Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Collaboration Among Officers of Parliament

In the reporting year, the Officers of Parliament continued their collaborative efforts to ensure that they find ways to be good "corporate citizens" within the governmental structure, without compromising the appearance and reality of independence from government.

The first, and most important, step in this regard was the establishment of a pilot project (for FY 2006-07 to 2008-09) for funding Officers of Parliament, which involved the establishment, by the Martin government, of an ad hoc, all party advisory panel of MPs, chaired by the Speaker of the House of Commons. The advisory panel’s role is to consider funding requests from Officers of Parliament and to recommend funding levels to the Treasury Board. Under the terms of the pilot project, Treasury Board ministers agreed to give the advisory panel’s funding recommendations significant weight.

The Harper government has decided to maintain the pilot project. This innovative mechanism has addressed the apparent compromise of independence that arises when the government of the day decides on the level of funding available to Officers of Parliament - whose role it is to investigate government and government officials. As well, the ad hoc advisory panel serves, along with the substantive standing committees to which the Officers of Parliament report, as a mechanism of accountability for the Officers of Parliament.

There are, as well, other issues, besides funding, that raise the potential for compromising the independence of Officers of Parliament from government. Being in compliance with a wide range of government rules concerning, for example, human resources, reporting, compensation, and audit and evaluation may give rise to the appearance or actuality of interference by central agencies with the independence of Officers of Parliament.

The government has a good understanding of the concerns of the Officers of Parliament in this regard, and the Treasury Board has agreed to participate in reviewing its policies and directives to ensure that they are tailored to take account of this independence concern.

The first Treasury Board policy to be reviewed was the policy on internal audit that originally included Officers of Parliament in the same manner as large departments of government. The Officers of Parliament could not accept having appointees of the Comptroller General sitting on their audit committees, having access to their investigative records, or dictating their audit priorities. However, Officers of Parliament were committed to ensuring that they had vibrant, effective, accountable internal audit capacities, including external representation on audit committees. The Officers of Parliament proposed a modified internal audit approach for them, which was presented to the Treasury Board, and which has been accepted as an appropriate approach to respecting government audit policy without compromising the independence of the Officers of Parliament (the tailored internal audit policy is available from the Information Commissioner’s website).

As well, the Officers of Parliament have developed, for discussion with central agencies, a set of principles to guide the review of the other central agency policies which, heretofore, have been applied to Officers of Parliament as if they were no different than other government institutions. Those principles are as follows:

Working Principles

Introduction

Officers of Parliament share the view that each of their organizations should respect the principles and objectives of central agency policies related to the management and accountability of government institutions, but in a manner that respects their need to protect and maintain their independence from government and accountability to Parliament.

The Officers of Parliament have also agreed, as part of the Framework for the Pilot Project for a revised funding and oversight mechanism for Officers of Parliament, to continue to operate in a manner consistent with the Treasury Board Management Accountability Framework and the Treasury Board policies, directives, and guidelines.

There is an opportunity to collectively address the working relationships between Officers of Parliament and central agencies, as the Treasury Board has launched its "Policy Suite Renewal" and is involving Officers of Parliament in the consultation process. In addition, Officers of Parliament recently developed an approach in dealing with the new Internal Audit Policy, and reached an agreement with the Office of the Comptroller General in its application, while respecting the spirit and intent of the new policy and at the same time, protecting their independence from government and maintaining their accountability to Parliament.

The purpose of this document is to present a set of working principles whereby Officers of Parliament meet the spirit and intent of central agency policies, while maintaining their unique status of independence from government.

The tradition in Canada, at least at the federal level, has been to use the term "Officers of Parliament" to refer to those independent agencies created to assist Parliament in holding government accountable and in protecting various kinds of rights of individual Canadians, or to carry out certain functions independent of the executive.

The traditional Officers of Parliament are the ones with which we are concerned. They are:

  • The Auditor General (established 1878)
  • The Chief Electoral Officer (established 1920)
  • The Official Languages Commissioner (established 1970)
  • The Information Commissioner (established 1983)
  • The Privacy Commissioner (established 1983)

Identified Principles

Officers of Parliament adhere to sound management principles and practices and fully support the notion of strengthening the culture of accountability.

The working principles are:

  1. Respect the spirit and intent of government policies

    Officers of Parliament respect the principles and objectives of central agency policies related to the management and accountability of government institutions, while respecting their need to protect and maintain their independence from government and accountability to Parliament.


  2. Independence

    By law, Officers of Parliament must discharge their functions in a manner which is, in reality and appearance, independent from government.


  3. Accountability

    Officers of Parliament are accountable directly to Parliament. Parliamentary forums of accountability for Officers of Parliament include appropriate standing committees of the House and Senate, and the Advisory Panel of the House of Commons on the Funding of Officers of Parliament.


  4. Transparency

    Officers of Parliament conduct their operations as transparently as possible, except where precluded by legislation.


  5. Reporting

    In order to meet central agency requirements to report on the whole of government, Officers of Parliament provide aggregate information that is as compliant as possible with government requirements without compromising their independence and management autonomy.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant


Collaboration entre hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement 

Au cours de l’année visée par le présent rapport, les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement ont poursuivi leurs efforts conjoints visant à trouver des façons de faire preuve de responsabilité sociale dans la structure gouvernementale et ce, sans compromettre leur indépendance, réelle et perçue.

La première, et plus importante, mesure prise à cet égard fut la mise sur pied d’un projet-pilote (de l’exercice 2006-2007 à 2008-2009) pour le financement des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, qui a supposé la création, par le gouvernement Martin, d’un comité consultatif multipartite de députés, présidé par le président de la Chambre des communes. Le comité consultatif a mission d’étudier les demandes de crédits budgétaires des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement et de recommander des niveaux de financement au Conseil du Trésor. En vertu des dispositions du projet-pilote, les ministres du Conseil du Trésor ont accepté de conférer aux recommandations du comité consultatif un poids important.

Le gouvernement Harper a décidé de maintenir le projet-pilote. Ce mécanisme novateur a abordé l’aspect de l’indépendance qui fait problème, soit le fait qu’il revient au gouvernement en place de décider du niveau de financement consenti aux hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement qui, eux, ont mission de faire enquête sur le gouvernement et ses hauts fonctionnaires. De plus, le comité consultatif fait fonction, avec les comités permanents dont relèvent les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, de mécanisme de reddition des comptes pour les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement.

D’autres éléments, outre le financement, sont susceptibles de compromettre l’indépendance des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement. Ainsi, l’obligation de respecter un large éventail de règles gouvernementales concernant, par exemple, les ressources humaines, l’établissement de rapports, la rémunération, la vérification et l’évaluation, pourrait revenir à une ingérence, réelle ou perçue, des organismes centraux dans le fonctionnement indépendant des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement.

Le gouvernement semble avoir bien compris les inquiétudes des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement à cet égard, et le SCT a accepté de participer à l’examen de ses politiques et ses directives de manière que celles-ci respectent les préoccupations relatives à l’indépendance.

La première politique du SCT ayant fait l’objet d’un examen sous cet angle concernait la vérification interne, qui s’appliquait aux hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement au même titre qu’aux grands ministères. Or, les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement ne pouvaient accepter que des représentants nommés par le Contrôleur général fassent partie de leurs comités de vérification, consultent leurs dossiers d’enquête ou dictent leurs priorités en matière de vérification. Ils tiennent toutefois à disposer de fonctions dynamiques, efficaces et responsables de vérification interne, y compris avoir des représentants de l’extérieur au sein de leurs comités de vérification. Ils ont proposé une approche modifiée à l’égard de la vérification interne, laquelle a été soumise au Conseil du Trésor et été acceptée à titre de moyen raisonnable de respecter la politique gouvernementale en matière de vérification, sans compromettre l’indépendance des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement (la politique de vérification interne adaptée figure sur le site Internet du Commissaire à l’information).

De plus, les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement ont élaboré, pour discussion avec les agences centrales, un ensemble de principes censés régir l’examen des autres politiques des organismes centraux qui s’appliquaient auparavant aux agents du Parlement au même titre que n’importe laquelle institution fédérale. Les principes en question sont les suivants :

Principes directeurs

Introduction

Les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement sont tous d’avis que chacune de leurs organisations doit respecter les principes et les objectifs des politiques des organismes centraux relativement à la gestion et à la responsabilisation des institutions gouvernementales, mais d’une façon qui respecte leur besoin de protéger et d’assurer leur indépendance du gouvernement et leur responsabilisation envers le Parlement.

Les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement ont également convenu, selon le cadre du projet-pilote visant la révision d’un mécanisme de financement et de surveillance pour les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, de poursuivre leur travail conformément au Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion du Conseil du Trésor et aux politiques, directives et lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor.

Depuis que le Conseil du Trésor a lancé son « initiative du renouvellement des politiques » et qu’il fait participer les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement au processus de consultation, il est possible d’examiner collectivement les relations de travail entre les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement et les organismes centraux. De plus, les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement ont récemment élaboré une méthode d’application de la nouvelle politique en matière de vérification interne et ont conclu à cet effet une entente avec le Bureau du contrôleur général. Ils respectent ainsi l’esprit et l’intention de la nouvelle politique tout en protégeant leur indépendance du gouvernement et en assurant la responsabilisation envers le Parlement.

L’objectif de ce document est de présenter un ensemble de principes directeurs selon lesquels les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement respectent l’esprit et l’intention des politiques des organismes centraux, tout en conservant leur statut unique d’indépendance du gouvernement.

Au Canada, du moins au gouvernement fédéral, le terme « hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement » désigne traditionnellement des organisations indépendantes créées pour aider le Parlement à tenir le gouvernement responsable de ses gestes et à protéger les diverses catégories de droits des Canadiens, ou encore à exécuter certaines fonctions indépendantes du pouvoir exécutif.

Nous nous intéressons aux hauts fonctionnaires traditionnels du Parlement, qui sont les suivants :

    • Le Vérificateur général (institué en 1878)
    • Le Directeur général des élections (établi en 1920)
    • Le Commissaire aux langues officielles (établi en 1970)
    • Le Commissaire à l’information (établi en 1983)
    • Le Commissaire à la vie privée (établi en 1983)

Principes établis

Les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement se conforment aux principes et pratiques de saine gestion et appuient pleinement la notion de renforcement de la culture de responsabilisation.

Les principes directeurs sont les suivants :

  1. Respecter l’esprit et l’intention des politiques gouvernementales

    Les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement respectent les principes et les objectifs des politiques des organismes centraux liées à la gestion et à la responsabilisation des institutions gouvernementales, tout en respectant leur besoin de protéger et d’assurer leur indépendance du gouvernement et leur responsabilisation envers le Parlement.


  2. Indépendance

    En vertu de la loi, les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement doivent s’acquitter de leurs fonctions d’une façon qui, tant dans les faits qu’en apparence, est indépendante du gouvernement.


  3. Responsabilisation

    Les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement doivent rendre des comptes au Parlement. Les tribunes parlementaires visant à assurer la responsabilisation des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement comprennent les différents comités permanents de la Chambre et du Sénat et le Comité consultatif de la Chambre des communes sur le financement des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement.


  4. Transparence

    Les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement mènent leurs opérations de la manière la plus transparente possible, exception faite des situations où la loi les en empêche.

  5. Rapports

    Pour satisfaire aux exigences des organismes centraux en matière de rapports sur l’ensemble du gouvernement, les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement fournissent de l’information globale qui est autant que possible conforme aux exigences gouvernementales sans toutefois compromettre leur indépendance et leur autonomie de gestion.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant