Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Offender Privacy v. Public Interest Disclosure

Background

The representative of a non profit advocacy group supporting victims of crime asked Correctional Service Canada (CSC) for access to the report of a Board of Investigation into the release and supervision of an offender who was charged with second-degree murder while on statutory release status. Most of the report was withheld, pursuant to subsection 19(1) of the Act, in order to protect the privacy of the offender.

The requester was surprised by this response as, in the past, Board of Investigation reports into crimes allegedly committed by offenders while on release status had been disclosed on the basis that the public interest in disclosure clearly outweighed any invasion of privacy that could result. The requester complained to the Information Commissioner and asked him to determine why, in this case, the offender’s privacy was given primacy over the public interest in disclosure.

Legal Issue

Did CSC properly exercise its discretion to disclose personal information in the public interest, pursuant to the related provisions of paragraph 19(2)(c) of the Act and subparagraph 8(2)(m)(i) of the Privacy Act?

Paragraph 19(2)(c) of the Act authorizes government institutions to disclose personal information if disclosure is permitted by section 8 of the Privacy Act. Subparagraph 8(2)(m)(i) of the Privacy Act provides that personal information may be disclosed:

"(m) for any purpose where, in the opinion of the head of the institution

(i) the public interest in disclosure clearly outweighs any invasion of privacy that could result from the disclosure…"

The Commissioner’s investigation determined that CSC had, indeed, disclosed Board of Investigation reports in the past, pursuant to subparagraph 8(2)(m)(i) of the Privacy Act. The investigation also determined that, at some point in the Fall of 2002, the then Privacy Commissioner of Canada had written to the Commissioner of CSC, expressing a concern about the disclosure of Board of Investigation reports in the public interest.

In response to the Privacy Commissioner’s concerns, CSC revised and restricted its disclosure policy with respect to Board of Investigation reports. CSC adopted a policy, in late November 2002, to authorize disclosure of such reports in the public interest, only if the requester is a victim of crime, an organization acting with the written consent of a victim of crime, or a family member of a victim of crime.

The Information Commissioner was mindful of the fact that the discretion to disclose offender personal information clearly resides with the head of CSC. However, he was concerned that the strict policy governing the application of subparagraph 8(2)(m)(i) of the Privacy Act might constitute an improper fettering of the head’s discretion.

The Information Commissioner asked CSC to review the facts of this case carefully to ensure that the discretion to disclose in the public interest was exercised on a case-specific basis, taking into account all relevant factors, both pro- and con-disclosure. In other words, the Information Commissioner needed to be satisfied that the discretion had been properly exercised and that the decision had not been dictated by the policy.

CSC agreed to reconsider the matter. Some additional portions of the Board of Investigation report, containing details which had already been reported in the media, were disclosed. Portions remained withheld, however, to protect the offender’s privacy. Secrecy was not maintained solely on the basis of the policy but also because of a specific circumstance of this case - the offender had been apprehended and incarcerated and, hence, no longer posed a danger to the community.

The Commissioner was satisfied that the discretion to disclose (or not disclose) in the public interest, had been properly exercised and found the complaint to be resolved.

Lessons Learned

Institutions have an obligation, before withholding personal information under subsection 19(1) of the Act, to consider the exceptions to the exemption set out in subsection 19(2). One of these exceptions, paragraph 19(2)(c), requires the proper exercise of a discretion, being a decision as to whether or not the public interest in disclosure clearly outweighs any resulting invasion of privacy.

Parliament intended that this provision not become a routine basis for privacy invasion - that is why the phrase "clearly outweighs" appears in subparagraph 8(2)(m)(i) of the Privacy Act. Further evidence of Parliament’s intention is that the Privacy Commissioner must be notified of any disclosures of personal information in the public interest.

Yet, in their efforts not to overuse the public interest override, institutions must take care not to refuse to exercise the discretion Parliament gave to them, or to restrict, or fetter their ability to properly exercise the discretion through the adoption of rigid or narrow policies limiting the situations in which the public interest override will be invoked. Rather, the presence of the discretionary authority, as a matter of law, requires government institutions to exercise the discretion in good faith, on a case-by-case basis, taking into account the specific information at issue and all relevant factors weighing both for and against disclosure.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant


Protection de la vie privée des délinquants et intérêt public 

Contexte

Le représentant d’un organisme sans but lucratif d’aide aux victimes de crimes a demandé au Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) de lui communiquer le rapport d’une Commission d’enquête sur la libération et la surveillance d’un délinquant reconnu coupable de meurtre avec préméditation tandis qu’il était en libération d’office. Le plus gros du rapport a été retenu, en vertu du paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, dans le but de protéger la vie privée du délinquant en question.

Le demandeur a été surpris par la réponse, car, auparavant, des rapports sur des crimes présumément commis par des délinquants en liberté d’office avaient été communiqués en raison du fait que l’intérêt public l’emporte sans conteste sur l’ingérence dans la vie privée. Le demandeur s’est adressé au Commissaire et lui a demandé de déterminer pourquoi, en l’occurrence, la vie privée du délinquant primait sur l’intérêt public.

Question juridique

Le SCC a-t-il à bon droit exercé son pouvoir discrétionnaire de communiquer ou non des renseignements personnels dans l’intérêt public en vertu de l’alinéa 19(2)c) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et du sous-alinéa 8(2)m)(i) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

L’alinéa 19(2)c) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information autorise les institutions fédérales à communiquer des renseignements personnels si cette communication est permise par l’article 8 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Le sous-alinéa 8(2)m)(i) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels prévoit que des renseignements personnels peuvent être communiqués dans le cas suivant :

m) communication à toute autre fin dans les cas où, de l’avis du responsable de l’institution :

    1. des raisons d’intérêt public justifieraient nettement une éventuelle violation de la vie privée

L’enquête du Commissaire a permis de déterminer que le SCC avait effectivement communiqué des rapports de ce genre auparavant, en vertu du sous-alinéa 8(2)m)(i) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Elle a également révélé que, au cours de l’automne 2002, le Commissaire à la vie privée d’alors avait écrit au commissaire du SCC pour lui faire part de ses préoccupations concernant la communication de ces rapports dans l’intérêt public.

En réponse à ces préoccupations, le SCC avait révisé et limité sa politique concernant les rapports de la Commission d’enquête. À la fin de novembre 2002, il a adopté une politique autorisant la communication de ces rapports dans l’intérêt public à condition que le demandeur soit une victime d’acte criminel, un organisme intervenant avec le consentement écrit d’une victime d’acte criminel ou un membre de la famille d’une victime d’acte criminel.

Le Commissaire à l’information a tenu compte du fait que le pouvoir discrétionnaire de communiquer des renseignements personnels sur les délinquants appartient indéniablement au responsable du SCC. Il s’inquiétait cependant du fait que la rigoureuse politique régissant l’application du sous-alinéa 8(2)m)(i) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels puisse constituer une entrave indue au pouvoir du responsable.

Le Commissaire a demandé au SCC de réexaminer attentivement les faits du cas en l’espèce pour s’assurer que le pouvoir discrétionnaire de communiquer des renseignements dans l’intérêt public était exercé à titre particulier, compte tenu de tous les facteurs utiles, pour et contre la communication. Autrement dit, le Commissaire devait être convaincu que le pouvoir discrétionnaire avait été exercé correctement et que la décision n’avait pas seulement été dictée par la politique en vigueur.

Le SCC a accepté de reconsidérer l’affaire. D’autres parties du rapport de la Commission ont été communiqués : ils contenaient des détails qui avaient déjà été divulgués dans les médias. D’autres parties ont cependant été retenues pour protéger la vie privée de l’intéressé. Le secret n’a pas été maintenu uniquement en raison de la politique, mais aussi en raison d’un élément propre à l’affaire : le délinquant avait été appréhendé et incarcéré et ne représentait donc plus un danger pour la collectivité.

Le Commissaire à l’information s’est dit convaincu que le pouvoir discrétionnaire de communiquer (ou non) des renseignements dans l’intérêt public avait été exercé correctement et a estimé que l’affaire était réglée.

Ce qu’il faut retenir

Les institutions ont l’obligation, avant de retenir des renseignements personnels en vertu du paragraphe 19(1) de laLoi sur l’accès à l’information, de tenir compte des dérogations prévues au paragraphe 19(2). L’une de ces dérogations, formulée à l’alinéa 19(2)c), prévoit l’exercice approprié d’un pouvoir discrétionnaire applicable à la question de savoir si l’intérêt public l’emporte sur l’ingérence dans la vie privée.

L’intention du Parlement était que cette disposition ne devienne pas une justification systématique de l’ingérence dans la vie privée, et c’est pourquoi l’expression «  justifieraient nettement » apparaît au sous-alinéa 8(2)m)(i) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. L’intention du Parlement est manifeste également dans le fait que le Commissaire à la vie privée doit être informé de toute communication de renseignements personnels dans l’intérêt public.

Pourtant, dans leurs efforts pour ne pas invoquer de façon abusive le principe de l’intérêt public, les institutions doivent prendre garde de ne pas refuser d’exercer le pouvoir que le Parlement leur a conféré ni de limiter ou d’abandonner leur capacité à exercer dûment ce pouvoir en adoptant des politiques rigides ou étroites qui limitent les situations où ce principe peut être invoqué. L’existence du pouvoir discrétionnaire, sur le plan du droit, suppose que les institutions fédérales l’exercent de bonne foi, en fonction de la situation et en tenant compte des renseignements dont elles disposent et de tous les facteurs dont elles ont connaissance pour peser le pour et le contre d’une décision de communiquer de l’information.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant