Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Backlog Reduction Plan

Of the 1,417 complaints from individuals that will be carried over to next year, 1,052 are considered to be in "backlog" status because they were not completed within service standards. Last year, of the 1,427 investigations carried forward, 1,298 were in "backlog" status. The office, thus, was able this year to halt the growth of the backlog and reduce it by 246 investigations.

While it is true that the office has had some success this year in reducing its backlog of incomplete investigations, it was not able to fully implement its backlog reduction plan, for which additional investigators were approved in January 2006, for fiscal years 2006-07 to 2009-10. The reason for the delay in fully implementing the plan was a delay, outside the Commissioner’s control, in securing the office accommodation necessary to house the new investigators.

The backlog reduction plan will become fully operational in 2007-08, as the required additional accommodation will be made available to the Commissioner, by Public Works and Government Services Canada, for occupancy by August/September 2007. The Commissioner remains confident that, by March 31, 2010, there will be no backlog of investigations, and incoming complaints will be investigated within service standards. Until that time, however, investigation completion time statistics will continue to exceed service standards as old cases are closed, and their lengthy duration are reflected in these statistics - as can be seen in Table 5.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Plan de réduction de l’arriéré 

Sur les 1 417 plaintes individuelles adressées au Commissariat qui seront reportées sur l’exercice suivant, 1 052 font partie de « l’arriéré » parce qu’elles n’ont pas été traitées dans le délai prévu par les normes de service. L’année dernière, sur les 1 427 enquêtes reportées, 1 298 faisaient partie de « l’arriéré ». Le Commissariat a donc été capable de stopper l’augmentation de l’arriéré et de le réduire de 246 cas.

Il est vrai que, cette année, le Commissariat a réussi à réduire l’arriéré des enquêtes inachevées, mais il n’a pas pu mettre en œuvre intégralement son plan de réduction de l’arriéré, dans le cadre duquel des enquêteurs supplémentaires ont été approuvés en janvier 2006 pour les exercices 2006-2007 à 2009-2010. La raison de ce retard était indépendante de la volonté du Commissaire : il fallait trouver des locaux pour les nouveaux enquêteurs.

Le plan de réduction de l’arriéré sera pleinement opérationnel en 2007-2008, car les locaux supplémentaires nécessaires seront mis à la disposition du Commissaire par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada en août/septembre 2007. Le Commissaire est convaincu que, d’ici le 31 mars 2010, il n’y aura plus d’arriéré d’enquêtes et que les plaintes seront traitées dans les délais prévus par les normes de service. D’ici là, cependant, les statistiques d’achèvement continueront de dépasser les normes de service à mesure que les cas en souffrance sont réglés et que leur durée se traduit dans les statistiques de temps de traitement (voir le Tableau 5).


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant