Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Workload Profile

The total workload of investigations that the office faced in this reporting year is reflected in Table 1 and totalled some 3,500 investigations (Table 6 shows the distribution of complaints from individuals by province/territory).

Table 1 also shows that the office was able to complete 1,863 investigations and reviews, and will carry over to next year 1,417 complaints from individuals, plus 237 systemic complaints.

As can be seen from Table 2, delay-related complaints (deemed refusals and time extensions) account for 43% of complaints received, exceeding complaints about refusals to disclose, which accounted for 40% of complaints received. Moreover, as reflected in Table 3, 92% of complaints in the deemed-refusal and time-extension categories had merit - as compared with 64% of refusal to disclose complaints (discontinued complaints are ignored in the calculation of these percentages since the Commissioner had not decided on the merit of those cases).

These results suggest that excessive secrecy by government institutions is not as significant a problem as is failure to respect the 30-day response period or properly manage the provisions in the statute that offer institutions the opportunity to extend the 30-day deadline. It would appear that the most serious compliance problem in the system is one of process.

Put another way, government institutions have it within their control to significantly reduce the number of complaints made to the Information Commissioner, merely by properly managing the "process" elements of the access to information program. With respect to the "judgement" elements (i.e. whether or not to invoke exemptions to justify refusals to disclose), institutions appear to be doing relatively well.

It is for this reason that this Commissioner will make it a priority to encourage, and work with, the President of the Treasury Board to implement solutions to the process-related problems that appear to be the main impediments to the full realization of the rights contained in the Act.

Table 4 provides a breakdown of the complaints completed this year by government institution. The "top ten" list of institutions against which complaints with merit were made is:

1.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

109 of 132

2.

Canada Border Services Agency

50 of 52

3.

National Defence

42 of 74

4.

Health Canada

40 of 50

5.

Privy Council Office

37 of 56

6.

Public Works and Government Services Canada

32 of 57

7.

Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade

31 of 38

8.

Canada Revenue Agency

28 of 389

9.

Transport Canada

21 of 27

10.

Environment Canada

20 of 31

A comparison of this "top ten" list of institutions with the list of the poorest performing "report card" institutions (see page 25) reveals a remarkably close parallel - as would be expected. This confirms the view that the basis of the report card grades (percentage of requests received in deemed refusal) is a remarkably good indicator of overall departmental performance under the Act.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Charge de travail 

Le nombre d’enquêtes que le Commissariat a effectuées au cours de l’exercice est présenté au Tableau 1, soit 3 500 en tout (le Tableau 6 propose une ventilation des plaintes par province/territoire).

Le Tableau 1 indique que le Commissariat a achevé 1 863 enquêtes et examens et qu’il reportera sur l’exercice suivant 1 417 plaintes émanant de demandeurs et 237 plaintes systémiques.

Comme on peut le voir au Tableau 2, les plaintes pour retard (présomptions de refus et prorogations de délai) représentent 43 p. 100 des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat, tandis que les plaintes pour refus de communication représentaient 40 p. 100 du total. Par ailleurs, comme le montre le Tableau 3, 92 p. 100 des plaintes pour présomption de refus et prorogation de délai ont été jugées fondées, comparativement à 64 p. 100 des plaintes pour refus de communication. Le calcul de ces pourcentages ne tient pas compte des plaintes abandonnées puisque le Commissaire n’avait pas jugé du mérite de ces cas.

Ces résultats donnent à penser que le secret excessif dans les institutions fédérales n’est pas un problème aussi important que l’incapacité de celles-ci à respecter le délai de réponse de 30 jours ou à gérer correctement les dispositions de la Loi qui leur permettent de proroger ce délai. Il semblerait que le plus grave problème se pose au niveau du processus de traitement.

Autrement dit, les institutions ont les moyens de réduire considérablement le nombre de plaintes adressées au Commissaire à l’information, simplement en gérant correctement les éléments relatifs au « processus » dans le programme d’accès à l’information. Pour ce qui est des éléments relatifs au « jugement » (y a-t-il lieu ou non d’invoquer telle ou telle exception pour justifier un refus?), elles semblent bien les gérer.

C’est pourquoi le Commissaire se fera un devoir prioritaire d’encourager le président du Conseil du Trésor et de collaborer avec lui pour mettre en œuvre des solutions aux problèmes liés au processus qui semblent être les principaux obstacles au respect intégral des droits prévus par la Loi.

Le Tableau 4 propose une ventilation des plaintes dont l’instruction a été terminée au cours du dernier exercice par institution. Les dix premières institutions contre lesquelles des plaintes ont été jugées fondées sont les suivantes :

1.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada

109 sur 132

2.

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

50 sur 52

3.

Ministère de la Défense nationale

42 sur 74

4.

Santé Canada

40 sur 50

5.

Bureau du Conseil privé

37 sur 56

6.

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada

32 sur 57

7.

Ministère des Affaires étrangères

et du Commerce international

31 sur 38

8.

Agence du revenu du Canada

28 sur 389

9.

Transports Canada

21 sur 27

10.

Environnement Canada

20 sur 31

Comme on pouvait s’y attendre, la comparaison de cette liste et de la liste des institutions dont les fiches de rendement sont les plus faibles révèle une concordance remarquable (voir page 27). Cela confirme que le classement proposé dans les fiches de rendement (pourcentage des demandes et présomptions de refus) est un indicateur remarquablement exact du rendement général des ministères à cet égard.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant