Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Investigations and Reviews

The primary, legislated function of the Information Commissioner is to receive and investigate complaints from persons, including corporations, who believe that their access to information rights have not been respected by government institutions. The Commissioner has no discretion to refuse to investigate a complaint pursuant to subsection 30(1) of the Act. Complaints may allege improper refusal to disclose requested records, undue delay in providing records, inadequate searches for requested records, excessive fees, unreasonable time extensions, refusal to translate requested records, or any other matter relating to requesting or obtaining access to records under the Access to Information Act (the Act).

The law requires that investigations be thorough and fair. While there is no deadline set by law within which investigations must be completed, the office has adopted a service standard policy under which a target of 120 days is set for the completion of investigations of complaints of improper denials of access and 30 days for completing investigations of administrative complaints, such as excessive delay, unreasonable extensions, and excessive fees.

In addition to the investigation of complaints made by individuals, the Commissioner has the authority to initiate the investigation of complaints on his own motion when he is satisfied that there are reasonable grounds to investigate a matter relating to requesting or obtaining access to records under the Act. It is pursuant to this authority (contained in subsection 30(3) of the Act) that the Commissioner initiates investigations aimed at addressing systemic problems, such as chronically late responses, improper management of extensions, large backlogs of unanswered requests, and administrative practices that may result in certain classes of requesters (such as media, political, or legal) receiving slower or less forthcoming answers to access requests. The Commissioner’s report card reviews fall within this group of systemic investigations.

As well, individual requesters may cause a systemic investigation by complaining about the same matter against several government institutions or against the government as a whole. In this latter regard, one such investigation, against 21 government institutions, continued in this reporting year as a result of a complaint made by the Canadian Newspaper Association alleging that the government treats access requests from members of the media in a special manner that negatively affects the access rights of this group of requesters.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant


Enquêtes et examens 

La principale fonction législative du Commissaire à l’information est la réception et l’instruction des plaintes que lui adressent des particuliers ou des entreprises qui estiment que leurs droits d’accès à l’information n’ont pas été respectés par des institutions fédérales. Le Commissaire n’a pas le pouvoir de refuser de faire enquête sur une plainte en vertu du paragraphe 30(1) de la Loi. Les plaignants peuvent alléguer qu’on leur a, à tort, refusé l’accès à des documents, qu’on a tardé à leur fournir des documents, qu’on n’a pas fait de recherches suffisantes, que les frais sont trop élevés, que les prorogations de délai sont excessives, qu’on a refusé de traduire les documents demandés, ou toute autre raison ayant trait à la demande de documents ou à l’accès à des documents en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi).

La Loi exige que les enquêtes soient approfondies et équitables. Aucune échéance n’est fixée officiellement, mais le Commissariat s’est doté de normes de service visant une échéance de 120 jours pour l’achèvement des enquêtes sur les plaintes pour refus de communication injustifié et de 30 jours pour les enquêtes sur les plaintes à caractère administratif (retard, prorogation de délai excessive, frais trop élevés, etc.).

Outre les plaintes que lui adressent des particuliers, le Commissaire a le pouvoir de faire enquête de son propre chef lorsqu’il est convaincu qu’il existe des motifs valables d’approfondir une question ayant trait à la demande ou à l’obtention de documents en vertu de la Loi. C’est en vertu de ce pouvoir (que lui confère le paragraphe 30(3) de la Loi) que le Commissaire lance des enquêtes visant à régler des problèmes systémiques comme les retards chroniques, la mauvaise gestion des prorogations de délai, les volumes importants de demandes en souffrance et les pratiques administratives qui font que certaines catégories de demandeurs (les médias, la classe politique, les juristes, etc.) obtiennent des réponses plus lentes ou moins immédiates à leurs demandes de communication. Les « fiches de rendement » font partie de ce groupe d’enquêtes systémiques.

Les demandes émanant de particuliers peuvent aussi donner lieu à une enquête systémique si la même question est soulevée à l’égard de plusieurs institutions ou à l’égard de l’administration fédérale dans son ensemble. À ce sujet, une enquête en cours contre 21 institutions fédérales s’est poursuivie pendant le dernier exercice en raison d’une plainte déposée par l’Association canadienne des journaux, qui alléguait que les demandes de communication présentées par les représentants des médias sont traitées d’une façon particulière par le gouvernement, ce qui a pour effet de compromettre les droits d’accès de ce groupe de demandeurs. 

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant