Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Assessing the Access to Information Performance of Government Institutions (Report Cards)

For almost nine years, the Office of the Information Commissioner has been pro-actively reviewing and grading the performance of government institutions in respecting the Access to Information Act (the Act). Those reviews, which have come to be known as "report cards", play several roles:

First, they help the Information Commissioner appreciate the entirety of an institution’s performance in administering the access to information

Second, they serve to encourage government institutions to put access to information performance higher on their list of priorities. Ministers and Deputy Ministers don’t want to receive grades that reflect poorly on their leadership.

Third, report cards create and disseminate a wealth of information across government about "best practices" in administering the access to information program, as they are focused on encouraging government institutions to achieve success through sound administrative processes, training, and work tools, as well as sufficient staff.

Fourth, report cards assist Parliament in playing a more targeted and focused oversight role. For example, the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics has called senior officials from the institutions which received failing grades to respond to the report cards and explain their plans to get better grades in future.

Finally, since the inception of the report card reviews, the number of complaints of delay received by the Information Commissioner has dropped from in excess of 50% of the office’s workload in 1997 to a low of 14.5% in 2003-2004. In this reporting year, some 23% of complaints related to delay.

As a result of the report card process, there has been a significant new infusion of resources for the access to information program in many institutions, an improvement in the timeliness of responses to access requests, and more knowledgeable application of the law’s exemptions so as to keep the zone of secrecy in government to the minimum authorized by the Act.

Grading Scale

The grade given to an institution is based on the percentage of access requests it answers late. The Act establishes mandatory response deadlines and deems a request to have been denied if the answer is late. Grades are based on the following standards:

% of Requests Received Which End as Deemed Refusals

% of deemed refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal Compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial Compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline Compliance

C

15-20%

Below Standard Compliance

D

More than 20 %

Red Alert

F

In this reporting year, report card reviews were conducted on 17 institutions. The results are set out in the following table, and the percentage of requests deemed to have been refused (late) includes requests received in the previous fiscal year that were carried over in this fiscal year.

GRADING FROM 1998 TO 2006

(for the period April 1 to November 30)

 

1998

1999

2000

2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

AAFC

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

21.9%

F

38.7%

A

3.8%

CBSA

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

69.0%

CIC

F

F

D

C

A

D

C

13.8%

D

15.3%

B

7.9%

DFAIT

F

F

F

D

B

D

F

28.8%

F

60.1%

D

17.2%

Fin

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

C

11.9%

B

7.9%

F&O

-

-

F

F

A

A

B

5.2%

C

12.7%

B

5.9%

HCan

F

A

-

-

A

B

D

18.2%

D

18.9%

F

21.9%

IC

-

-

-

-

-

F

D

16.2%

B

5.9%

B

8.1%

IRB

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

39.1%

A

0.0%

Jus

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

43.5%

F

38.8%

F

37.3%

LAC

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

70%

F

55.5%

A

3.8%

ND

F

F

D

C

B

B

B

9.5%

C

14.8%

B

8.7%

PCO

F

A

-

-

D

A

F

26.5%

F

31.9%

F

25.3%

PS

(PSEPC)

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

21.1%

D

18.9%

PWGSC

-

-

-

-

F

C

D

17.7%

B

7.3%

B

9.7%

RCMP

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

79.0%

F

67.0%

TC

-

F

F

C

D

D

B

7.2%

B

9.2%

D

16.6%

From "F" to "A"

Nine institutions improved their grade over last year - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC), Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC), Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT), Finance Canada (Fin), Fisheries & Oceans Canada (F&O), Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB), Library and Archives Canada (LAC), National Defence (ND), and Public Safety Canada (PS). Of those, three moved from "F" to "A" - kudos to AAFC, IRB, and LAC for rising to the challenge and for making it a priority in their institutions to do what is necessary to answer access requests in a timely way.

The other six institutions showing improved grades (CIC, DFAIT, Fin, F&O, ND, and PSEPC) have more work to do, but they have solid plans in place to bring them into ideal compliance in the near future.

No Change

Five institutions showed no change in their grade over last year (Industry Canada (IC), Justice Canada (Jus), Privy Council Office (PCO), Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC), and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)). Of these, three institutions (Jus, PCO, and RCMP) have, again, received failing grades; indeed, Justice and PCO have received failing grades for three years in a row.

Senior officials from two of these three institutions (Jus and PCO) were called before the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in October 2005 to discuss their failing grade on the Commissioner’s 2004-2005 report cards. PCO promised to solve its delay problem by March 31, 2006; Jus promised to do so by March 31, 2008.

It is particularly important, as a matter of leadership example to all other government institutions, that the Prime Minister’s department and the department of the Minister who is responsible for the Access to Information Act succeed in getting an "A". The magnitude of the administrative challenges they face is modest by comparison with other institutions which have moved themselves in relatively short order from an "F" to an "A".

Justice - There is reason to be optimistic that Justice Canada will succeed in improving its grade by next year. The department has put the necessary resources and processes in place, and senior management is closely monitoring progress.

Privy Council Office - The problems seem more serious at PCO, despite improvements in process and increases in resources. The chronic inability of PCO to answer a modest workload of access to information requests (less than 600 per year) has much to do with a burdensome and unusual approval process. PCO’s ATIP Coordinator does not hold a full delegation of authority to answer access requests. For example, the ATIP Coordinator, since September 2005, may invoke mandatory exemptions. However, delegation to apply the Act’s discretionary exemptions rests with ADM-level and higher officials (some 16 positions). Senior officials make the discretionary decisions on disclosure of the records for which they are functionally responsible. As well, senior officials have no special training or expertise with respect to the requirements of, or their obligations as decision-makers under, the Act.

This top-heavy approach - virtually unique in government - not only slows the process, but also means that the deciders are not prone to playing a meaningful challenge function for openness.

A random file review indicated no evidence that any discretion was exercised by senior officials applying discretionary exemptions. Most of the files contained no documentation as to whether any factors pro- and con-disclosure were considered, or the weight assigned to them. Indeed, some senior officials seemed entirely unfamiliar with the legal concept of "discretion" and the obligations to be discharged by decision-makers when making a discretionary decision about individual rights.

This anomaly in PCO’s delegation of authority runs counter to representations made by PCO senior officials, in the Fall of 2005, to the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics. PCO officials stated that a full delegation of decision-making authority would be made to the ATIP Coordinator. That same undertaking was made to the Information Commissioner and formed part of the basis on which the Commissioner authorized PCO to inform the Standing Committee that the Commissioner supported PCO’s action plan to solve its delay problem.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police - The RCMP is floundering badly. It does not have a coherent plan in place with specific deliverables and target dates. It is experiencing resourcing difficulties in recruiting, training, and retaining qualified analysts. Operational needs in other areas of the RCMP are routinely given priority over the ATIP program, and senior management has not taken a hands-on interest in monitoring performance. While it is true that the RCMP has a large workload of access requests with which to cope, it can, and must, do better.

For all five of the "stalled" institutions, the Office of the Information Commissioner has made specific recommendations to assist these institutions in kick-starting their efforts. Details of the report card findings and recommendations can be viewed on the Information Commissioner’s website.

Getting Worse

Two institutions (Health Canada (HCan) and Transport Canada (TC)) received a lower grade this year than last year. HCan went from a grade of "D" at 18.9% to an "F" at 21.9%, and TC went from a grade of "B" at 9.2% to a grade of "D" at 16.6%, which is almost doubled from last year.

The departments explain their results as being due to a significant increase in the number of requests received from the previous year and a shortage of staff at the time (35% for HCan and 50% for TC). As well, TC is still faced with a staffing shortfall problem while HCan indicated its difficulty with records retrieval, the consultation process, and the approval process.

This office will work with both departments to develop a plan to come into ideal compliance without undue delay.

First Report Card

This year, for the first time, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) was the subject of a report card review and received a failing grade. Some 69% of the access requests it received from April 1 to November 30, 2006, were answered late.

A number of factors account for this poor record, including the fact that the institution was only recently created, it faces resource shortfalls in many areas, it received an unexpected volume of access requests, and experienced difficulties in recruiting, training, and retaining ATIP analysts.

The good news is that CBSA management has reacted swiftly, constructively, and forcefully to address the problem of delay. Significant additional resources have been devoted to the ATIP program, an action plan has been developed with the assistance of Consulting and Audit Canada, and careful monitoring of progress has been implemented by the President and his executive committee.

CBSA expects all aspects of its action plan to be in place by March 31, 2009, and there is reason to believe that the problem of late responses may be resolved earlier than that. The Commissioner is confident that CBSA will be a good news story in next year’s annual report.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant


L’évaluation du rendement des institutions fédérales à l’égard de l’accès à l’information (fiches de rendement) 

Depuis près de neuf ans, le Commissariat à l’information procède à l’examen et à l’évaluation proactifs du rendement des institutions fédérales à l’égard de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ces examens, plus connus sous le nom de « fiches de rendement », remplissent plusieurs fonctions.

Premièrement, les fiches de rendement aident le Commissaire à l’information à évaluer le rendement global d’une institution dans l’administration du programme d’accès à l’information plutôt que de le limiter à la perspective étroite que fournissent les enquêtes sur les plaintes.

Deuxièmement, elles permettent d’encourager les institutions à placer l’accès à l’information parmi leurs principales priorités. Les ministres et sous-ministres ne veulent pas de classement qui ternirait leur leadership.

Troisièmement, elles permettent de produire et de diffuser une mine d’information dans l’administration fédérale au sujet des « pratiques optimales » dans l’administration du programme d’accès à l’information, car elles ont pour but d’encourager les institutions à obtenir de bons résultats, grâce à des pratiques administratives, une formation et des outils solides, ainsi qu’un personnel suffisant.

Quatrièmement, elles aident le Parlement à jouer un rôle de surveillance mieux ciblé. Par exemple, le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la vie privée et de l’éthique a convoqué des cadres supérieurs des institutions ayant reçu une mauvaise note pour répondre aux fiches de rendement et expliquer ce qu’ils prévoyaient de faire pour améliorer leurs résultats.

Enfin, depuis la création de ces fiches, le nombre de plaintes pour réponse en retard adressées au Commissaire a diminué, passant de plus de 50 p. 100 en 1997 à 14,5 p. 100 en 2003-2004. Au cours de l’année écoulée, quelque 24 p. 100 des plaintes avaient trait aux retards.

Depuis l’introduction des fiches de rendement, beaucoup d’institutions ont consacré nettement plus de ressources au programme d’accès à l’information, le temps de réponse aux demandes s’est amélioré, et les exceptions sont appliquées de façon plus éclairée, de sorte que la zone de secret du gouvernement est maintenue au minimum autorisé par la Loi.

Le barème de notation

La note attribuée à une institution est fondée sur le pourcentage de demandes de communication auxquelles elle a répondu en retard. La Loi prévoit un délai de réponse obligatoire et suppose qu’une demande a été refusée dès lors qu’on n’y a pas répondu dans ce délai. La note est fonction des normes suivantes :

Pourcentage de présomptions de refus

Pourcentage de présomptions de refus

Remarque

Classement

0 – 5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5 – 10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10 – 15 %

Conformité à la limite

C

15 – 20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

 

Au cours de l’année écoulée, on a procédé à l’examen du rendement de 17 institutions. Les résultats apparaissent dans le tableau suivant, et le pourcentage de présomptions de refus (retards) comprend les demandes de l’année antérieure reportées sur le présent exercice.

 

CLASSEMENT DE 1998 À 2006

(1er avril au 30 novembre)

 

1998

1999

2000

2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

AAC

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

21,9 %

F

38,7 %

A

3,8 %

ASFC

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

69,0 %

BAC

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

70 %

F

55,5 %

A

3,8 %

CIC

F

F

D

C

A

D

C

13,8 %

D

15,3 %

B

7,9 %

Fin

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

C

11,9 %

B

7,9 %

MAECI

F

F

F

D

B

D

F

28,8 %

F

60,1 %

D

17,2 %

MPO

-

-

F

F

A

A

B

5,2 %

C

12,7 %

B

5,9 %

CISR

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

39,1 %

A

0,0 %

GRC

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

79,0 %

F

67,0 %

IC

-

-

-

-

-

F

D

16,2 %

B

5,9 %

B

8,1 %

Jus

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

43,5 %

F

38,8 %

F

37,3 %

MDN

F

F

D

C

B

B

B

9,5 %

C

14,8 %

B

8,7 %

SC

F

A

-

-

A

B

D

18,2 %

D

18,9 %

F

21,9 %

SP

(SPPCC)

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

F

21,1 %

D

18,9 %

TC

-

F

F

C

D

D

B

7,2 %

B

9,2 %

D

16,6 %

TPSGC

-

-

-

-

F

C

D

17,7 %

B

7,3 %

B

9,7 %

 

 

De F à A

Neuf institutions ont amélioré leur rendement au cours de l’année écoulée : Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC), Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC), le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI), Finances Canada (Fin), le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO), la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié (CISR), Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC), le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) et Sécurité publique Canada (SP). Trois d’entre elles sont passées de F à A : bravo à AAC, la CISR et BAC pour avoir relevé le défi et décidé prioritairement de faire le nécessaire pour répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication.

Les six autres institutions qui ont amélioré leur classement (CIC, le MAECI, Fin, le MPO, le MDN et SP) ont plus de travail à faire, mais elles se sont dotées de solides plans pour accéder au niveau du respect idéal très prochainement.

Pas de changement

Cinq institutions sont restées au même niveau que l’an dernier : Industrie Canada (IC), Justice Canada (Jus), le Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP), Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC). Trois d’entre elles (Jus, le BCP et la GRC) ont, une fois encore, obtenu une mauvaise note : en fait, Jus et le BCP ont eu une mauvaise note trois ans de suite.

Les cadres supérieurs de deux de ces trois institutions (Jus et le BCP) ont été convoqués par le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la vie privée et de l’éthique en octobre 2005 pour discuter du classement de leur institution en 2004-2005. Le BCP a promis de régler son problème de retard avant le 31 mars 2006 et Jus, avant le 31 mars 2008.

Il est particulièrement important, pour montrer la voie à toutes les autres institutions fédérales, que le ministère du Premier ministre et celui du ministre responsable de la Loi sur l’accès à l’informationréussissent à obtenir la note A. Les difficultés administratives qu’ils doivent régler sont peu de choses au regard de ce que d’autres institutions ont fait pour passer, en relativement peu de temps, de la note F à la note A.

Justice Canada – Il y a tout lieu d’espérer que Jus réussira à améliorer sa note l’année prochaine. Le ministère a consacré les ressources voulues et s’est doté des procédures nécessaires pour le faire. De plus, la haute direction surveille étroitement l’évolution de la situation.

Bureau du Conseil privé – Les problèmes semblent plus graves au BCP, malgré l’amélioration des procédures et l’augmentation des ressources. L’incapacité chronique du BCP à répondre à un nombre relativement peu élevé de demandes de communication (moins de 600 par an) est largement imputable à une procédure d’approbation fastidieuse et inusitée. Le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP du BCP n’a pas tous les pouvoirs délégués dont il aurait besoin pour répondre aux demandes. Par exemple, depuis septembre 2005, il peut invoquer des exceptions obligatoires, mais le pouvoir délégué d’appliquer les exceptions discrétionnaires prévues par la Loiappartient au SMA et à des titulaires de postes plus élevés (quelque 16 postes en tout). Les hauts fonctionnaires prennent les décisions discrétionnaires applicables à la communication des documents dont ils ont la responsabilité fonctionnelle. Ces fonctionnaires n’ont pas reçu de formation spéciale ni n’ont de connaissance spécialisée concernant les exigences de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou leurs obligations en tant que décideurs en vertu de la Loi.

Cette gestion très hiérarchisée, à peu près unique dans l’administration fédérale, ralentit la procédure, mais signifie aussi que les décideurs ne sont pas enclins à véritablement jouer la transparence.

Un examen aléatoire des dossiers n’a pas permis de conclure que les hauts fonctionnaires en question aient fait usage de leur pouvoir discrétionnaire pour appliquer les exceptions discrétionnaires prévues par la Loi. La plupart des dossiers ne contenaient pas de documents indiquant si les facteurs pour et contre la communication avaient été examinés ni l’importance respective qu’on y avait accordée. En fait, certains de ces hauts fonctionnaires semblaient parfaitement ignorants de la notion juridique de « pouvoir discrétionnaire » et des obligations que doivent remplir les décideurs lorsqu’ils prennent une décision discrétionnaire concernant des droits individuels.

Cette anomalie dans le système de délégation des pouvoirs au BCP est contraire aux déclarations des cadres supérieurs du Bureau qui s’étaient adressés au Comité à l’automne 2005. Les cadres avaient dit, en effet, que le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP serait investi des pleins pouvoirs décisionnels par voie de délégation. Ce même engagement avait été pris auprès du Commissaire à l’information, qui avait d’ailleurs, sur la foi de cette déclaration, autorisé le BCP à informer le Comité qu’il appuyait le plan d’action du Bureau pour régler le problème des retards.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada – Les résultats de la GRC sont lamentables. La GRC n’a pas de plan cohérent assorti de produits livrables et d’échéances. Elle a du mal à recruter, former et garder des analystes qualifiés. D’autres besoins opérationnels de la GRC passent systématiquement avant le programme d’AIPRP, et la haute direction ne surveille pas directement le rendement. Il est vrai que la Gendarmerie reçoit beaucoup de demandes de communication, mais elle peut et doit faire mieux.

Concernant les cinq institutions « à la traîne », le Commissariat a formulé des recommandations précises pour les aider à relancer leurs efforts. On peut prendre connaissance des résultats détaillés des fiches de rendement et des recommandations sur le site Internet du Commissariat.

De mal en pis

Deux institutions (Santé Canada (SC) et Transports Canada (TC))ont obtenu des résultats inférieurs à ceux de l’année dernière. SC est passé de la note D (18,9 %) à la note F (21,9 %) et TC, de la note B (9,2 %) à la note D (16,6 %, presque le double de l’année dernière).

Les ministères ont expliqué leurs résultats par une augmentation importante du nombre de demandes et un manque de personnel concomitant (35 % pour SC et 50 % pour TC). De plus, TC souffre toujours d’une pénurie de personnel, tandis que SC éprouve des difficultés à l’égard de la recherche de documents et des procédures de consultation et d’approbation.

Nous collaborerons avec les deux ministères pour dresser un plan qui leur permettra d’obtenir le respect idéal sans trop tarder.

Première fiche de rendement

Cette année, pour la première fois, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a fait l’objet d’un examen du rendement. Elle a obtenu une mauvaise note. Quelque 69 p. 100 des demandes de communication qu’elle a reçues entre le 1er avril et le 30 novembre 2006 ont été traitées en retard.

Ce faible rendement s’explique par un certain nombre de facteurs, dont le fait que l’institution est récente, qu’elle manque de ressources dans bien des domaines, qu’elle a reçu un nombre inattendu de demandes et qu’elle a du mal à recruter, à former et à garder des analystes de l’AIPRP.

Par contre, la direction de l’Agence a réagi rapidement, de façon constructive et avec détermination pour régler le problème des retards. D’importantes ressources supplémentaires ont été consacrées au programme d’AIPRP, un plan d’action a été dressé avec l’aide de Conseils et Vérification Canada, et le président et son comité exécutif ont mis en œuvre un système de suivi efficace.

L’ASFC escompte que tous les aspects de son plan d’action seront en place d’ici le 31 mars 2009, et il y a tout lieu de penser que le problème des retards sera probablement réglé plus tôt. Le Commissaire est convaincu que l’Agence sera un cas à donner en exemple dans le prochain rapport annuel. 

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant