Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Recurring themes:
Professionalizing Access to Information Officers

For many years, there has been a recognition that those who administer access to information and privacy rights constitute a new profession – a profession having specialized knowledge, specific ethical obligations, and direct impact on the rights of Canadians.

In recognition of this reality, this year, the Canadian Access and Privacy Association (CAPA), primarily composed of federal government access to information and privacy employees, and the Canadian Association of Professional Access and Privacy Administrators (CAPAPA), primarily composed of provincial and municipal access to information and privacy employees, announced the establishment of a joint committee to develop canadian professional standards – and associated training, education, ethical requirements, and certification – for "information rights" professionals. Both the federal Privacy Commissioner and the Information Commissioner have endorsed this initiative and have agreed to be represented on the committee.

Professionalizing the administrators of information rights, whether those rights are administered in government institutions or in private sector firms, will yield better informed, more consistent, and more principled implementation and delivery of information rights programs.

The government of Canada is urged to support the professionalizing of its ATIP administrators and to reflect such support in ATIP officer job descriptions, hiring practices, and training plans.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Thèmes récurrents :
la professionnalisation des agents de l’accès à l’information

Depuis de nombreuses années, on sait que ceux qui s’occupent des droits des citoyens en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels constituent une nouvelle profession au savoir spécialisé, aux obligations éthiques particulières et à l’influence directe sur les droits des Canadiens.

Compte tenu de cette réalité, cette année, l’Association canadienne d'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (ACAP), qui est principalement composée de fonctionnaires fédéraux chargés de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels, et la Canadian Association of Professional Access and Privacy Administrators (CAPAPA), qui est principalement composée de fonctionnaires provinciaux et municipaux chargés de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels, ont annoncé la création d’un comité mixte, qui aura pour mandat de formuler les normes professionnelles applicables aux spécialistes canadiens des « droits à l’information », les exigences en matière de formation, d’éducation et d’éthique et le mode de certification. Le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée et le Commissaire à l’information fédéraux ont entériné l’initiative et ont accepté d’être représentés au Comité.

La professionnalisation des administrateurs des droits à l’information, qu’il s’agisse d’employés d’institutions gouvernementales ou de cabinets du secteur privé, donnera lieu à une exécution plus éclairée, plus systématique et plus raisonnée des programmes associés aux droits à l’information.

Le gouvernement du Canada est instamment invité à appuyer le projet de professionnalisation de ses administrateurs de l’AIPRP et à traduire cet appui dans la description des postes correspondants, dans les pratiques d’embauche et dans les plans de formation.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant