Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Who Worked During the Strike?

Background

An individual asked the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) for the weekly time (attendance) sheets for the employees of CRA’s Charities and Registered Pension Plans Directorates, covering a period during which members of the Public Service Alliance of Canada were on strike. The request gave senior officials of CRA the jitters; two assistant CRA Commissioners decided that the request should be denied, but only after some eleven weeks of internal rumination.

The requester complained to the Information Commissioner, arguing that information about employee attendance is work-related and does not qualify for privacy protection.

Legal Issue

Is information about employee attendance at work during strike periods "personal information" which qualifies for exemption from the right of access under subsection 19(1) of the Act?

The investigation confirmed that CRA had received requests in the past for access to employee time sheets and had always disclosed them, with the exception of employee identification numbers and descriptions of types of leave taken. CRA explained its deviation in this case from usual practice in order to protect the privacy of union employee choice to work during strikes. CRA took the view that reporting for work may be viewed as an expression of the employee’s views regarding the need for solidarity between employees during a strike.

The Information Commissioner was guided by the decision of the Supreme Court of Canada in Dagg v. Canada (Minister of Finance), 2 S.C.R. 403, in which it was decided that information about an employee’s presence in the workplace is not "personal information" for the purposes of subsection 19(1) of the Act, by virtue of paragraph 3(j) of the definition of "personal information" contained in the Privacy Act.

Paragraph 3(j) removes from the definition of "personal Information":

"information about an individual who is or was an officer or employee of a government institution that relates to the position or functions of the individual including …"

The Information Commissioner communicated his views to the Commissioner of the CRA. As a result, CRA disclosed the time sheets to the requester, withholding employee identification numbers and descriptions of types of leave taken. The Information Commissioner considered the matter to be resolved.

Lessons Learned

Government employees have less privacy protection under the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act than do other individuals. Information about an identifiable government employee, which relates to the employee’s position or functions, may not be kept secret in order to protect employee privacy. On the other hand, some evaluative information about the manner in which government employees perform their duties will receive privacy protection.

No access to information issue has had more judicial guidance than has this issue of how much privacy protection can be accorded to information about public officials. The Supreme Court of Canada has decided two cases on this issue. In addition to the Dagg case, cited above, the reader is referred to Canada (Information Commissioner) v. Canada (RCMP Commissioner), [2003] 1 S.C.R. 66.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant


Qui travaillait pendant la grève? 

Contexte

Quelqu’un a demandé à l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) les feuilles de présence hebdomadaires des employés de la Direction des organismes de bienfaisance et de la Direction des régimes enregistrés de l’Agence pendant la période au cours de laquelle des membres de l’Alliance de la fonction publique du Canada étaient en grève. La demande a donné du fil à retordre aux cadres supérieurs de l’ARC : deux commissaires adjoints ont estimé que la demande devait être rejetée, mais seulement après quelque onze semaines de réflexion.

Le demandeur a adressé une plainte au Commissaire à l’information, faisant valoir que ces renseignements étaient de l’ordre du travail et ne constituaient pas de l’information protégée aux termes de la Loi.

Question juridique

Les renseignements relatifs à la présence d’employés au travail au cours d’une période de grève sont-ils des « renseignements personnels » susceptibles d’être exemptés du droit d’accès prévu au paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information?

L’enquête a confirmé que l’ARC avait déjà reçu des demandes de communication des feuilles de présence d’employés et qu’elle avait toujours communiqué ces renseignements, exception faite des numéros d’identification des employés et de la description des types de congé que ceux-ci avaient pris. L’ARC a expliqué que, en l’espèce, elle s’était écartée de sa pratique courante pour protéger le caractère privé du choix des employés syndiqués pendant une grève. L’Agence a estimé que la présence au travail peut être considérée comme l’expression de l’opinion de l’employé à l’égard de la solidarité professionnelle pendant une grève.

Le Commissaire à l’information s’est inspiré de la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada dans Dagg c. Canada (Ministre des Finances), 2 R.C.S. 403, où les juges ont statué que les renseignements relatifs à la présence au travail d’un employé ne sont pas des « renseignements personnels » aux fins du paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, compte tenu de l’alinéa 3j) de la définition de la notion de « renseignements personnels » dans la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

L’alinéa 3j) élimine de la définition les renseignements concernant :

« (…) un cadre ou employé, actuel ou ancien, d’une institution fédérale et portant sur son poste ou ses fonctions, notamment (…) »

Le Commissaire à l’information a fait part de son point de vue au Commissaire de l’ARC. L’Agence a donc communiqué les feuilles de présence au demandeur, exception faite des numéros d’identification des employés et de la description des types de congé que ceux-ci avaient pris. Le Commissaire à l’information a alors estimé que l’affaire était réglée.

Ce qu’il faut retenir

La vie privée des fonctionnaires est moins protégée que celle d’autres personnes aux termes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements relatifs au poste ou aux fonctions de fonctionnaires identifiables ne peuvent pas être considérés comme secrets pour protéger la vie privée des intéressés. Par ailleurs, certains renseignements d’évaluation sur la façon dont les fonctionnaires exercent leurs fonctions sont protégés.

Aucune situation du genre n’a suscité autant de directives juridiques que celle consistant à déterminer la mesure dans laquelle les renseignements relatifs aux fonctionnaires doivent être protégés. La Cour suprême du Canada a tranché deux cas du genre. Outre Dagg, supra, nous invitons le lecteur à prendre connaissance de l’arrêt Canada (Commissaire à l’information) c.Canada (Commissaire de la GRC), [2003] 1 R.C.S. 66.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant