à la vie privée est en jeu, la communication serait autorisée par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Cette obligation de transparence, pour des raisons de reddition de comptes, concernant l’usage des fonds publics par les ministres est profondément enracinée dans la tradition politique et démocratique du gouvernement. Il est d’autant plus remarquable, par conséquent, que le RMO no 78 ne mentionne même pas et suggère encore moins que l’intérêt public est en jeu et qu’il l’emporte clairement sur le caractère privé des documents relatifs aux dépenses des ministres. Il est tout aussi étonnant que le RMO no 78 ne rappelle pas au gouvernement que la communication sans le consentement des intéressés est autorisée par l’alinéa 8(2)a) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (LPRP).

Cadres ou employés

Dans le RMO no 78, le point de vue du Conseil du Trésor est que les ministres (et leur personnel) ne sont pas des « cadres ou employés » de l’institution fédérale qu’ils dirigent. Ce point de vue est contraire à l’idée fondamentale du modèle parlementaire britannique, selon lequel les ministères sont des prolongements du pouvoir du ministre et qu’ils ne sauraient exister en dehors du ministre. Cette réalité se traduit dans les lois constitutives des ministères et dans la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Cette dernière loi explicite le fait qu’un ministre de l’État est un « fonctionnaire ». Par ailleurs, selon le Concise Oxford Dictionary of Current English, la notion de «  fonctionnaire » recouvre celle de «  ministre souverain ». Mais surtout, les dispositions législatives sur l’accès à l’information elles-mêmes prévoient que le ministre est le responsable de l’institution qu’il dirige aux fins des droits et obligations dont celle-ci dispose.

Consentement

Le Commissaire a fait remarquer que le point de vue restrictif adopté dans le RMO no 78 ne permet pas aux gouvernements de rendre des comptes aux contribuables. Presque un an après la publication de ce rapport de mise en œuvre, le Premier ministre de l’époque a dit à ses ministres et à leur personnel qu’ils ne devraient pas refuser de consentir à la communication des documents relatifs à leurs demandes de remboursement de frais de déplacement. Le 15 mars 2002, le président du Conseil du Trésor a fait la déclaration suivante à la Chambre des communes :

«  Tout en respectant la Loi sur l'accès à l'informationet la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le Premier ministre demande à tous ses ministres et à leur personnel politique de divulguer l'information concernant leurs dépenses. » 

Cette directive sans ambiguïté aux ministres signifie que le RMO no 78 devait être clarifié pour mettre l’accent sur la procédure d’obtention du consentement. Un bulletin d’information (no 2002-04, 18 mars 2002) a permis de faire connaître ces précisions.

Il s’ensuit finalement que, d’une certaine façon, on est revenu à la case départ : les Canadiens peuvent demander la communication de documents relatifs aux dépenses des ministres, et ces documents seront communiqués comme auparavant. Cependant, à d’autres égards, les choses ont beaucoup changé. Auparavant, les Canadiens avaient le droit d’avoir accès à ces documents; aujourd’hui, ils n’y ont accès que par la grâce du consentement des ministres. Par ailleurs, les Canadiens n’ont pas accès aux documents que les ministres décident de conserver dans leur propre cabinet : voilà un élément de caprice qui est tout à fait contraire à la notion de responsabilité.

Conclusions

Le Commissaire a conclu que la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la communication des documents relatifs aux dépenses des ministres s’appuie sur une interprétation erronée du droit. Il estime que la position juridique juste serait de dire que les documents relatifs aux dépenses des ministres ne sont pas des « renseignements personnels » parce que :

  1. ils n’ont pas trait à une personne, mais aux activités gouvernementales;
  2. ils sont assujettis à l’alinéa 3j) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Le Commissaire a également conclu que, même si ces documents sont « personnels », l’alinéa 19(2)c) de la Loi autorise leur communication en raison du principe de l’intérêt public énoncé au sous-alinéa 8(2)m)(i) de la LPRP et des dispositions de l’alinéa 8(2)a) de la LPRP sur les usages compatibles.

Le Commissaire a donc estimé que la plainte était fondée . Il a recommandé au président du Conseil du Trésor de supprimer le RMO no 78 et le bulletin d’information 2002-04 et de publier un nouveau rapport de mise en œuvre conforme à sa décision. Le ministre n’a pas répondu à la recommandation du Commissaire, de sorte que la plainte n’est toujours pas réglée.

Ce qu’il faut retenir

La question de savoir si les dépenses et frais de déplacement des ministres et du personnel exonéré peuvent être communiqués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou s’ils ne peuvent l’être qu’avec le consentement des intéressés reste sans réponse pour l’instant. Le Commissaire à l’information et le gouvernement sont d’avis contraires.

Les affaires actuellement devant les tribunaux au sujet de l’accessibilité des documents conservés dans les cabinets des ministres peuvent faciliter le règlement de cette question. Lorsque les juges auront statué, nous en rendrons compte dans un rapport annuel ultérieur. 

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant