Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Retrieving Archived E-Mail

Background

A requester asked the Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) for copies of all e-mails generated by BDC’s Vice-President of Public Affairs during the period May 1, 2000 to May 3, 2001. The BDC refused to retrieve, process, and disclose any of the e-mails, saying that: (1) the request was too unfocussed; (2) the VP’s e-mails would likely be exempt from access as "personal information" or as confidential business information; and (3) it would take substantial computer-processing time and resources, involving significant fees to be borne by the requestor.

The requester complained to the Information Commissioner, pointing out that he was seeking access to e-mails generated on a work-related account, that the BDC had provided no specific fee estimate, and that it had made no effort to apply the exemptions contained in the Act, designed to protect any portion of the requested records containing personal information or confidential business information.

Early in the Commissioner’s investigation, BDC realized that it had no legal basis for refusing to process the request. It determined that e-mails relevant to four of the twelve months covered by the request were retrievable from the Vice-President’s desktop computer. They were processed and disclosed, subject to exemptions. The remaining eight months of e-mails had been electronically archived in a manner which BDC estimated would cost $17,400 and six weeks of work to retrieve.

Part of the technical challenge for BDC was that it had moved from an MS-Mail and Schedule System (Novel operating environment) to Microsoft Exchange and Outlook. In its fee estimate, BDC included the purchase of a computer, server, installation and set-up time, and the cost of a consultant for 31 working days to restore the e-mails from the back-up tapes.

Legal Issues

This case raised two legal issues: First, is a government institution required to retrieve electronically archived e-mails in response to an access request? Second, what costs incurred in retrieving e-mails may a government institution charge to the access requester?

Issue 1

With respect to the first issue, the answer, in the Commissioner’s view, depends on whether or not retrieving the e-mails would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution. This position flows from the wording of section 3 of the Access to Information Regulations (the Regulations) which provides:

"For the purpose of subsection 4(3) of the Act, a record that does not exist but can be produced from a machine readable record under the control of a government institution need not be produced where the production thereof would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution."

The Commissioner dispatched his own computer expert to the BDC to make an independent assessment of the "burden" which would be placed on the BDC were it to be required to retrieve the archived e-mails.

The Commissioner’s expert examined the BDC’s plan and determined that BDC already possessed all the necessary hardware and software resources to retrieve the e-mails, that all of the hardware used to back-up the e-mail servers were still in existence, and that the technical analyst who had initially installed and configured the MS-Mail and Exchange 5.5 server was still employed with the BDC. The Commissioner’s expert estimated that the retrieval of the e-mails could be accomplished in less time than the 31 days estimated by BDC. Consequently, the Commissioner could not accept the BDC’s assertion that retrieval of the e-mails would unreasonably interfere with BDC’s operations.

Issue 2

With respect to the second issue, the Commissioner informed BDC of his view that the fee estimate was unjustifiably high, not only for the technical reasons just outlined, but for legal reasons, as well.

The Commissioner reviewed the Regulations and could find no authority for charging fees based on labour and capital costs involved in retrieving electronic records. However, the Commissioner concluded that BDC could assess fees to the requester in the amount of $10 per hour of time spent by staff members to retrieve the records, per subsection 7(2) of the Regulations. The Commissioner’s view, in this regard, followed comments made by Muldoon J. at para. 21 of his decision in the case of Blank v. Canada (Minister of Environment) [2000] F.C.J. No. 1620.

BDC Response

With the benefit of the Commissioner’s views on these issues, BDC agreed to proceed to retrieve and process the archived e-mails. As well, it recalculated its fee estimate pursuant to subsection 7(2) of the Regulations - it dropped from $17,400 to $2,325.


The Commissioner informed the requester that he considered the revised fee to be reasonable, and the case was resolved on that basis.

Lessons Learned

Access requests requiring institutions to recover archived e-mail pose significant challenges. As a matter of law, it will be very difficult for an institution to simply refuse to retrieve the e-mails, because so doing would unreasonably interfere with the institution’s operation. In the Blank case (previously cited), for example, it was estimated that retrieval of the e-mails would involve 575 hours of work, yet the institution did not claim unreasonable interference.

Rather, the prudent course is to properly assess fees - yet another challenge. The Regulations do not specifically authorize fees for recovering archived e-mail, and the jurisprudence supports the approach of charging such fees pursuant to subsection 7(2) of the Regulations (which refers to non-computerized records) rather than pursuant to subsection 7(3) (which refers to machine readable records).

As confounding as that may be, the jurisprudence stands uncontradicted and was the Commissioner’s guide in this case.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant


Récupération de messages électroniques archivés 

Contexte

Un requérant a demandé à la Banque de développement du Canada (BDC) des exemplaires de tous les messages électroniques produits par le vice-président de la Banque chargé des Affaires publiques du 1er mai 2000 au 3 mai 2001. La BDC a refusé d’extraire, de traiter et de communiquer ces messages pour les motifs suivants : 1) la demande n’était pas suffisamment précise, 2) les messages électroniques du VP seraient probablement considérés comme des renseignements personnels ou des renseignements commerciaux confidentiels et par conséquent protégés et 3) il faudrait beaucoup de temps et de ressources pour traiter la demande, ce qui supposerait des frais importants à la charge du demandeur.

Le demandeur a adressé une plainte au Commissaire en faisant remarquer qu’il avait demandé accès à des messages électroniques produits sur un compte professionnel, que la BDC n’avait pas fourni d’estimation des frais et qu’elle n’avait rien tenté pour appliquer les exceptions prévues par la Loi destinées à protéger les parties des documents demandés qui contiendraient des renseignements personnels ou des renseignements commerciaux confidentiels.

Dès le début de l’enquête du Commissaire, la BDC s’est rendue compte qu’elle n’avait aucune justification juridique pour refuser de traiter la demande. Elle a donc estimé que les messages applicables à 4 des 12 mois de la période couverte par la demande pourraient être extraits de l’ordinateur personnel du vice-président. Ces messages ont été traités et communiqués, sous réserve des exceptions applicables. Les messages des huit autres mois avaient été archivés. Selon la BDC, il en aurait coûté environ 17 400 dollars, et il aurait fallu six semaines pour les extraire.

Une partie du problème technique de la BDC était qu’elle était passée du système MS-Mail et Schedule (environnement d’exploitation Novell) au système Microsoft Exchange et Outlook. Dans l’estimation des frais, la BDC a compté l’achat d’un ordinateur et d’un serveur, le temps d’installation et de configuration et les honoraires d’un consultant pour 31 jours ouvrables, pour pouvoir retrouver les messages dans les enregistrements de sauvegarde.

Questions juridiques

Ce cas soulève deux questions juridiques : Premièrement, une institution fédérale est-elle tenue de retrouver des messages électroniques archivés en réponse à une demande de communication? Deuxièmement, quels sont les frais que l’institution peut facturer au demandeur selon la réglementation?

Première question

Pour ce qui est de la première question, la réponse, de l’avis du Commissaire, dépend de la question de savoir si l’extraction des messages demandés risque d’entraver d'une façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution. Ce point de vue découle de la formulation de l’article 3 du Règlement, qui dispose ce qui suit :

« Aux fins du paragraphe 4(3) de la Loi, la préparation d'un document qui n'existe pas comme tel mais qui peut être produit à partir d'un document informatisé relevant d'une institution fédérale n'est pas obligatoire lorsque cette préparation entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution concernée. »

Le Commissaire a envoyé son propre spécialiste de l’informatique à la BDC pour procéder à une évaluation indépendante du « fardeau » que devrait assumer la Banque si elle était tenue d’extraire des messages archivés.

Le spécialiste du Commissaire a examiné le système en vigueur à la BDC et conclu que celle-ci possédait déjà toutes les ressources nécessaires en matériel et en logiciels pour extraire les messages, que tout le matériel employé pour sauvegarder les serveurs de message existait toujours et que l’analyste technique qui avait installé et configuré le serveur MS-Mail et Exchange 5.5 était toujours au service de la Banque. Et il a estimé que les messages pourraient être extraits en moins de 31 jours. Le Commissaire ne pouvait donc pas accepter l’affirmation de la Banque selon laquelle l’extraction des messages entraverait de façon sérieuse son fonctionnement.

Deuxième question

Pour ce qui est de la deuxième question, le Commissaire a informé la BDC que, selon lui, l’estimation des frais était injustifiable, non seulement en raison des éléments techniques soulignés, mais aussi pour des raisons juridiques.

Le Commissaire a examiné le Règlement et n’y a rien trouvé qui permette de facturer des frais de main-d’œuvre et de capital au titre de l’extraction de documents électroniques. Il a, par contre, conclu que la Banque pourrait facturer au demandeur des frais de 10 dollars/l’heure pour le temps consacré par le personnel à l’extraction des documents, conformément au paragraphe 7(2) du Règlement. À cet égard, le Commissaire s’est appuyé sur les commentaires formulés au paragraphe 21 par le juge Muldoon dans Blank c. Canada (Ministre de l’Environnement) [2000] A.C.F. no 1620.

La réponse de la BDC

Compte tenu de l’avis du Commissaire, la BDC a accepté d’extraire et de traiter les messages archivés. Elle a également recalculé les frais conformément au paragraphe 7(2) du Règlement, les faisant passer de 17 400 à 2 325 dollars.

Le Commissaire a informé le demandeur qu’il estimait que les frais révisés étaient raisonnables et que l’affaire était donc réglée.

Ce qu’il faut retenir

Les demandes de communication concernant des messages électroniques archivés soulèvent des problèmes importants pour les institutions. Sur le plan du droit, il leur est difficile de simplement opposer un refus parce que cela entraverait de façon sérieuse leur fonctionnement. Dans Blank (voir plus haut), par exemple, on a estimé que l’extraction de messages électroniques prendrait 575 heures, mais l’institution n’a pas invoqué l’argument de l’entrave sérieuse.

Il est plus prudent d’évaluer correctement les frais, ce qui est un autre problème. Le Règlement n’autorise pas expressément de frais pour l’extraction de messages électroniques archivés, et, selon la jurisprudence, il convient de les facturer en vertu du paragraphe 7(2) (qui renvoie à des documents non informatisés) plutôt qu’en vertu du paragraphe 7(3) (qui renvoie à des documents lisibles par machine).

Aussi troublant que cela paraisse, la jurisprudence n’a pas été contredite, et le Commissaire s’en est inspiré en l’espèce.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant